We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Your Own Risk” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Candy Hill Campground

Candy Hill Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Candy Hill Campground
Save
You added Candy Hill Campground to your Saves list
165 Ward Avenue, Winchester, VA   |  
Hotel amenities
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stay at Your Own Risk”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Campers should be aware that camping at Candy Hill Campground, Winchester, VA, is at your own risk. A tree fell on our (brand new) RV while we were there. The management’s response, "we were nice to you and took the tree off your unit, we could have told you to contact a tree trimming service and have the tree removed at your expense." We were stunned by such a response and lack of empathy from a business that is supposed to be in the hospitality business. To make matters worse, they moved us to a narrow dirt site overlooking a cliff in which we could walk around the unit or open the awning. Two days later, they mowed the site next to us and shot stones across the side and top of our RV. These folks are only interested in your money, not your experience. Be very careful staying at Candy Hill Campground in Winchester, VA.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    7
    13
    10
See reviews for
25
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Called from the road for reservations. Was met by a greeter who escorted us to the site and waited until we were hooked up before leaving. Friendly and professional. Clean and neatly kept facilities. Great for an overnight or weeks visit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Candy Hill Campground is a few blocks from Interstate, US and State Highways and a short drive from downtown Winchester, Virginia, which makes for easy travel and access to stores and restaurants. On the other hand, because of the high traffic level and lack of sidewalks it is not safe to leave the facility for a walk or bicycle ride.

The staff was polite and friendly. We were escorted to our site. The campground is immaculate, with well-tended grass trees and flowers. The interior road is paved and the sites are pavement or gravel. Full hookups include water, electric, sewer, cable TV and a night light. Fire rings are available upon request. Wireless internet is free for one hour every twelve hours or for a daily fee. The store is lovely and well stocked. The lavatories are older but clean. Laundry facility, pool, playground and game room are very nice.

Room Tip: One row of sites abuts a highway. If the view and noise of traffic whizzing by is bothersome, avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, PA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We spent the weekend at Candy Hill. Upon arrival at the office we were greeted by very friendly employees. We were escorted to our site and the older gentleman guided us into a back in spot. The site pad was paved and we had full hook up. The pad was not completely level, but nothing the automatic levelers could not address.

The ground were mowed and well kept. We were unable to get a sat signal and used the park's cable tv. The pictures was o.k. but frosty at times.

On Sunday they featured a car show which was a plus before we hit the road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed for weekend at this good sam campground. Nice spaced sites with inviting pool. The store had to be one of the better RV stocked stores I have ever seen. They have almost every part you would need. The kids enjoyed it and it was located only few miles from highway. It was also next to golf course and train tracks but only heard train like once a day. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
2.2 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Winchester
3.3 mi away
aloft Winchester
aloft Winchester
#12 of 27 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
3.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Winchester
Candlewood Suites Winchester
#14 of 27 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candy Hill Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candy Hill Campground

Address: 165 Ward Avenue, Winchester, VA
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Winchester
Number of rooms: 104

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candy Hill Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.