We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time or money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Candy Hill Campground

Candy Hill Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Candy Hill Campground
165 Ward Avenue, Winchester, VA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ontario, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time or money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

On paper this campground seems to have it all. It's a rip off whether you stay for a night or a week. All sites are tiny and depending on your rig you may not be able to roll out your awning. If you want a fire(in which they will bring you a fire ring-never heard of such a thing) you have to worry about sparks on your awning and the person next to you. We ate at the very small picnic table(which was on a severe slant-no other place to put it). Id say the grass was a 4 foot wide strip. The sewer of the person next to us was about 2 feet away from our table. All the sites are like this. We stayed a week with another couple to enjoy riding our motorcycles.We're from upstate NY They had told us when we booked that they could accommodate us and our trailers. Instead my friends had to keep there trailer down the road in a field which was very dangerous trying to get our bikes in and out of the ramp everyday. When brought to their attention the owner was cold and gave another unacceptable option and said "These are your choices" He wouldn't let them keep the trailer closer to us because he didnt want it sticking out in the road at all. YET when people pulled in next to them with a car in tow, THAT tow vehicle was in the road. Ans so were the next 4 campers that used that site while we were there. The showers, laundry and bathrooms stunk and were dirty. Campers never stayed long, Its more for transients but the price is too much for a one nighter. Oh and they cheated us on Good Sams discount. We reported it to Good Sams and they said they shouldnt have done that.They didnt give us full discount because they deducted it from all the taxes. Hard to explain. Watch your bill. We were so fed up that we left a day early. Find somewhere else to go. I havent even stated everything. Oh and the kiddy pool is a little plastic pool like I use for my dog outside. It is stuck in the corner of pool area

Room Tip: It might be quieter if you stay in the back away from the expressway. But I doubt it. All sites are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    4
    8
    6
See reviews for
14
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Campers should be aware that camping at Candy Hill Campground, Winchester, VA, is at your own risk. A tree fell on our (brand new) RV while we were there. The management’s response, "we were nice to you and took the tree off your unit, we could have told you to contact a tree trimming service and have the tree removed at your expense." We were stunned by such a response and lack of empathy from a business that is supposed to be in the hospitality business. To make matters worse, they moved us to a narrow dirt site overlooking a cliff in which we could walk around the unit or open the awning. Two days later, they mowed the site next to us and shot stones across the side and top of our RV. These folks are only interested in your money, not your experience. Be very careful staying at Candy Hill Campground in Winchester, VA.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Called from the road for reservations. Was met by a greeter who escorted us to the site and waited until we were hooked up before leaving. Friendly and professional. Clean and neatly kept facilities. Great for an overnight or weeks visit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Candy Hill Campground is a few blocks from Interstate, US and State Highways and a short drive from downtown Winchester, Virginia, which makes for easy travel and access to stores and restaurants. On the other hand, because of the high traffic level and lack of sidewalks it is not safe to leave the facility for a walk or bicycle ride.

The staff was polite and friendly. We were escorted to our site. The campground is immaculate, with well-tended grass trees and flowers. The interior road is paved and the sites are pavement or gravel. Full hookups include water, electric, sewer, cable TV and a night light. Fire rings are available upon request. Wireless internet is free for one hour every twelve hours or for a daily fee. The store is lovely and well stocked. The lavatories are older but clean. Laundry facility, pool, playground and game room are very nice.

Room Tip: One row of sites abuts a highway. If the view and noise of traffic whizzing by is bothersome, avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, PA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We spent the weekend at Candy Hill. Upon arrival at the office we were greeted by very friendly employees. We were escorted to our site and the older gentleman guided us into a back in spot. The site pad was paved and we had full hook up. The pad was not completely level, but nothing the automatic levelers could not address.

The ground were mowed and well kept. We were unable to get a sat signal and used the park's cable tv. The pictures was o.k. but frosty at times.

On Sunday they featured a car show which was a plus before we hit the road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed for weekend at this good sam campground. Nice spaced sites with inviting pool. The store had to be one of the better RV stocked stores I have ever seen. They have almost every part you would need. The kids enjoyed it and it was located only few miles from highway. It was also next to golf course and train tracks but only heard train like once a day. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candy Hill Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candy Hill Campground

Address: 165 Ward Avenue, Winchester, VA
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty lodging in Winchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candy Hill Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Candy Hill Campground to your Saves list
;