We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet Friendly, but Hostile if you don't want to sleep in a kennel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Winchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites Winchester to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Winchester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Getty Lane, Winchester, VA 22603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pet Friendly, but Hostile if you don't want to sleep in a kennel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Fully refundable $75 deposit for pets. No pet-free zone available. Other hotels on our journey that were pet-friendly had pets restricted to certain areas. Not so here. Any room you stay in could have had three dogs for a week just before. We cancelled our reservation and had to find another hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    66
    23
    9
    10
See reviews for
70
49
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed at this hotel to and from a trip between New England and Florida. The hotel is relatively new with easy access to Interstate 81. We stayed with our cocker spaniel in a studio suite on the way to Florida and a 1 bedroom suite on the return trip home. Both rooms were clean and comfortable with kitchen accommodations and free continental breakfast was included. Room prices were very reasonable or only 7,500 Marriott points.The hotel is pet friendly and charges a $75.00 fee at check-in which is fully refunded at checkout providing there is no damage to the room. There were no hassles at checkout and the pet fee was refunded without question.

There is ample free parking with plenty of room for anyone towing a trailer. The hotel is conveniently located adjacent to a shopping plaza which contains a bank, gas station, several fast-food and sit-down restaurants, Starbucks, Petco, Tractor Supply and other retail establishments.

Overall we had a pleasant stay and the staff was friendly and helpful. The only negative was that the hotel is cheaply constructed and consequently the noise levels in the hallways and in the rooms above we're a bit distracting but not unlike other similar hotels in this class.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrook
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at this property on the way to and from Myrtle Beach, a nice break in the trip. Had a 2 bdr suite with the CAA rate was 121$ Usual fare from Marriott, clean and comfy, just what was needed. Full kitchen which is handy as there is a wicked good grocery store MARTINS in the parking lot, perfect for a family not wanting to eat in a restaurant. Within walking distance to a decent bar, 2 pizza joints, Sonic drive thru. East on/off to I81 exit 315. Very basic breakfast DONT expect a big buffet, good for a quick start. Pet friendly. A note to management however. On both stays staff were noticed smoking beside the entrance door, perhaps give them a more discreet area. Some guests were visibly upset that there was no one at the checkout desk at 730 on a Sat. morning, when in fact the clerk was outside smoking. Will stay here again if I need a 2 bdr.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This our first time at a town place by Marriott. We stumbled upon it on our way to Florida. The place was a pleasant surprise for the money. Very much up to Marriott standards. The room was well supplied with refrig, microwave, sink and all the necessaries to prepare food in the room if you wish. Clean, comfortable and updated. The location was okay if this is for a stop along the way. Plenty of suitable eating establishments nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed here for approx 7.5 hours on the way home from a trip to Charlotte NC. I was using points, and the number of required points was really low, so I said what the heck. I really wasn't expecting much, but I was really surprised when I saw the room. It was kind of like a studio apartment, with bright and colorful furnishings. Full size fridge, stove, etc. Like I said, I didn't have much time to enjoy the place, but it sure seemed nice. It also included continental breakfast, which looked pretty standard for one of these places.

Oh, and if you happen to be traveling from the NYC area to Charlotte, this is roughly the halfway mark, and a good place to stop and recharge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had occasion to stop twice at this cozy and comfortable motel. Studio room ($99) has a king bed, microwave, stove top, fridge, dishwasher, and dishes. They accept pets. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are spotless and well maintained. Big plus was being pet friendly.
In you are passing by the Winchester area and need a place to rest your weary bones give this place a try. Free buffet. Great coffee!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel while in town for an event. Easy access from I-81. Parking lot was very large. We did notice on our way into the hotel that the door was not automatic and had to be pushed open.

Upon arrival, the front desk person was very friendly and helpful. Found our reservation quickly and told us about breakfast. The room was nice and had everything we needed. Kitchen area was equipped with all utensils and cookware as well as a toaster and coffee pot. The king bed was very comfortable and had a sofa bed as well. Bathroom was very clean and contained all necessities. The only complaint here was the sound-proofing between the rooms was not great. We could hear guests in other rooms late into the night

All areas of the hotel that we saw looked clean and well maintained. No complaints. The breakfast area was small, but there was hardly anyone in there when we went to eat. Choices for breakfast were bagels, muffins, waffles, yogurt, fruit, hard boiled eggs, cereal (need some healthier choices), sausage biscuits, juice, Milk, and coffee. You won't go hungry.

Everyone we talked to working at the hotel was helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Winchester

Address: 170 Getty Lane, Winchester, VA 22603
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Winchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Winchester Hotel Winchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.