We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abram's Delight

Abram's Delight
1340 S. Pleasant Valley Rd, Winchester, VA 22601
540-662-6519
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 38 things to do in Winchester
Attraction details
Strasburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I've stopped at this place several times over the last 10 years. The buildings are impeccably restored and the guides are informative. The lake is full of fish and surrounded by trees and next to the campus of Shenandoah University. A new free museum is also next door. This is a great stop for tourist and a nice day out for locals.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Marcy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Homedale, Idaho
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour Guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was raining in sheets but the guide was willing to take me through the house. It is a wonderful stone house with 16-18 in thick exterior walls. There are several stitched samplers that are outstanding examples of needle work at the time they were completed. There are also excellent examples of local and Pennsylvania furniture. Allow more time if you want to walk around the grounds.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Christmas tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

just so beautiful and free. it was a really neat way to begin the holidays!! i wanted to go home and decorate the old colonial way.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank swhelms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Oldest house in Winchester VA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is a good location to gain some insight into the early years of Winchester and a good start to if you want to bridge the colonial years and civil war period. The staff at Abram's Delight museum office were very cheerful and welcoming. They have clean restrooms and a very small gift shop available; easy parking. We were given a lovely and informative tour of the house (about 45 minutes). The house contains some very interesting furniture pieces and the guide provided stories of the families who have lived in the house. There is a very old log cabin on the site and the Winchester Welcome center is adjacent to the parking lot ... where you can obtain more information about the Winchester area. We visited Abram's Delight in the late afternoon, just before closing. Admission is $5 for an adult but we purchased the museum block ticket for $10 as we planned to visit Washington's Office and Stonewall Jackson's headquarters the next day. You could complete all three locations in one day, if you started at Abram's Delight in the morning. They will provide you with a map that make it an easy drive to all the locations.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RestedSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice Tour with lots of Information”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Betsy was our tour guide and she did a great job of explaining the history of the artifacts and answering questions. The diaries kept by some of the women in the area are very revealing as to what was going on at the time. The main focus of the exhibits seemed to be on the life around the town during the time of the war.

There are actually 3 buildings on the property to look at and you have to walk a short distance outside between them (so carry your sunglasses or umbrella).

You can purchase a package ticket that also includes the Washington Office Museum and Stonewall Jackson's Headquarters.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tulip76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abram's Delight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing