We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and pleasant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Winchester

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites Winchester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Winchester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Getty Lane, Winchester, VA 22603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #15 of 27 hotels in Winchester
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean and pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our drive up to NY and also on the drive back down. Both times, it did not disappoint. I'm a stickler for cleanliness so this place definitely passed my test. The rooms were spacious and pleasant. The breakfast offerings satisfied our two very picky daughters (12 and 7). The price was reasonable. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip up north.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    59
    21
    8
    7
See reviews for
62
45
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed for one night with a dog, two adults and a child. We got great tips for outside dining. The room was very clean, also was the pool. The staff was very friendly. We enjoyed staying there and can highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My family had a 3-night stay in one of their accessible 2-bedroom suites. The room and hotel had everything we needed and expected. The room was large and clean with all updates. There were 3-32" flat-panel TVs, 1 in each bedroom and 1 in the living area which allowed the family to each watch their shows as if we were home. There was a full kitchen with a 4-burner stove, full refrigerator and dishwasher. I did utilize all to prepare lunches with no problem. There were 3 pans, 2 of which were scratched up, but I've experienced this in all rental homes or hotels with fully-equipped kitchens. We utilized the work-out room and outdoor pool. The pool looked unappealing from the room windows, but when you get down there, it's clean and enjoyable. Looks like a paint job would pretty it up, but the kids had no complaints. The work-out room had 2 treadmills and an elliptical, each with a TV attached. Towels and water were available and temperature was nice and cool.

Service was great. Nothing above and beyond, but needs were met with a smile. Friendly check-in, friendly during request for a late check-out, proficient house-keeping and breakfast staff. They kept everything fully stocked with a positive attitude. That can be hard to find sometimes.

Location was good. Right off I-81. Nearby, there is a Japanese Steakhouse that we went to, Sonics, Waffle House, Walgreens and more. The strip mall nearby also had a grocery store and PetCo. Target, Wal-mart and the mall were about 10 minutes away, one exit south. That exit was closer to everything but probably had more traffic.

All in all, a great stay. We would definitely return to this hotel if ever in the area!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We received a very warm greeting on arrival/check-in. Unfortunately, there were some problems with the room we were given; however, the manager quickly corrected the problem and got us another room. The room was clean and well equipped for a short stay. There was a very small outdoor pool. Since the interior of the property is non-smoking, we did encounter some problems with people smoking directly outside the entrance doors. The entire property needs to be non-smoking, not just the interior. The breakfast was very basic, not as many options as some other TownePlace Suites at which we have stayed. The location of the hotel is very good - close to stores, restaurants, services, and I-81. We would consider staying here again when in the area.

Room Tip: Get a room on an upper floor and away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed one night with family including 5 yr old and 1 yr old. Room was just right. Used pull out bed which had a good mattress, not thin at all. Staff had pack-n-play set up for us, which may not seem like a big deal, but we have been to many higher level hotels that don't have it ready, and the baby is ready to sleep. So, yes, this was good. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was good. Everything was very clean. Pool and pool area were clean. I will say walls and floors are a bit thin. We could hear a lot of walking in room above us. Also mattress was a little soft for my liking. Location was fine for our purpose (short distance from downtown). All in all a good place for a stay. I have to add, don't understand why people are trying to compare it to other brands within the Marriott chain - it is designed for a specific purpose and price point is indicative of what you will receive for that price. It should be reviewed in the context of what it is supposed to be.

Room Tip: Try for top floor so you don't have noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel on our way to NY and the location was very convenient. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was the typical Marriott variety. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Danmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night and had two king studio rooms.
Very nice rooms which were clean and good size. Nice with the swimmingpool outside
Breakfast was not great, but better than other places we have seen of this kind.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TownePlace Suites Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Winchester

Address: 170 Getty Lane, Winchester, VA 22603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Winchester 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your TownePlace Suites Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Winchester Hotel Winchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.