We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, nearby restaurants.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Costello Dr., Winchester, VA 22602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 27 hotels in Winchester
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, nearby restaurants.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

A very nice hotel. Clean. Near shopping and several restaurant choices. There is an Italian restaurant called Umberto's a couple of blocks away with delicious pizza and what looks like some other great Italian dishes. They do close at 9.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    59
    21
    7
    11
See reviews for
56
50
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

This was our 2nd stay at the Sleep Inn and again it did not disappoint!! The rooms are tastefully decorated and the beds are to die for!!! The front desk staff were extremely friendly and you are within a stones throw from the Golden Corral to eat. Across the street is a Costco and Walmart is just down the street as are a variety of other stores. Just a great midway stop if you are heading down south!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed in the honeymoon suite with the whirlpool tub / jacuzzi on the 2nd floor. We shared only 1 wall with another room. I did awaken at one point hearing the people next door to us in delicto flagrante, which was a bit noisy, the beds shared the same wall. Regardless, the complimentary breakfast was great - typical though, cereal, sausages, breads, fruit, waffles. It worked for us!. The tub worked well, we kept using it because it was so wonderful ! TV with an easy recliner, desk and chair, internet hookups, big bed, and the jacuzzi. The hot tub was awesome! We did not use their pool, but it's pretty big, 1st floor right across from the lobby and the windows look at the parking lot and lobby from when you're in the pool - so not very private. There is a teeny gym on the 1st floor, which we also didn't use. We walked over to the Delco Plaza $2 (cash only) movie theatre to see INCEPTION, which was a great bargain! Recommended restaurants nearby are Awabi Japanese, Castiglia's Italian, Foster's Grille, and Cracker Barrell. We had nice clean linens, plenty of pillows, a mini refrigerator in the room. Due to the hot tub package, it came with chocolates, strawberries, and tea lights, and a bottle of chilled champagne/sparkling wine. So it was VERY romantic and we enjoyed being alone and relaxing. I would stay at the Sleep Inn again. It was very nice. The location is kind of lame, it's just off Interstate 81 and Route 522 and Route 50. Not exactly paradise, but if you're only in room, what difference does it make? And it is convenient to everything nearby, so that's good. Safe area, very safe area. The lobby is very clean and comfy. Our room was non-smoking and really was non-smoking on the floor, no residual odors. The elevator is slow. The smokers stink up the elevator from when they come back in from the outside, not my favorite experience, but that's life.

Room Tip: Call ahead & talk to the front desk servers
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayuta Lake
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

We used the coupon that comes in the pamphlets that you get at the rest stops. The desk clerk said we would have 2 beds. I said we would take a room with one and she said that the coupon was for 2 bed rooms.I think the beds were doubles and had queen sized sheets. The room was next to the pool and was small. I had no hot water for a shower. Positives: The bed was very comfortable and breakfast was set out early.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

anything was taken care off promptly --pool heater turned up--superbly clean; very efficient breakfast service best of all were the 3 desk clerks--questions, directions, reservations;very knowledgable ; changed rooms due to a too soft mattress--no problem too big or small--we returned tis year due to our great stay last year!

Room Tip: talk to desk clerks about your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

We always stay in Winchester on our way down to Florida and we try to us the motel coupons whenever we can. After reading the reviews on trip advisor we decided to stay at the sleep inn and we were very pleased with the "newness" of the building and most importantly by the courtesy and helpfulness of the staff. We enjoyed the pool and exercise room and were very pleased with the breakfast. This is definately going to be a regular stop for my wife and I.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenville, sc
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We used a travel coupon when we stayed here and it turned out to be a real bargain. We feel that the main thing you want in a hotel is a comfortable bed. That is hard to find in a lot of 2 and 2.5 * hotels as they are usually hard as sleeping on the floor. These beds were great, the room was clean and everything worked, nothing broken or soiled. The indoor pool was actually heated to a comfortable temperature. The breakfast was fine also and the front desk staff was very nice. Can;t ask for any more than that.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Address: 140 Costello Dr., Winchester, VA 22602
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Winchester
#10 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep Inn & Suites hotel in Winchester VA near Shenandoah UniversityThe Sleep Inn & Suites® hotel is conveniently located in the charming town of Winchester, less than one mile from Shenandoah University. This Winchester VA hotel is close to the Winchester Medical Center, the Winchester Regional Airport, Dinosaur Land theme park and Summit Point Raceway.For history buffs, the Winchester area is home to George Washington's Office Museum, the Stonewall Jackson House, the Stonewall Jackson Museum at Hupp's Hill, the Old Court House Civil War Museum, the historic Belle Grove Plantation and Cedar Creek Battlefield.For shoppers, Millwood Crossing, a renovated apple-packing warehouse, is home to several specialty shops, galleries and apple products. Visitors will enjoy an array of restaurants and cocktail lounges located in the surrounding area.Guests of this Winchester VA hotel will wake up each morning to a Free Morning Medley Hot Breakfast, including hard-boiled eggs, hot and cold cereals, Danishes, assorted breads and muffins, fresh Belgian waffles, fresh fruits, juice and, of course, the selective coffee.The hotel also offers additional amenities and features, such as free local calls, free weekday newspapers and free wireless high-speed Internet access.For a special treat, take a dip in the indoor heated pool. To keep everyone in shape, the on-site fitness center features a variety of cardiovascular and weight training equipment.Those traveling on business will appreciate conveniences like data ports, voice-mail, telephones and the business center, complete with computer, Internet access and fax and copy machines.All tastefully decorated guest rooms come equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. All rooms feature additional amenities like microwaves and refrigerators. Whirlpool suites and handicap accessible and non-smoking rooms are also available.Coin-operated laundry facilities and valet cleaning services are provided for guest convenience. The Sleep Inn & Suites hotel provides friendly customer service, relaxing accommodations and affordable rates to all types of travelers.We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn , Inn And Suites
Sleep Inn Hotel Winchester
Sleep Inn Winchester
Winchester Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.