We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steaks and nice owner that cares” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Butcher Station

The Butcher Station
3107 Valley Ave, Suite 106, Winchester, VA 22601-2675
540-662-2433
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 219 Restaurants in Winchester
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: American, Organic, Seafood, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Reservations
Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great steaks and nice owner that cares”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had a wonderful dinner at The Butcher Station. Started with white sangria that was excellent. Then appetizers, 1/2 of peel and eat shrimp and salads. All quite good.
We then all had excellent steak that were delicious and cooked as requested. Appreciated the included side and a kids menu with options other than nuggets.
Had a very nice dessert. The owner came around and you can tell cares about the product and your food.
We really liked the steaks and wish this was closer to us in NOVA.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    7
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We were traveling to PA from TN and needed a place for lunch, we all got burgers on home made buns with fresh cut fries and they were sooo good! We all wished we lived near there so we could go all the time!! Its nice knowing you are getting fresh meat and everything else too. Makes me never want to go to a chain restaurant again. Go eat here you won't be dissapointed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
1 review
“Not too great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We went there for lunch to celebrate Admin Professional's Day. The food was bland at best. However, I enjoyed the hamburger...nice cut of meat! When we entered the restaurant one female employee was dunking a mop up and down in the bucket which immediately turned off one of our party. Downside to the entire outing was a strong repugnant odor coming from the dairy cooler. It wafted through our space every time the door was opened or the cooler fan came on. Our senior civilian made comment of it but seemed to be dismissed. Some customers acted as if she killed the golden goose. I don't plan on going back there anytime soon. Sad because the service staff was awesome!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
191 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food & Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were on our way from Lost River WV to Winchester VA when we received a call from friends on their way to visit. We suggested they meet us for lunch in Winchester at the Butcher Station, a new restaurant we read about on TripAdvisor. The restaurant was unassuming in its ambiance but the food was excellent. I had the Butcher Station Hamburger which was made to order along with home made french fries which I loved. It also came with a small cucumber/onion salad which was very good. My wife had a tomato based seafood stew which was also very good. Our friend had a spinach crepe along with a cup of the seafood stew and her husband had a roast beef sandwich. We all tasted each others orders so I can say that every thing was delicious. One of the things they tout is that there food is locally grown and always fresh and it certainly tasted that way. We sat inside but they do have a patio/sidewalk service. We like it so much that my wife made reservations for a birthday luncheon for some friends in the week to come. I certainly will revisit for a taste of some of their other specialties and I would without hesitation recommend it to anyone in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“TBS has the right idea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

After seeing someone visit this place (on FB), I checked out their page and was excited to check them out in person after learning that they use local meat/produce and do REAL & exciting specials. Hubby and I came for my birthday dinner and enjoyed a lovely evening together.
The weather was perfect, so we sat outside. Our server was very friendly and professional, making nice, but short conversation when appropriate. He informed us on TBS's local meat and fresh fish philosophies and that they tried to make as much as possible in-house. Hubby selected a craft beer, which he enjoyed, as well as the cheese plate appetizer and pork chop market special. The cheese plate was nice, including bread, honey and dried fruits. The pork chop was ordered medium, as suggested by our server, but arrived more done and a little dry, but still enjoyable (and large!). The mashed potatoes were well done, but received no high praise. The veggie-o-t-d was asparagus, which we both got, and was delightful. I don't even like asparagus. I started with the soup-o-t-d, which they called a tomato whip of yellow tomatoes and balsamic vinegar, drizzled with more balsamic reduction and herb oil, served chilled. It was very delicious and such a large portion that I had to take some home so I didn't spoil the rest of my meal. My main was the sliced roast beef with gravy, which I expected to be tough upon first glance, but it was cooked nicely and tender enough to cut and chew easily, with good flavor. I chose the potato gratin as a side and was pleased with the flavor and light crunch on top. I wish, however, that there was more variety in the sides offered, as 3 were potatoes and the other, veggie-o-t-d. There were 3 dessert selections that evening and we opted for the cheesecake and dark chocolate creme brulee. Mine arrived with "Happy Birthday" written around the edge in chocolate, a sweet surprise! It was only my 2nd ever cb, so I can't truly comment on its strengths, but I enjoyed it and so did Hubby since we switched halfway through (we like to do that anywhere we go). The cheesecake was well made and served with raspberry sauce.
Based solely on the meal, I would give this place 4 stars. It is good, but not amazing. I gave 5 stars based on service and TBS's commitment to local and fresh, which I think is lacking in the area. The identity of the place is slightly confusing, but not enough to be off putting. There are both formal and diner-like aspects. Please support this place! Sadly, we were the only patrons that Tuesday evening from about 7 to 8:30. I fear for their endurance if that is the norm.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Butcher Station also viewed

 

Been to The Butcher Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Butcher Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.