We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Winchester” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Sleep Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Costello Dr., Winchester, VA 22602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A gem in Winchester”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We were headed to a Civil War Re-enactment (observers, thank you - not ready to enlist), and needed a place to stay. This was the cleanest, happiest and most friendliest place we experienced on this trip. We called the site, rather than booking online and got heaps of advice from the front desk person. (hint: stop at a rest area on 81 and pick up the red booklet with discount coupons to save $$)

The breakfast is better than most, but doesn't satisfy a 'foodie' as it is largely Sysco Systems based. Still, they are sincere and went out of their way to accommodate everyone on our party. The pool was heavily chlorinated (good, I think) and smallish. - But they have one, which is a plus.

For the price it was great value and we'd stay there again next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    79
    27
    9
    11
See reviews for
68
66
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed at this Sleep Inn in July 2012. Since we travel a lot through the area, I try to stay in different hotels. Booked our room through Choice Privileges. On arrival we saw many cars and bikes on the parking lot, it seemed to be a busy property. The price was very nice, we paid only $ 77 with tax. I do not think one will find a mid-scale hotel for this price along I-81. Most places charge around $ 99 - 109. We decided to stay at this hotel because of the indoor swimming pool, the fact they do not accept pets, close to the interstate and comments from Tripadvisor.com. When we arrived it was almost 6:00 pm, there were two receptionists behind the counter - a lady and a young man. They were very friendly and knowledgeable. Young man even informed us where to park our vehicle to be able to see it from our room. That was a really nice touch! Before we went to our room, they counted amenities and showed the breakfast place, business center, exercise room and pool. Room was clean, had two beds. Four pillows on each. The interesting thing about the room it was cool, the air conditioner unit was on. That was a great thing especially on hot days like that. When I went downstairs to bring my bags, the gentleman behind the desk offered his help. He took my bags and on the way to my room showed the location of ice and coke machines. My room was on 3rd floor, so I did not have to go downstairs for ice. The TV was an old style but had many channels. Bathroom was well lit, however there were not enough towels for two adults and a kid. Had to call and ask them to bring another set. Our room had a small coffee maker with a metal carafe, white microwave, black fridge, a couple of coffee cups. Beds were clean and very comfortable. No strange smells. Pillows were regular size. No big deal, almost the same size in every other hotel. It was a quite night.

Next morning we went to pool, it was very warm in the pool area. I had to open the side door to have some fresh air. Water temperature was decent. I need to point out that the floor near the elevator is very slippery. Be very careful when coming out of the pool area.

Breakfast area looked very modern with nice colors. Only cons are the chairs, they were really hard to sit for a longer time. Tables were little smaller for a family of three people. Coffee was nice and plenty, the only problem - only one type of creamer. We enjoyed hot waffles and yogurt. I can not say it was a 100% hot breakfast. Did not eat sausages, as I believe it must be a processed meat.

Did not have chance to use their business center or the exercise room. Used wireless Internet, worked well, no issues.

We were checked out by a very nice lady in a very formal uniform. Despite the uniform, she was very cheerful. However she did not have a name tag. For our compliments about our nice stay, fast check in and nice associates, she informed us that she knows ladies only work behind the desk. For our question who was the man, she smiled and said that must be the general manager and handed the business card with manager's name Beck Kasymbekov.

Overall we liked our stay at this hotel and would definitely return back. It was a great experience to see such a nice and smiling people, and especially the general manager who offered his help like a regular employee. We were truly impressed by their service.

One thing to note, I did not check if the hotel allowed smoking in the rooms. It seems like Virginia is becoming a smoke free area. :)

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the front parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed for one night while on the road in July. On arrival, the receptionist was very helpful in explaining how to use my Choice Hotel Intl points to pay for the night (which was great!). The indoor pool was very nice, as was the breakfast the next day. The rooms are a little dated, but the free wifi was very fast. I shall certainly return when i'm next in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We travel every summer with our son who uses a wheelchair. We asked for a "wheelchair room" and booked this 2 months in advance. Our room was spacious and clean, with comfortable beds. We enjoyed the indoor pool (a big reason for booking this hotel) and we always take our goggles in case of chlorine problems. (the chlorine was not a problem that day) The breakfast area was clean and well-stocked, with fresh fruit, make-your-own waffles, hard-boiled eggs and sausage patties. I suspect our room was nicer than others' reviewed recently precisely because it is a handicapped designated room, and therefore the carpet has been less used, etc. The staff was wonderful to us at every encounter.

Room Tip: Ask if the handicapped room is available if not being used that night by others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Great place to stay in a great location! I was impressed with the cleanliness and the amenities that were available nearby. My wife and I really enjoyed using the pool and workout areas. The bed was comfortable and everything worked well. I will be back at this location during my next visit to Winchester!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I used my points as a Plat. Elite Member for Choice and was celebrating my wedding anniversary but brought the kids on our trip, so contacted the hotel days in advance to ask for an upgrade to a suite (which is common at most choice hotels). The manager never called me back to let me know that the answer is no, but it is available if I want to pay the extra. That's ok, understand, so I check in (after being notified that the manager left a note for me to say the answer is no, he won't give me a suite upgrade) and the room on the 1st floor they put me in (because I have kids and they want all kids on the ground floor per the desk lady), the room had hair in the sheets, wall paper falling off the wall and just not what I'd expected, so I went back to my desk, she gave me another room (1st floor again, because I have kids) and the same thing, dust in the room, wall paper falling apart, so finally go back again and she gives me 3rd floor, there is another hair on the pillow, stains on the walls. At this point, I take the pillow down stairs to the lady as I return the luggage cart to the lobby and told her I will just deal with it, now that it is around midnight. The lady when I hand her the pillow gets frustrated that I'm keep coming down as if I'm inconveniencing her. The next morning, no call from the manager, no appology at checkout. I'm wishing I would've stayed at the Country Inn & Suites again down the road and just pay the money instead of using my points. Lesson learned, you pay for what you get!

Room Tip: Stay at the Country Inn & Suites instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager G, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear David S,

Thank you for taking your time to post your feedback about the Sleep Inn & Suites, Winchester, VA. I am sorry we did not meet the service standards expected from our hotel. Please note that we continuously take initiatives in recognition of our most valued guests, consistency, and take great pride with the relationships we have built with Choice Privileges Elite members. We would like to provide little more information about the points: Choice Privileges Members can either earn Choice Privileges points, Airline miles or Amtrak Guest Rewards. There are Elite Gold, Elite Platinum and Elite Diamond membership levels available. Any Choice Privileges member can redeem or use points for a free night. However the Complimentary Free upgrade to a Suite is only available for the Elite Diamond members and depends on hotel’s availability. The day you called us, you were informed that we had only rooms with two double beds available, all our Suites were sold and we were not able to offer an upgrade. Please note that the points for a free night cover the standard room only.
We sincerely apologize for not being able to offer a Suite upgrade.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The appearances of the hotel, the lobby and the elevator are good but the carpet on the corridor of each floor is stained and dirty. The room has really old dirty carpet with really bad smell. The window can not be opened to reduce the smell. The pillows are half standard sizes. Bathroom fan is just decorative.

Room Tip: Book your room at Marriott hotel on the opposite side of the street or Hampton Inn around the corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Address: 140 Costello Dr., Winchester, VA 22602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Winchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#8 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep Inn & Suites hotel in Winchester VA near Shenandoah UniversityThe Sleep Inn & Suites® hotel is conveniently located in the charming town of Winchester, less than one mile from Shenandoah University. This Winchester VA hotel is close to the Winchester Medical Center, the Winchester Regional Airport, Dinosaur Land theme park and Summit Point Raceway.For history buffs, the Winchester area is home to George Washington's Office Museum, the Stonewall Jackson House, the Stonewall Jackson Museum at Hupp's Hill, the Old Court House Civil War Museum, the historic Belle Grove Plantation and Cedar Creek Battlefield.For shoppers, Millwood Crossing, a renovated apple-packing warehouse, is home to several specialty shops, galleries and apple products. Visitors will enjoy an array of restaurants and cocktail lounges located in the surrounding area.Guests of this Winchester VA hotel will wake up each morning to a Free Morning Medley Hot Breakfast, including hard-boiled eggs, hot and cold cereals, Danishes, assorted breads and muffins, fresh Belgian waffles, fresh fruits, juice and, of course, the selective coffee.The hotel also offers additional amenities and features, such as free local calls, free weekday newspapers and free wireless high-speed Internet access.For a special treat, take a dip in the indoor heated pool. To keep everyone in shape, the on-site fitness center features a variety of cardiovascular and weight training equipment.Those traveling on business will appreciate conveniences like data ports, voice-mail, telephones and the business center, complete with computer, Internet access and fax and copy machines.All tastefully decorated guest rooms come equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. All rooms feature additional amenities like microwaves and refrigerators. Whirlpool suites and handicap accessible and non-smoking rooms are also available.Coin-operated laundry facilities and valet cleaning services are provided for guest convenience. The Sleep Inn & Suites hotel provides friendly customer service, relaxing accommodations and affordable rates to all types of travelers.We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Hotel Winchester
Sleep Inn , Inn And Suites
Sleep Inn Winchester
Winchester Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.