We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant discovery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abram's Delight

Abram's Delight
1340 S. Pleasant Valley Rd, Winchester, VA 22601
540-662-6519
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 19 Attractions in Winchester
Type: Historic Sites, Architectural Buildings
Attraction Details
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Brilliant discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We knew nothing about this site but toured it because we had a 3 site ticket which included it.
Small car park, visitor centre hosts a quilt display, which at first we thought was all there was to see.
The main venue is the old house which was one of the first in Winchester. the house was called Abrams delight by the first owner who was an early settler given a 500 acre plot near the river to carry out his trade as a miller. there is a huge amount of history relating to the Hollingsworth family who originated from Chester in England -records show from about the time of William the Conquerer (1066). they branched out to Ireland and like many to escape religious persecution, they settled here, first in a standard sized log cabin, rebuilt next to the house, also full of history.
A must see if you are in Winchester.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A must visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

For those who have no time to visit Williamsburg, this was very nice and worthwhile :) The docent was very knowledgeable.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Abram's Delight”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I was running short of time when I visited, so I didn't have the full tour experience. Many thanks to the young lady who understood my time crunch and offered to give me the condensed version. She was so nice to take me through the building, highlighting specific points and answering my questions. I marveled at the artifacts in the basement.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Origins of Winchester”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This house is across from the Winchester Visitors Center. There is a small separate building wih a small museum that sells the tickets. You can purchase a multi-ticket for Abram's Delight, Stonewall Jackson's office, and George Wahingon's office. I left the Abram's house for last. Eventhough it was 30 min til closing, they were nice enough to give the full 45 min tour.

The delightful tour gave a history of the town and the Hollingsworth family. The guide was brand new and had to check his note cards, but the tour was still delightful and informative.

If you have an extra 10 min, there is a log cabin on the property that was relocated here for preservation. It is original, but not Abram's cabin.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“very good example of early life in Virginia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We purchased the block pass to 3 attractions...Abrams Delight ,Stonewall Jackson Headquarters and Washingtons office. It was interesting to see the progression through time since there are several periods represented in the 3 sites. I also found the guides to be very knowledgable in more then just the major details. A lot of interesting facts about individual pieces and people. I would definately recommend this. It is located next to a visitors center, parks and a university

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abram's Delight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abram's Delight, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.