We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Spot - Great Staff!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Costello Dr., Winchester, VA 22602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 27 hotels in Winchester
Oneonta, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot - Great Staff!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We have found this hotel to be just perfect for us as we travel south then north on I-81...first because of its location, but as we have stayed there many times, the staff is wonderful from the front desk to the breakfast area to those who keep the rooms looking great! We recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: We are Choice Privileges members and their internet rates are reasonable...beating AAA. We just rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager G, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear RLAMyers,

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel and your kind words. I would like to thank you for being a Choice Privileges member. There is nothing better than hearing from a guest who has stayed in lots of hotels. We are blessed to have the team we have.

We are all very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will stay with us again should your travels return you to our area.

Thank you,

Beck Kasymbekov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    59
    21
    7
    11
See reviews for
55
50
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
SC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We travel between PA & SC once a year, staying at different Choice accommodations each time. This is approx. our 11th stay, & one of the better Choices. Everything positive has already been stated in previous reviews. The attendant in the larger than average breakfast area was very attentive as compared to others, keeping it well stocked & the tables cleaned. I appreciate the hard boiled eggs even if not hot. They are not available at all Choice hotels. The wall waterfall feature & indoor pool with windows through to the lobby are attractive & unusual. I liked the exercise room right of the lobby as it felt safer than stuck at the end of a lonely corridor. The rooms were clean with updated carpet, firm mattress, good sheets & towels. Our room on the second floor was very quiet. The bathroom grouting is showing signs of age but otherwise was clean. Good wifi in the room. Nice size TV, etc. For the Winchester area, the price was a good deal for a Choice member.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager G, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear SCVoyageur,


Thank you very much for your 11th stay with us and supporting us. It is really thrilling to know we have guests staying with us for years and still choosing our services. We would like to consider your feedback as the highest award for our performance. We greatly appreciate you mentioning about our breakfast, breakfast area, exercise room, water fall, room and our indoor heated pool.

I would like to inform that we are now working on a renovation project at our property. Hopefully, we will have updated bedding and rooms very soon.

Thank you,

Beck Kasymbekov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This hotel may not score as highly in style points as some of the newer La Quintas or Holiday Inns, but it has a great combination of small details.

Bright, wide, colorful corridors; a heated pool in the lobby; glass walled, well stocked breakfast area; long, continuous work area/TV stand with TV that swivels all the way to either side so you can work with it on if desired; quiet heater fan; big, well lit bathroom with vigorous shower; clean and comfy beds - all for around $70.

Improvements? Get the HD package - nothing worse than trying to watch stretched analog on a wide screen HD. Bigger pillows - I don't know who invented half sized pillows but they aren't nice.

Overall, a good value and worth a return visit.

Room Tip: Pack a swimsuit, the pool is a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager G, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Stephen A,

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing our services and staying at the Sleep Inn & Suites, Winchester, VA. We very much appreciate your honest and detailed review. I will be sure to pass along your kind feedback to our entire team. They love to hear back from our satisfied guests. I will start working on the improvement list.

Thank you,

Beck Kasymbekov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This seems like a popular stop for travelers on I-81. We reserved our room mid-afternoon and was given what I requested. But the toilet broke on the first try and we had to move. By then the front desk was not as friendly about finding a good room. The second room was fine and quite good for the price. Too bad the breakfast was hyped with stories of Belgian waffles and eggs and sausage, etc. At 8 A.M. I was looking forward to a special offering. The waffles were the same thing that one finds in many breakfasts. No fruit or whipped creme-just syrup. The eggs were cold hard boilded eggs. Not sure if it was too much hype or mis-communication.
Be very careful in the bath tub-very very slipery.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager G, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Courthouse067,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Sleep Inn & Suites, Winchester, VA and taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize that you had to move because of the problem with the toilet. I am pleased that you liked the second room. I will address friendliness issues with the entire team of our Front Desk Associates. I believe we have to do all our best to make our guests happy. Yes, we do have a Complimentary Hot Breakfast with hot waffles, hard-boiled eggs, sausage patties and etc. I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations about our breakfast. We have started putting anti-slip tapes in our bathtubs.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Thank you,

Beck Kasymbekov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bear, de
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful on arriving and departing. the lobby area was clean and appealing and the breakfast area was clean. the room although clean was in need of some minor renovations; the shower curtain looked like something my dog got a hold of and the towel and shower curtain rod were very rusty in addition the wall could have used some spackle as there was numerous holes in the wall. the bed could use some big boy pillows instead of something you would put on your sofa. there were numerous beer bottle caps in the back stairway, which were there over the entire weekend.
aside from these minor problems the hotel was a good place to stay and centrally located to local attractions and i would stay there again.

Room Tip: get a room on the 4th floor, no one above you to hear walking around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager G, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear EstesPk,

Thank you for taking time to post reflections of your recent stay on TripAdvisor. First of all, I would like to thank you for your sincere and nice words about our service and staff members. I truly apologize for the condition of the bathroom and room walls. I have already addressed the cleanliness of the fire stairs. We are certainly looking forward to renovate all our rooms by the end of this year. Should business or pleasure bring you back to the city, we would greatly appreciate the chance to serve you.

Sincerely,

Beck Kasymbekov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endicott, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just took a chance based on a previous stay at a Sleep Inn & Suites and were equally impressed with the price, cleanliness and size of the room. The staff was pleasant, efficient and professional. Easy on and easy off the highway was a plus.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there's a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager G, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear callenzen,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for the great review.
We are delighted to know that you were pleased with our services. We work diligently to ensure our hotel is well maintained and try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations.

Thank you again for staying with us and hope to see you in the near future.

Beck Kasymbekov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALLANDS
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Well almost like home. I have stayed here several times and feel like a king the way the staff treats me. I'm a regular guy who travels a lot, but I just love this hotel. Clean rooms, indoor pool, close to get food, comfortable beds, and just the most wonderful staff. I stay at choice hotels most of the time and I must say that all treat me very well, but here I am treated just like a king. Stayed here for a weekend trip with the wife and booked ahead for the room. Walked in the door keys handed to me and went in with out a missed step. It was a wonderful stay and I just love staying here.

Room Tip: good parking, very clean rooms, just stay here and you will know
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager G, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear 20thcentboy,

I would like to begin by thanking you for the great review and considering our hotel as a home. That is indeed a great feedback! We are truly happy to know that you had a pleasant stay and liked our services. We strive to offer the highest service to our kings.

I will be sharing your great review with my team.

Thank you and come stay with us soon.


Beck Kasymbekov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Address: 140 Costello Dr., Winchester, VA 22602
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Winchester
#12 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep Inn & Suites hotel in Winchester VA near Shenandoah UniversityThe Sleep Inn & Suites® hotel is conveniently located in the charming town of Winchester, less than one mile from Shenandoah University. This Winchester VA hotel is close to the Winchester Medical Center, the Winchester Regional Airport, Dinosaur Land theme park and Summit Point Raceway.For history buffs, the Winchester area is home to George Washington's Office Museum, the Stonewall Jackson House, the Stonewall Jackson Museum at Hupp's Hill, the Old Court House Civil War Museum, the historic Belle Grove Plantation and Cedar Creek Battlefield.For shoppers, Millwood Crossing, a renovated apple-packing warehouse, is home to several specialty shops, galleries and apple products. Visitors will enjoy an array of restaurants and cocktail lounges located in the surrounding area.Guests of this Winchester VA hotel will wake up each morning to a Free Morning Medley Hot Breakfast, including hard-boiled eggs, hot and cold cereals, Danishes, assorted breads and muffins, fresh Belgian waffles, fresh fruits, juice and, of course, the selective coffee.The hotel also offers additional amenities and features, such as free local calls, free weekday newspapers and free wireless high-speed Internet access.For a special treat, take a dip in the indoor heated pool. To keep everyone in shape, the on-site fitness center features a variety of cardiovascular and weight training equipment.Those traveling on business will appreciate conveniences like data ports, voice-mail, telephones and the business center, complete with computer, Internet access and fax and copy machines.All tastefully decorated guest rooms come equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. All rooms feature additional amenities like microwaves and refrigerators. Whirlpool suites and handicap accessible and non-smoking rooms are also available.Coin-operated laundry facilities and valet cleaning services are provided for guest convenience. The Sleep Inn & Suites hotel provides friendly customer service, relaxing accommodations and affordable rates to all types of travelers.We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Choice Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn , Inn And Suites
Sleep Inn Hotel Winchester
Sleep Inn Winchester
Winchester Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.