We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great collections” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Court House Civil War Museum

Old Court House Civil War Museum
20 N. Loudoun Street, Winchester, VA 22601
(540) 542-1145
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 15 Attractions in Winchester
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
950 reviews 950 reviews
460 attraction reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
“Great collections”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My family and I enjoyed our self-guided tour through this beautiful old courthouse. My dad, a Civil War re-enactor, was blown away by their collection of bullets, guns, buttons, etc. Definitely take a look and plan to read the literature provided--and ring the bell!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    34
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Better than expected, designed to be educational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Ground floor just small shop and Court house. Up lift or stairs there is a big collection of memorabilia including shells and metal elements off uniforms including buckles, buttons and clasps, some even damaged by bullets. Nice introduction. $5 each small 10% discount for students. The place was a hospital and a prison during the war. If in town do go and see it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryans Road, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“July 4th Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Very friendly attendee located inside main gift shop entrance. She was very informative and provided a great overview of the entire museum prior to entry. the $5 entrance fee was reasonable in my opinion. Numerous artifacts, great artwork, and displays.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york, pa
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Nice museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This museum is really nice. The 2nd floor has a lot of artifacts. If you are into canon shot and shells, then this is the place for you. There are also belt buckles and some guns. The cool part, to me, was the graffiti that was on some parts of the walls. I would recommend since the price is fair.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Loved this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This was a gem. We got to tour it as our leisure. The history of the place was fascinating and just being in the original courthouse which later became a stockade for soldiers as well as a POW camp on the front lawn was fascinating. We enjoyed this very much.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Court House Civil War Museum also viewed

 

Been to Old Court House Civil War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Court House Civil War Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.