We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Costello Dr., Winchester, VA 22602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 27 hotels in Winchester
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Just Right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This hotel may not score as highly in style points as some of the newer La Quintas or Holiday Inns, but it has a great combination of small details.

Bright, wide, colorful corridors; a heated pool in the lobby; glass walled, well stocked breakfast area; long, continuous work area/TV stand with TV that swivels all the way to either side so you can work with it on if desired; quiet heater fan; big, well lit bathroom with vigorous shower; clean and comfy beds - all for around $70.

Improvements? Get the HD package - nothing worse than trying to watch stretched analog on a wide screen HD. Bigger pillows - I don't know who invented half sized pillows but they aren't nice.

Overall, a good value and worth a return visit.

Room Tip: Pack a swimsuit, the pool is a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager G, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Stephen A,

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing our services and staying at the Sleep Inn & Suites, Winchester, VA. We very much appreciate your honest and detailed review. I will be sure to pass along your kind feedback to our entire team. They love to hear back from our satisfied guests. I will start working on the improvement list.

Thank you,

Beck Kasymbekov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    60
    21
    7
    11
See reviews for
56
51
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Camp Hill
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This seems like a popular stop for travelers on I-81. We reserved our room mid-afternoon and was given what I requested. But the toilet broke on the first try and we had to move. By then the front desk was not as friendly about finding a good room. The second room was fine and quite good for the price. Too bad the breakfast was hyped with stories of Belgian waffles and eggs and sausage, etc. At 8 A.M. I was looking forward to a special offering. The waffles were the same thing that one finds in many breakfasts. No fruit or whipped creme-just syrup. The eggs were cold hard boilded eggs. Not sure if it was too much hype or mis-communication.
Be very careful in the bath tub-very very slipery.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager G, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Courthouse067,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Sleep Inn & Suites, Winchester, VA and taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize that you had to move because of the problem with the toilet. I am pleased that you liked the second room. I will address friendliness issues with the entire team of our Front Desk Associates. I believe we have to do all our best to make our guests happy. Yes, we do have a Complimentary Hot Breakfast with hot waffles, hard-boiled eggs, sausage patties and etc. I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations about our breakfast. We have started putting anti-slip tapes in our bathtubs.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Thank you,

Beck Kasymbekov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bear, de
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful on arriving and departing. the lobby area was clean and appealing and the breakfast area was clean. the room although clean was in need of some minor renovations; the shower curtain looked like something my dog got a hold of and the towel and shower curtain rod were very rusty in addition the wall could have used some spackle as there was numerous holes in the wall. the bed could use some big boy pillows instead of something you would put on your sofa. there were numerous beer bottle caps in the back stairway, which were there over the entire weekend.
aside from these minor problems the hotel was a good place to stay and centrally located to local attractions and i would stay there again.

Room Tip: get a room on the 4th floor, no one above you to hear walking around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager G, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear EstesPk,

Thank you for taking time to post reflections of your recent stay on TripAdvisor. First of all, I would like to thank you for your sincere and nice words about our service and staff members. I truly apologize for the condition of the bathroom and room walls. I have already addressed the cleanliness of the fire stairs. We are certainly looking forward to renovate all our rooms by the end of this year. Should business or pleasure bring you back to the city, we would greatly appreciate the chance to serve you.

Sincerely,

Beck Kasymbekov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endicott, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just took a chance based on a previous stay at a Sleep Inn & Suites and were equally impressed with the price, cleanliness and size of the room. The staff was pleasant, efficient and professional. Easy on and easy off the highway was a plus.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there's a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager G, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear callenzen,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for the great review.
We are delighted to know that you were pleased with our services. We work diligently to ensure our hotel is well maintained and try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations.

Thank you again for staying with us and hope to see you in the near future.

Beck Kasymbekov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALLANDS
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Well almost like home. I have stayed here several times and feel like a king the way the staff treats me. I'm a regular guy who travels a lot, but I just love this hotel. Clean rooms, indoor pool, close to get food, comfortable beds, and just the most wonderful staff. I stay at choice hotels most of the time and I must say that all treat me very well, but here I am treated just like a king. Stayed here for a weekend trip with the wife and booked ahead for the room. Walked in the door keys handed to me and went in with out a missed step. It was a wonderful stay and I just love staying here.

Room Tip: good parking, very clean rooms, just stay here and you will know
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager G, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear 20thcentboy,

I would like to begin by thanking you for the great review and considering our hotel as a home. That is indeed a great feedback! We are truly happy to know that you had a pleasant stay and liked our services. We strive to offer the highest service to our kings.

I will be sharing your great review with my team.

Thank you and come stay with us soon.


Beck Kasymbekov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
155 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel several times on recent business trips. Always clean with a tasty breakfast. What makes this hotel a pleasure to stay at is the ALWAYS accommodating staff. Thanks for the great stay as usual :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager G, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Mark H M

Thank you so much for giving us the pleasure to serve you during your visits to Winchester, VA and thank you very much for staying with us often. Your review and kind remarks regarding our hotel and service team are highly appreciated. We all are looking forward to your return!

Sincerely,

Beck Kasymbekov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was our second visit to the property and we will definitely go back whenever we're in the area. Front desk staff, both Donna and Mary, were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The whole place is well kept and squeaky clean. Breakfast was good and would have been excellent if scrambled eggs had been available to go with the sausage patties that were being served. Kudos to the management for an overall high score in our book!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager G, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear DeeLeeTee,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at Sleep Inn and Suites, Winchester, VA. We highly appreciate your patronage and feel honored to be considered as the best Sleep Inn and Suites. I am pleased to hear that both our staff and our accommodations met your expectations of the hotel. I will be very happy to share your feedback with Donna, Mary and other employees, I am sure they will be all thrilled. We will be delighted to welcome you back

Sincerely,

Beck Kasymbekov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Address: 140 Costello Dr., Winchester, VA 22602
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Winchester
#10 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep Inn & Suites hotel in Winchester VA near Shenandoah UniversityThe Sleep Inn & Suites® hotel is conveniently located in the charming town of Winchester, less than one mile from Shenandoah University. This Winchester VA hotel is close to the Winchester Medical Center, the Winchester Regional Airport, Dinosaur Land theme park and Summit Point Raceway.For history buffs, the Winchester area is home to George Washington's Office Museum, the Stonewall Jackson House, the Stonewall Jackson Museum at Hupp's Hill, the Old Court House Civil War Museum, the historic Belle Grove Plantation and Cedar Creek Battlefield.For shoppers, Millwood Crossing, a renovated apple-packing warehouse, is home to several specialty shops, galleries and apple products. Visitors will enjoy an array of restaurants and cocktail lounges located in the surrounding area.Guests of this Winchester VA hotel will wake up each morning to a Free Morning Medley Hot Breakfast, including hard-boiled eggs, hot and cold cereals, Danishes, assorted breads and muffins, fresh Belgian waffles, fresh fruits, juice and, of course, the selective coffee.The hotel also offers additional amenities and features, such as free local calls, free weekday newspapers and free wireless high-speed Internet access.For a special treat, take a dip in the indoor heated pool. To keep everyone in shape, the on-site fitness center features a variety of cardiovascular and weight training equipment.Those traveling on business will appreciate conveniences like data ports, voice-mail, telephones and the business center, complete with computer, Internet access and fax and copy machines.All tastefully decorated guest rooms come equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. All rooms feature additional amenities like microwaves and refrigerators. Whirlpool suites and handicap accessible and non-smoking rooms are also available.Coin-operated laundry facilities and valet cleaning services are provided for guest convenience. The Sleep Inn & Suites hotel provides friendly customer service, relaxing accommodations and affordable rates to all types of travelers.We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn , Inn And Suites
Sleep Inn Hotel Winchester
Sleep Inn Winchester
Winchester Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.