We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty steaks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Texas Steakhouse and Saloon

Texas Steakhouse and Saloon
120 Front Royal Pike, Winchester, VA 22602-7312
540-665-4400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 232 Restaurants in Winchester
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Bristow, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very tasty steaks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Totally enjoyed our experience. The A1 Chipotle Ribeyes were excellent as we're my Russet potatoes. The wife had the sweet potato, which was very well prepared. Liked the decor too!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    28
    23
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Sorry but I did not like it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Staff was very friendly and prompt but the whole place was a drag. Like something out of the seventies. Food was low mediocre. Definitely not going back....and not just to this location.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Repeat customer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is one of my go-to places in Winchester on my annual visit and I can state that I have never had a bad steak here. Reasonably priced, not over-seasoned as most 'roadhouse' types tend to be, and not dried out by the 'cook' pressing all the juice out as it grills. The sides are average with the exception of the red bliss potatos - these are outstanding. Bar drinks are on the expensive side. Service can be hit-or-miss, I have had wonderful service one trip and mediocre the next, but anyone can have a bad night.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, MD
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good Steaks!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The ribeye was delicious as was the mushrooms. My partner's sweet potatoe was good, but mine had some foreign substance in it. The manager replaced it with a fresh one, but it did mar the dinner for me. However, I would go back. The steak was worth a second try!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah Valley, VA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Used to be excellent; Not so now!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We've been to the Texas Steakhouse since it opened and always loved the fresh, crisp salads with hot bacon dressing, tasty coconut shrimp, and the 22-oz porterhouse steak; shared, it made a fantastic surf and turf! Fast forward to now and only the salad remains--and not too great at that. Last two times in six months have been progressively downhill so may not go back. Shrimp dinner two nights ago was popcorn shrimp; totally unacceptable for a decent steak place. Salad was not as usual but can't tell what made it that way; maybe dressing ill proportioned. As previously mentioned by other diners, bucket of peanuts gone and decor stark, dark, and drab commercial theme, something about cowgirls but really box-store junk. Waitress completely scattered and salads came with the dinner. Don't apologize; manage better! Refilled sweet T with unsweetened T and had to wait a while for sugar. All in all, not a good experience. Maybe the Longhorn and Outback competition is killing them but I think they could make a comeback if they want to. Good luck on that! Bring back the old menu and brighten the place up!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas Steakhouse and Saloon also viewed

 
 

Been to Texas Steakhouse and Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Texas Steakhouse and Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.