We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veggie-friendly bistro.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Market Bistro

Village Market Bistro
2 S Loudoun St, Winchester, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 219 Restaurants in Winchester
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Charleston, West Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Veggie-friendly bistro.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stopped here for lunch on a whim while passing through town. Some of the food seemed to be German-inspired, but there was an interesting variety of choices, including plenty of veggie friendly options. The atmosphere was warm and inviting. We were particularly impressed with the modern use of old shelving to create the $7 wine wall as well as a decent beer selection. The food tasted very good but the portions were a little on the small side: maybe that is a good combination.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    26
    20
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wall-To-Wall Winner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

2 South Loudoun Street, Winchester, VA 22601
On the pedestrian mall. Ate dinner here during a three day stay at a B&B within walking distance. The place is apparently a rescued drugstore.
Of the three restaurants we tried on this trip, this was the best. Menu was not very extensive but decidedly German. I was a bit skeptical because decent German cooking is sort of hard to find in most of the US. I had two Bratwurst with curried mustard, pan-seared sauerkraut (very good) and warm German potato salad done differently from what I had seen before (also very good).
Wife did the sauerbraten; quite good but not like her mother-in-law's (Hi, Mom! I know you read my reviews :-D ) She then finished with a large creme brulee' which she refused to share :-[ All I needed for dessert was a cup of their great coffee.
No bar per se (and no noisy football crowd) but you can choose something from the wall-o-wines (took a nice $7 bottle of merlot + corking fee) or the wall-o-beers on the other side of the room
We must have lucked out because the mall was all but desserted; possibly because it turned cold and a street festival had broken up after dark. Service was outstanding and wait staff very engaging. After two previous nights it was wonderful to have a good, quiet meal in an uncrowded room.
http://villagemarketandbistro.com/

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Wow, that's a lot of beer choices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Most entrees are German-themed. The salmon in puff pastry? Not so German, but oh, so good! The sauerbraten was good, and the apple/pear/brie struedel was the perfect ending!

They have a "wall of beer" from which to choose (200+ varieties?). Try the Baba Black Later... Excellent!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great Patio”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The food was good, but nothing to write home about. I would go back because I liked the crowd and the patio

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Refreshing and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The food had wonderful flavor! Not overwhelmed by heavy sauces or dressings. A little pricey, but excellent quality. I left planning to come back soon.I had the organic salad, salmon, and cobbler. All were delicious and satisfying. Great place!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Market Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Village Market Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Market Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.