We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Winchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites Winchester to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Winchester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Getty Lane, Winchester, VA 22603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Peapack, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Such a pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on our way to NJ. We had our two dogs and the experience was great from the time we checked in! Such a courteous staff and the suites are clean, well equipped and so comfortable! This is a great value for sure. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    63
    23
    9
    9
See reviews for
69
47
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

On arriving at this hotel, the grounds are well-kept, the lobby is clean & attractive. The front desk personnel is friendly & accommodating. That's where it stops. The hallway carpeting was stained & dirty. The guest rooms are in real need of updating. The kitchenette cabinets & floors were dirty (felt the need to wash any glass or plate used from the cabinets). Had the need to move both the occasional chair & sofa bed in the living area & found trash left from the previous guests. Carpeting was stained in the living are & bedroom. This hotel is a pet friendly on all floors, although we have pets of our own, we do not appreciate this hotels standard of each floor being pet friendly & NOT changing top bedding between guests. (Woke up to previous guests pet hair in our mouths, a pretty nasty situation.) Our room remained this way during our entire stay, even after requesting housekeeping clean the room more thoroughly & to change the top bedding. Outdoor pool seemed appealing until we saw that the pool liner seemed filthy. Had reserved for four nights but left after the third night. We have future reservations at a Townplace Suites in NC but have decided to cancel those reservations & stay at another hotel. (Spoke with the general manager after our stay & she did award us 5,000 reward points for our displeasure. Although that did not change our opinion of this hotel.)

Room Tip: Request pet free room (or do not stay here).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

As a person who spends 60 nights a year in hotels, this is the worst Marriott property I have ever been too. First, don't let the beautiful outside fool you. The checkin process was way slow, no big deal. Upon arriving in the room, the window looking outside was all child fingerprints, smudges, and even lip marks. It appeared that it hadn't been cleaned in months. All of the dirt and clouding on it didn't come from the last guest, or even the last week. The clock was flashing, hairs all over the shower walls, ceiling light in bathroom not working, which made me notice that the ventilation fan hadn't been cleaned in years, if ever. Could it get worse, yes. Down to fitness center for a walk. First teeadmill kept stopping for no reason and resetting. No biggie, I'll just use the other one. TV not working on that one, no video input. I would say this hotel is a few years old, and the housekeeping department has never thoroughly cleaned anything. As far as maintenance, I doubt I'm the first person to report thetreadmills. Like some others have said, staff is real friendly, but that doesn't translate to a good stay. A real disappointment for a Marriott property. My first experience with a TownPlace Suites, and last.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I recently spent a long weekend at this establishment and have both positive and negative things to share about it.

Positive:
We were traveling with our dog and were quite happy to find a place that is pet friendly; however, if you are not a fan of dogs and other pets, your feelings about the hotel’s pet policy may differ from mine. Also, dogs are allowed at the pool area, but have to remain on leash; this was nice because it gave our dog a chance to get some fresh air. (We chose a time when the pool wasn’t busy to take advantage of this. We didn’t want to disturb or inconvenience other guests.) People were very responsible when it came to their pets; I didn’t hear any dogs barking during our stay, and saw a lot of owners picking up after their dogs.

The location of the hotel was wonderful for our purposes. It is approximately three miles from Old Town Winchester. It is also less than three miles from several grocery stores; therefore, you can easily pick up groceries and use your in-suite kitchen. For those who enjoy wineries, keep in mind that you are only 20 minutes from Veramar Vineyard, which was an excellent find. There are also tons of other wineries for you to choose from.

We were able to get a great price on the room through Marriott’s web site. This was an added bonus.

Negative:
While our suite appeared to be clean, I noticed that some items could have used additional attention. For example, my dog dropped dog food on the kitchen floor, and when I wiped it up with a wet paper towel, I saw that the towel was extremely dirty from the floor itself. Also, something was splattered on one of the lights in the kitchen, but never cleaned.

Overall:
Overall, if I were traveling with my dog again and in the area, I would stay at this hotel. If you are looking for perfection though, then this may not be the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel had some of the friendliest people at the desk that we have ever encountered in our travels. They did have recognition of our Platinum status & our requests of a room on a higher floor away from the elevator was honored. We were in room 408(king studio with a sofa bed). It had a kitchen with nice Whirlpool microwave, dishwasher, regular refrigerator & stovetop and was stocked with utensils, etc. The room appeared to have new carpet but the mattress on the bed was way too soft for our liking although the bedding was very clean & fresh. The bathroom had a tub/shower combo, good lighting, fan, smallish vanity & really clean but towels were poor quality. The parking lot was large & well lit and they have a nice outside area with tables and grill. Breakfast was so-so but do have a waffle maker. We would definitely stay here again if in the area!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here on the way to Virginia Beach and on the way home. Both times we were greeted with smiling faces! The room was clean and worked perfectly for our family of four. My kids used the pull out bed. The space between the bed and the pull out bed is minimal, but we weren't staying long in the room, so we pulled it out only when it was bed time. The breakfast was good and fed us enough to get moving both mornings. We will definitely consider staying here again the next time we pass through Winchester.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stopped here on our way back to Pennsylvania from North Carolina. Our group consisted of 10 people, including two children, and we also had a small dog along. We had three rooms and got them for a great price. Honestly, for the price (only $76 a night), this place could not be beat! It was clean, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful (despite the fact that there weren't a lot of staff since this isn't a full service hotel, and the amenities were decent. I loved the full kitchen (which helped a ton since we have small children). The beds, including the sofa bed, were quite comfortable.

There is an outdoor pool, which was small but nice. The water was fairly cold, but we just got back from swimming in 84 degree + water in the ocean, so maybe it just felt cold. The fitness center was adequate for a hotel this size; my brother-in-law was thrilled that there were actually free weights. The elliptical looked old but was actually new, and it had a TV. Breakfast included waffles (which the Fairfield Inn we stayed at on our way there didn't have), so my kids were happy.

The only way I knew this place was dog friendly was that I occasionally heard a dog bark, but it didn't smell or anything. As other posters have mentioned, there were some signs of wear and tear (a few carpet stains, some dings in the walls), but otherwise it was fine. The hotel is tough to see from the road, but it's quite easy to get to off of I-81. It's near a Sonic, Starbucks, Little Caesar's, a local Italian place, and a Martin's grocery store (which is also known as Giant up in south central PA where I used to live).

The hotel was full but didn't seem busy; I think there are a lot of long term residents there (which is what it's designed for). It was a nice change from the hordes of other travelers we're used to seeing on the road and at our hotel stops.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Winchester

Address: 170 Getty Lane, Winchester, VA 22603
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Winchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Winchester Hotel Winchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.