We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one problem” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Winchester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites Winchester to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Winchester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Getty Lane, Winchester, VA 22603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Pittsford, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Only one problem”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I would have given this property the highest rating, except for one glaring problem. The access for handicapped folks is awful. Can't understand the lack of automatic doors. For other hoteliers, this would be unacceptable. For a Marriott property fewer than five years old, it is unthinkable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    73
    29
    9
    10
See reviews for
75
57
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
459 reviews 459 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 201 cities Reviews in 201 cities
341 helpful votes 341 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We've come to depend on Marriott properties as we travel, and we are rarely disappointed. The room we had here was large and comfortable. The only gripe I have with all of these hotels is that the windows only open a crack, and I would like to have more of the night air when I sleep. Breakfast here was the usual free breakfast and was ample. The workout room had free weights, which was welcome. This is a newish property practically in a shopping center.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONG ISLAND
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

not sure what was going on but they had housekeeping working until after 8 pm on Fri- they were vacuuming the room next to ours. The walls are a bit thin- beds ok. I wish they had more than 1 bathroom in the 2 br suite. Breakfast was fair- waffles, cereal fruit yogurt and jimmy dean sandwiches- wish they had more selection- staff was friendly enough

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peapack, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on our way to NJ. We had our two dogs and the experience was great from the time we checked in! Such a courteous staff and the suites are clean, well equipped and so comfortable! This is a great value for sure. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

On arriving at this hotel, the grounds are well-kept, the lobby is clean & attractive. The front desk personnel is friendly & accommodating. That's where it stops. The hallway carpeting was stained & dirty. The guest rooms are in real need of updating. The kitchenette cabinets & floors were dirty (felt the need to wash any glass or plate used from the cabinets). Had the need to move both the occasional chair & sofa bed in the living area & found trash left from the previous guests. Carpeting was stained in the living are & bedroom. This hotel is a pet friendly on all floors, although we have pets of our own, we do not appreciate this hotels standard of each floor being pet friendly & NOT changing top bedding between guests. (Woke up to previous guests pet hair in our mouths, a pretty nasty situation.) Our room remained this way during our entire stay, even after requesting housekeeping clean the room more thoroughly & to change the top bedding. Outdoor pool seemed appealing until we saw that the pool liner seemed filthy. Had reserved for four nights but left after the third night. We have future reservations at a Townplace Suites in NC but have decided to cancel those reservations & stay at another hotel. (Spoke with the general manager after our stay & she did award us 5,000 reward points for our displeasure. Although that did not change our opinion of this hotel.)

Room Tip: Request pet free room (or do not stay here).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

As a person who spends 60 nights a year in hotels, this is the worst Marriott property I have ever been too. First, don't let the beautiful outside fool you. The checkin process was way slow, no big deal. Upon arriving in the room, the window looking outside was all child fingerprints, smudges, and even lip marks. It appeared that it hadn't been cleaned in months. All of the dirt and clouding on it didn't come from the last guest, or even the last week. The clock was flashing, hairs all over the shower walls, ceiling light in bathroom not working, which made me notice that the ventilation fan hadn't been cleaned in years, if ever. Could it get worse, yes. Down to fitness center for a walk. First teeadmill kept stopping for no reason and resetting. No biggie, I'll just use the other one. TV not working on that one, no video input. I would say this hotel is a few years old, and the housekeeping department has never thoroughly cleaned anything. As far as maintenance, I doubt I'm the first person to report thetreadmills. Like some others have said, staff is real friendly, but that doesn't translate to a good stay. A real disappointment for a Marriott property. My first experience with a TownPlace Suites, and last.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I recently spent a long weekend at this establishment and have both positive and negative things to share about it.

Positive:
We were traveling with our dog and were quite happy to find a place that is pet friendly; however, if you are not a fan of dogs and other pets, your feelings about the hotel’s pet policy may differ from mine. Also, dogs are allowed at the pool area, but have to remain on leash; this was nice because it gave our dog a chance to get some fresh air. (We chose a time when the pool wasn’t busy to take advantage of this. We didn’t want to disturb or inconvenience other guests.) People were very responsible when it came to their pets; I didn’t hear any dogs barking during our stay, and saw a lot of owners picking up after their dogs.

The location of the hotel was wonderful for our purposes. It is approximately three miles from Old Town Winchester. It is also less than three miles from several grocery stores; therefore, you can easily pick up groceries and use your in-suite kitchen. For those who enjoy wineries, keep in mind that you are only 20 minutes from Veramar Vineyard, which was an excellent find. There are also tons of other wineries for you to choose from.

We were able to get a great price on the room through Marriott’s web site. This was an added bonus.

Negative:
While our suite appeared to be clean, I noticed that some items could have used additional attention. For example, my dog dropped dog food on the kitchen floor, and when I wiped it up with a wet paper towel, I saw that the towel was extremely dirty from the floor itself. Also, something was splattered on one of the lights in the kitchen, but never cleaned.

Overall:
Overall, if I were traveling with my dog again and in the area, I would stay at this hotel. If you are looking for perfection though, then this may not be the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to TownePlace Suites Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Winchester

Address: 170 Getty Lane, Winchester, VA 22603
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Winchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your TownePlace Suites Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Winchester Hotel Winchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.