We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pet friendly place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Winchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites Winchester to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Winchester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Getty Lane, Winchester, VA 22603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
2 reviews
“Great pet friendly place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night with a dog, two adults and a child. We got great tips for outside dining. The room was very clean, also was the pool. The staff was very friendly. We enjoyed staying there and can highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    75
    31
    11
    10
See reviews for
77
59
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My family had a 3-night stay in one of their accessible 2-bedroom suites. The room and hotel had everything we needed and expected. The room was large and clean with all updates. There were 3-32" flat-panel TVs, 1 in each bedroom and 1 in the living area which allowed the family to each watch their shows as if we were home. There was a full kitchen with a 4-burner stove, full refrigerator and dishwasher. I did utilize all to prepare lunches with no problem. There were 3 pans, 2 of which were scratched up, but I've experienced this in all rental homes or hotels with fully-equipped kitchens. We utilized the work-out room and outdoor pool. The pool looked unappealing from the room windows, but when you get down there, it's clean and enjoyable. Looks like a paint job would pretty it up, but the kids had no complaints. The work-out room had 2 treadmills and an elliptical, each with a TV attached. Towels and water were available and temperature was nice and cool.

Service was great. Nothing above and beyond, but needs were met with a smile. Friendly check-in, friendly during request for a late check-out, proficient house-keeping and breakfast staff. They kept everything fully stocked with a positive attitude. That can be hard to find sometimes.

Location was good. Right off I-81. Nearby, there is a Japanese Steakhouse that we went to, Sonics, Waffle House, Walgreens and more. The strip mall nearby also had a grocery store and PetCo. Target, Wal-mart and the mall were about 10 minutes away, one exit south. That exit was closer to everything but probably had more traffic.

All in all, a great stay. We would definitely return to this hotel if ever in the area!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We received a very warm greeting on arrival/check-in. Unfortunately, there were some problems with the room we were given; however, the manager quickly corrected the problem and got us another room. The room was clean and well equipped for a short stay. There was a very small outdoor pool. Since the interior of the property is non-smoking, we did encounter some problems with people smoking directly outside the entrance doors. The entire property needs to be non-smoking, not just the interior. The breakfast was very basic, not as many options as some other TownePlace Suites at which we have stayed. The location of the hotel is very good - close to stores, restaurants, services, and I-81. We would consider staying here again when in the area.

Room Tip: Get a room on an upper floor and away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed one night with family including 5 yr old and 1 yr old. Room was just right. Used pull out bed which had a good mattress, not thin at all. Staff had pack-n-play set up for us, which may not seem like a big deal, but we have been to many higher level hotels that don't have it ready, and the baby is ready to sleep. So, yes, this was good. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was good. Everything was very clean. Pool and pool area were clean. I will say walls and floors are a bit thin. We could hear a lot of walking in room above us. Also mattress was a little soft for my liking. Location was fine for our purpose (short distance from downtown). All in all a good place for a stay. I have to add, don't understand why people are trying to compare it to other brands within the Marriott chain - it is designed for a specific purpose and price point is indicative of what you will receive for that price. It should be reviewed in the context of what it is supposed to be.

Room Tip: Try for top floor so you don't have noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel on our way to NY and the location was very convenient. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was the typical Marriott variety. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Danmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night and had two king studio rooms.
Very nice rooms which were clean and good size. Nice with the swimmingpool outside
Breakfast was not great, but better than other places we have seen of this kind.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was our first experience with this brand from Marriott and will not reserve at this brand again. The building is constructed more like an apartment building than a hotel with narrow hallways and doorways. The first thing we noticed was the stench of cigar smoke outside by the entrance and found out later that the owner or manager smokes them. The rooms were small by comparison but were clean and comfortable with a full kitchen. The TV was an HD TV but was not able to receive HD content.
I gave it an average rating only because others may not mind these problems I listed, but for me, it's "no go."

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
5.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
3.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Winchester
2.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Winchester
Candlewood Suites Winchester
#14 of 27 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#3 of 27 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Winchester

Address: 170 Getty Lane, Winchester, VA 22603
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Winchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your TownePlace Suites Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Winchester Hotel Winchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.