We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible, detestable, avoidable if you read this...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Candy Hill Campground

Candy Hill Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Candy Hill Campground
Save
You added Candy Hill Campground to your Saves list
165 Ward Avenue, Winchester, VA   |  
Hotel amenities
Somewhere in KY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Horrible, detestable, avoidable if you read this...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We picked Candy Hill based upon their website. However, upon arrival we were scolded for not noticing the stop sign that said to "stop here to register." We had been driving for 10 hours, and it was late. We were rather tired. Then we were rebuked for not getting out of our vehicle to register quickly enough. The bathrooms were NOT "squeaky clean." In fact, the garbage wasn't taken out for a couple of days. The showers made me cringe with the mold. The staff drove around the campsite as they monitor everyone, yet they never smile. After the second day, we began to feel like we were prisoners of Candy Hill rather than guests. Everything at this place has a charge. It was our first experience at a private campground, and Candy Hill has made us never want to try another one out. It appears to be family run, with the "family" in different houses on the grounds, so you can never get away from the feeling you are always being watched. On top of that, you are right beside the highway, and it is noisy. I would not recommend this campsite to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    6
    10
    8
See reviews for
19
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This campground is very well maintained. It is close to a highway but not that annoying. It's basically an overnight spot for people travelling to and from Florida. The campground is run like a Marine post. The workers are all afraid of the guy running the place so there are no smiles or good mornings but it is what it is. You get the feeling that they could care less because the place is usually always filled. The bathrooms are clean and include hot showers. I did not find the prices in the store to be excessive although some might. There is a $4 visitor fee which is now usually charged by all campgrounds.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grottoes, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed over Labor Day weekend. I have to agree with the other review that said it feels like you are being watched like a military base. I got the same feeling. We didn't have sewer hookup so we had to use the bath house. It's okay...nothing special. There are no shelves to put anything on like soap, shampoo, etc. I had to set it on the floor. The shower curtain didn't even cover the entire opening. When you're done with the shower you have to reach outside the shower to a bench and grab your towel and clothes. It's just not a good setup. All that being said, the campground is very well kept and very clean. The close proximity to the interstate, Walmart, IHOP, Applebee's are all a plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix AZ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was our second time staying at Candy Hill. We've had great experiences both times. The staff is friendly and our request for sites were met. As we overnighted both times we didn't get to enjoy the facility's pool, etc. Easy access from the freeway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This campground has some ups and downs but overall the poor customer service and drive for "bottom dollar" really put a damper on my stay.

Pros:
- Proximity to interstate
- Cleanliness of sites and facilities
- Some lower employees are very friendly

Cons:
- "Nickel and Dime" attitude
- $4 per guest per day (manager seriously considered charging five month old)
- Hourly charge for wifi
- Very pricey camp store
- Management seems weary of campers; Feel watched like a military base
- RVs are packed very close; Many have little room for awning and relaxing outside
- Sewer smell permeated camp sites after small rain and during any wind gusts

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We selected Candy Hill for a half -way point for a family camping weekend. We did not realize how close it was to the highway. The sites are very close together, so awnings, power, water and septic lines are an issue, either avoiding or walking over. The pool and recreation room were nice. The restrooms could use some updated shower heads and perhaps a little more daily monitoring. The management could use some lessons in customer service. We needed to purchase some items, and rather than go to Wal-mart across the street, we decide to go to the campground store. One of the items we were looking for was half and half for coffee but, they had run out. My sister-in law, went up to the counter to pay for other items before I did and was discussing the half and half with the sales associate and the KIND associate gave my sister-in-law, 6 half and half creamers. My sister-in -law left the store, but I was still in there and I heard the manager/owner reprimand the associate for giving the creamers away and not charging 10 cents each, as it cuts into profits. This is very sad, he is stepping over a dollar to pick up a nickel. Because of this, I cannot recommend staying here. The associates seem to be hard workers and I wonder if they are appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

On paper this campground seems to have it all. It's a rip off whether you stay for a night or a week. All sites are tiny and depending on your rig you may not be able to roll out your awning. If you want a fire(in which they will bring you a fire ring-never heard of such a thing) you have to worry about sparks on your awning and the person next to you. We ate at the very small picnic table(which was on a severe slant-no other place to put it). Id say the grass was a 4 foot wide strip. The sewer of the person next to us was about 2 feet away from our table. All the sites are like this. We stayed a week with another couple to enjoy riding our motorcycles.We're from upstate NY They had told us when we booked that they could accommodate us and our trailers. Instead my friends had to keep there trailer down the road in a field which was very dangerous trying to get our bikes in and out of the ramp everyday. When brought to their attention the owner was cold and gave another unacceptable option and said "These are your choices" He wouldn't let them keep the trailer closer to us because he didnt want it sticking out in the road at all. YET when people pulled in next to them with a car in tow, THAT tow vehicle was in the road. Ans so were the next 4 campers that used that site while we were there. The showers, laundry and bathrooms stunk and were dirty. Campers never stayed long, Its more for transients but the price is too much for a one nighter. Oh and they cheated us on Good Sams discount. We reported it to Good Sams and they said they shouldnt have done that.They didnt give us full discount because they deducted it from all the taxes. Hard to explain. Watch your bill. We were so fed up that we left a day early. Find somewhere else to go. I havent even stated everything. Oh and the kiddy pool is a little plastic pool like I use for my dog outside. It is stuck in the corner of pool area

Room Tip: It might be quieter if you stay in the back away from the expressway. But I doubt it. All sites are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candy Hill Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candy Hill Campground

Address: 165 Ward Avenue, Winchester, VA
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Winchester
Number of rooms: 104

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candy Hill Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.