We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of history in one spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Court House Civil War Museum

Old Court House Civil War Museum
20 N. Loudoun Street, Winchester, VA 22601
(540) 542-1145
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 21 Attractions in Winchester
Type: Museums
Attraction Details
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A lot of history in one spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I was able to visit this museum on a recent trip to Winchester. There is so much history contained in this one building and it does not even come close to the scope of the history of the area. The museum is very user friendly and the people of Winchester are very helpful and friendly with a vast knowledge of the history of the area. I was visiting with my two daughters and they even became so engrossed in the material, we got a parking ticket! Well worth the entrance fee of $5 each; even with the $10 parking ticket on top of that! If you get a chance, stop in but pad in chatting time with the local historian!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    31
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Beautiful building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The museum is beautifully done, with may many exhibits of finds from the Winchester area, which played a significant role in the Civil War, important to both north and south. The most interesting is the grafitti on the walls written by soldiers when the building was used as a jail during the war. It is not particularly interactive, so not super-interesting for younger children. From about 9 or 10 up, it is definitely worth a visit. And, of course, if you are a Civil War addict, it's a must.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“delightful visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Incredible historic building filled with ammunition, uniform elements and the graffiti from actual prisoners and their brief biographies were deeply intriguing. If you are nice to the staff, they will even invite you to ring the courthouse Bell!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Very nice building the lady their was nice gives her little story then you go and look around courtroom, Then up stairs is all the history about war displays and stories etc.very interesting

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My family and I went to the museum this past weekend. (Labor Day) We had been looking forward to it since our children started college in Winchester Virginia. The Court house is beautiful from the out side. When you enter the Court House, it is very pretty in side as well. There is a small gift shop with lots of books but not much of anything else. We were instructed to go into the main part of the court house where a young gentleman came in and spoke about the layout of the court house. It lasted about 3 minutes and while he seemed to know a lot of information, he didn't ask if there were any questions and after stated go up stairs and look as much as you like, he was gone. Up stairs is where there is suppose to be over 3000 different artifacts of the war. While there may have been, they were all the same items. Case of guns (mostly the same). Cannon Balls (mostly the same). Case after case of buttons off of uniforms. After the forth case I was tired of looking at them. It took us less that 30 minutes to see the complete museum and it cost 18.00 to get in. While this might not seem like much money, it is compaired to the time that was spent there. There really needs to be a bigger area of artifacts and there needs to be a little more information (posters, recording, reinactments, etc.) of what really happened during the war. It was ok for a first visit but I wouldn't go again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Court House Civil War Museum also viewed

 

Been to Old Court House Civil War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Court House Civil War Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.