We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Added to my list of "Go-To" places” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Sleep Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Costello Dr., Winchester, VA 22602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Added to my list of "Go-To" places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I travel up and down I-81 quite often. Never know in advance where I'll wind up when I'm done driving for the day, could be anywhere from Carlisle PA to Staunton VA. Have stayed in the nearby Super 8 (ugh) but this place is great. Clean and reasonably large rooms. Super comfortable bed. Lots of restaurants nearby -- my helper likes the sushi on Millwood Pike, I like Texas Steakhouse. Nick the desk clerk was great...

Minor, for me, downside -- WiFi not working, but supposedly being fixed. Upside -- most, if not all, rooms have a live networking (RJ-45) jack. If you use a laptop, you DO have a network cable in your bag of "Traveling Tricks", right? Phone and tablet users might be SOL, but check to see if they've fixed it. Extra points for accessible AC outlets on the desk and nightstand.

Breakfast looked pretty much standard, waffles etc. I passed on that and treated myself to IHOP around the corner.

Bottom line -- I'll be back, probably often.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beck K, DOO at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
DearJohn B,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for adding us to your list of "Go-To" places
We greatly appreciate your feedback about the new beds, clean rooms, AC outlets and wired Internet connection. I do apologize for the problems with High Speed Wireless Internet Connection. We upgraded the Internet connection speed and started getting problems. It took little longer for our service providers to fix the issues. Now everything is working fine and fast.

Thank you so much for your kind words about Nick. We are very happy to have him as our team member. I will definitely share your feedback with other team members.

Our guests get 10% off by showing their room keys at restaurants like Golden Corral, Texas Steak and Umberto’s Pizza.

We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Beck Kasymbekov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    90
    29
    9
    11
See reviews for
78
72
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Nice room. Clean. Priced well. Quiet. Stayed on third of four floors for two days. Limited parking due to cargo containers. Renovations in progress. Exercise room not open due to renovations. Comfortable beds. Unlike so many other hotels, the shower stall is located on the bedroom wall rather than the exterior wall. Makes it hard for whomever is sleeping in the bed next to the shower stall. Shower head is unmovable. Cannot direct water flow. The grout between the tiles in the bathroom could stand a good cleaning. Plenty of electrical recepticles. NO INTERNET ACCESS ANYWHERE IN THE BUILDING. BUMMER!!. Routers down. Attempted to receive break on room price because of Wi-Fi outage. Was rewarded with an adjustment to total bill for two days! Surprise! Surprise! That action meant a lot to me!!! Clean stairwells. Slamming stairwell doors. Nice room desk work area. Nice pool but not for swimming. No good views from any floor. Good location. Surrounded by restaurants. Breakfast area is the usual. Very little edible healthy food. Good housekeeping services.

Room Tip: Stayed on 3rd of 4 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beck K, DOO at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Michael D,

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your review about our hotel. We have recently completed the renovation of our guest rooms and public areas. We now have all our 72 rooms open and ready for our guests. We greatly appreciate your feedback. I do sincerely apologize for the problems with the High Speed Wireless Internet Connection. For the moment everything is working fine.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Beck Kasymbekov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stopped here late at night as I drove up through the Shenandoah valley. The hotel was clean, spacious and at a reasonable price. I had no problems at check in and the breakfast the next morning was hot and replenished. I would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beck K, DOO at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear tupelolaw,

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback and recommendation here for others!

We look forward to seeing you again next time you will driving through the Beautiful Shenandoah Valley

Sincerely,

Beck Kasymbekov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
143 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Just off I-81 @ US-17, US-50 & US-522 exit. Than just south on US-522 on the left @ 2nd light. Very clean and well maintained facility. Nice rooms + an Indoor swimming pool. Nice breakfast presentation. Numerous restaurants & shopping with-in easy driving distance of less than a mile. Also a mall with a movie theater complex are located on the other side of the Interstate. Yes we'll stay here again.

Room Tip: While any location within this hotel is A-OK, suggest lower floor in backside if you do not mind the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beck K, DOO at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear uss-tanner,

We greatly appreciate you choosing the Sleep Inn & Suites, Winchester, VA for your lodging needs. Thank you very much for letting the Tripadvisor.com users know about your positive experience in our hotel. We are very thankful for your kind words and feedback.

We look forward to seeing you with us again.

Thank you,

Beck Kasymbekov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

On a trip home from Maryland, we stopped here for the night. I love Sleep Inn's and I am a Choice Rewards member. It was so great to get off the road, there were storms in the area and we were desperate to get off the road and just chill out for awhile. I don't like to drive in storms, especially in places I do not know. I looked for a list of hotels on my GPS and looked for a Choice hotel. The first one I looked for no longer existed, but I also saw the Sleep Inn and took out my AAA guide just in case this one was gone too. Went in and asked if they had rooms available....................I really wanted to stay. I asked about the senior rate and was given that as I was traveling with my mother. They were renovating, so the floor we were on was totally new, new beds, everything. There was a great place for my laptop, I always travel with it, with space and enough room for cords. I love that it had an indoor pool and I spent some time there. The pool was the perfect temperature and great relaxing treat after driving in the DC area and in the rain. I ran into some rude folks in the pool area, but that happens everywhere. I had a great nights sleep, I did not want to get out to leave in the morning. Top notch breakfast too. The staff was very welcoming and friendly as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beck K, DOO at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear ViolaAunt,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Sleep Inn & Suites, Winchester, VA. We are happy and pleased to read such a nice feedback about property and services we provide. We also would like to thank you for being a Choice Privileges member. It is really nice to know that you had enjoyed your stay. As regards the renovation we are now renovating first floor rooms. Upper floors rooms are ready and we already have received great reviews about those rooms. Almost all of our team members have read your review, and on behalf of everyone, I would like to thank you again for your great review and perfect photos.

We would be very happy to see you with us again.

Thank you,

Beck Kasymbekov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel is almost completely renovated. The rooms are nice and clean and the bed is very comfortable. We stayed in 5 different hotels in 5 days and my girlfriend and I agreed it was the best nights sleep we had the whole trip.

If I could I would give this a 4.5 rating. It's convenient; right off the highway and near the mall and restaurants yet still quiet in the room. The breakfast is your standard so-so fare, but they did have two waffle makers to speed things up and the orange juice was good. Other than that the only complaints are the elevator is slow, and there is an LCD TV, but the cable service is not High Definition.

The price was very reasonable and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beck K, DOO at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear boatr35,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sleep Inn & Suites, Winchester, VA. Your and your girlfriend’s kind words, are heartwarming, especially from someone who had stayed in five different hotels. We are constantly working to ensure that each and every guest has a great experience and we value the feedback like yours that provides insight from the guest's perspective. I will definitely share your compliments with my team.

Thank you,

Beck Kasymbekov
Director of Operations/ GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Nicely remodeled rooms and a comfortable bed, I could not have asked for more. The staff was most helpful as well. I am sure we will be back. Had easy access to many eating establishments as well.
Convenient to the highway heading north or south.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beck K, DOO at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Paul H

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. I am glad to hear that you liked our newly remodeled rooms. We do greatly appreciate your kind words about our staff and services. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to our area.

Thank you,

Beck Kasymbekov
Director of Operations/ GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Winchester
Candlewood Suites Winchester
#14 of 27 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
0.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Address: 140 Costello Dr., Winchester, VA 22602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Winchester
#5 Business Hotel in Winchester
#6 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep Inn & Suites hotel in Winchester VA near Shenandoah UniversityThe Sleep Inn & Suites® hotel is conveniently located in the charming town of Winchester, less than one mile from Shenandoah University. This Winchester VA hotel is close to the Winchester Medical Center, the Winchester Regional Airport, Dinosaur Land theme park and Summit Point Raceway.For history buffs, the Winchester area is home to George Washington's Office Museum, the Stonewall Jackson House, the Stonewall Jackson Museum at Hupp's Hill, the Old Court House Civil War Museum, the historic Belle Grove Plantation and Cedar Creek Battlefield.For shoppers, Millwood Crossing, a renovated apple-packing warehouse, is home to several specialty shops, galleries and apple products. Visitors will enjoy an array of restaurants and cocktail lounges located in the surrounding area.Guests of this Winchester VA hotel will wake up each morning to a Free Morning Medley Hot Breakfast, including hard-boiled eggs, hot and cold cereals, Danishes, assorted breads and muffins, fresh Belgian waffles, fresh fruits, juice and, of course, the selective coffee.The hotel also offers additional amenities and features, such as free local calls, free weekday newspapers and free wireless high-speed Internet access.For a special treat, take a dip in the indoor heated pool. To keep everyone in shape, the on-site fitness center features a variety of cardiovascular and weight training equipment.Those traveling on business will appreciate conveniences like data ports, voice-mail, telephones and the business center, complete with computer, Internet access and fax and copy machines.All tastefully decorated guest rooms come equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. All rooms feature additional amenities like microwaves and refrigerators. Whirlpool suites and handicap accessible and non-smoking rooms are also available.Coin-operated laundry facilities and valet cleaning services are provided for guest convenience. The Sleep Inn & Suites hotel provides friendly customer service, relaxing accommodations and affordable rates to all types of travelers.We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn , Inn And Suites
Sleep Inn Hotel Winchester
Sleep Inn Winchester
Winchester Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.