We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable room for decent price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Sleep Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Costello Dr., Winchester, VA 22602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Saint Clair, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable room for decent price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have stayed here twice and enjoyed both stays. the rooms are clean and the price is right. Bathrooms are clean, but need better lighting, but this is the only downside to the room, I can't complain. My stays at Choice brand hotels has varied but this one is good. Wifi works well. Clean, comfortable, and quiet...what more can you want for a 2-3 star hotel. I have stayed at pricier hotels and have been as equally impressed as this one. This isn't a high priced hotel or resort, so don't expect that level of luxury. I will gladly stay here again and again.

Room Tip: You can park around back and use your key card to come in the back door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager G, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear dsrtfox1942,

Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay at Sleep Inn & Suites, Winchester, VA and for continuously staying with us. You have mentioned some very true words.

Thank you and come back stay with us again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    71
    26
    7
    11
See reviews for
63
61
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kemptville, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We made a stop late one evening on our way home from vacation. We stayed on the first floor in a totally remodelled room. It was very clean and well appointed with all the amenities. We ejoyed a relaxing time in the indoor pool and great rest in our quiet room.The night manager was friendly and helpful in providing a much needed corkscrew ! We will definitely stay here next year when we make the same trip.

Room Tip: Great value in comparison to surrounding hotels. Our room was on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager G, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Gary B,

Thank you very much for the great review about your experience. We are glad and happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay.
We would love to see you with us again.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

After driving in the rain for 5 hours, we were very glad to get to the hotel. I had booked 2 rooms with a king sized bed but found when we got there, that they were far apart. This was rectified, although we had to switch to rooms with 2 doubles. Breakfast was adequate. Rooms quite spacious & clean. Very convenient to the I81. We also liked the Golden Corral being right next door. Would stay here again if we ever drive from Ontario to Florida again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager G, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear penguinlady59,

Thank you so much for the very informative review. We are happy that you were satisfied with level of service you had received.
We look forward to serving you again.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel had the dirtiest carpets I've seen in my travels. More over the wifi didn't work in our room. When we told the manager all he could say was "There was a business center available". Yeah, like I want to go to a business center once I've gotten ready for bed. We had already driven 10 hours and I sure didn't feel like leaving my room so I could check and send emails. The room itself was very dark. Although the desk clerk was kind and did her best trying to get the wifi working she wasn't dressed like someone that worked a front desk. A bit frumpy to say the least.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager G, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear GrandmaBettyOntario,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your recent stay at Sleep Inn & Suites, Winchester, VA.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the condition of the carpet, high speed wireless Internet and for the Front Desk uniform.

But I need to make one thing clear. As regards the Free High Speed Wireless Internet Connection, as you and we remember, the general manager as per your husband’s request, went into your room shortly after you had checked-in. There was no problem with the Internet connection and he explained why you were not having the connection. That was simply because your laptop was never connected to the hotel wireless network. He established the connection and showed how to use it. Then opened three different websites and showed that everything was working fine. At that time there were two Front Desk associates behind the desk. When we had received your second complaint about the Internet, one of our Front Desk agents helped you to connect again, called the technical support and gave you the phone number for that service. This time the problem was with the certain website, not with the Wireless Internet connection. Next morning according to your words you did not want to call neither the Tech. support nor use the hotel business center.

Please note that for the guests’ convenience we have instructions on how to connect and use the Free Wireless Internet service. We have a technical support available 24 hours a day.

We take great pride of serving our guests and providing superior service and we will do all our best to make our guests stay pleasant.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Overall not the best hotel to stay at. I really think the franchise owner could make an investment in hiring managers that manage with high standards and implement systems and procedures in maintenance of rooms. Rooms look like a tiger was attacking wallpaper!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldersburg, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stay here frequently for business purposes and I am always made to feel very welcome. The rooms are very clean and the people from the reception to the breakfast that is there are all great. I haven't had the opportunity to use the pool but it looks inviting. Very quiet at night, nice place to stay.

Room Tip: always nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentown
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is my favorite Hotel to stop at whenever I travel Rt. 81. The staff is always friendly and efficient. The Hotel is always clean and I can count on a good nights sleep. The heated indoor pool is wonderful after a long days drive & the breakfast in the morning is outstanding. I wish all Hotels were this great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Address: 140 Costello Dr., Winchester, VA 22602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Winchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#10 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep Inn & Suites hotel in Winchester VA near Shenandoah UniversityThe Sleep Inn & Suites® hotel is conveniently located in the charming town of Winchester, less than one mile from Shenandoah University. This Winchester VA hotel is close to the Winchester Medical Center, the Winchester Regional Airport, Dinosaur Land theme park and Summit Point Raceway.For history buffs, the Winchester area is home to George Washington's Office Museum, the Stonewall Jackson House, the Stonewall Jackson Museum at Hupp's Hill, the Old Court House Civil War Museum, the historic Belle Grove Plantation and Cedar Creek Battlefield.For shoppers, Millwood Crossing, a renovated apple-packing warehouse, is home to several specialty shops, galleries and apple products. Visitors will enjoy an array of restaurants and cocktail lounges located in the surrounding area.Guests of this Winchester VA hotel will wake up each morning to a Free Morning Medley Hot Breakfast, including hard-boiled eggs, hot and cold cereals, Danishes, assorted breads and muffins, fresh Belgian waffles, fresh fruits, juice and, of course, the selective coffee.The hotel also offers additional amenities and features, such as free local calls, free weekday newspapers and free wireless high-speed Internet access.For a special treat, take a dip in the indoor heated pool. To keep everyone in shape, the on-site fitness center features a variety of cardiovascular and weight training equipment.Those traveling on business will appreciate conveniences like data ports, voice-mail, telephones and the business center, complete with computer, Internet access and fax and copy machines.All tastefully decorated guest rooms come equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. All rooms feature additional amenities like microwaves and refrigerators. Whirlpool suites and handicap accessible and non-smoking rooms are also available.Coin-operated laundry facilities and valet cleaning services are provided for guest convenience. The Sleep Inn & Suites hotel provides friendly customer service, relaxing accommodations and affordable rates to all types of travelers.We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn , Inn And Suites
Sleep Inn Hotel Winchester
Sleep Inn Winchester
Winchester Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.