We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Winchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites Winchester to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Winchester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Getty Lane, Winchester, VA 22603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice, clean stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed one night with family including 5 yr old and 1 yr old. Room was just right. Used pull out bed which had a good mattress, not thin at all. Staff had pack-n-play set up for us, which may not seem like a big deal, but we have been to many higher level hotels that don't have it ready, and the baby is ready to sleep. So, yes, this was good. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was good. Everything was very clean. Pool and pool area were clean. I will say walls and floors are a bit thin. We could hear a lot of walking in room above us. Also mattress was a little soft for my liking. Location was fine for our purpose (short distance from downtown). All in all a good place for a stay. I have to add, don't understand why people are trying to compare it to other brands within the Marriott chain - it is designed for a specific purpose and price point is indicative of what you will receive for that price. It should be reviewed in the context of what it is supposed to be.

Room Tip: Try for top floor so you don't have noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    72
    27
    9
    10
See reviews for
75
52
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel on our way to NY and the location was very convenient. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was the typical Marriott variety. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Danmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night and had two king studio rooms.
Very nice rooms which were clean and good size. Nice with the swimmingpool outside
Breakfast was not great, but better than other places we have seen of this kind.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was our first experience with this brand from Marriott and will not reserve at this brand again. The building is constructed more like an apartment building than a hotel with narrow hallways and doorways. The first thing we noticed was the stench of cigar smoke outside by the entrance and found out later that the owner or manager smokes them. The rooms were small by comparison but were clean and comfortable with a full kitchen. The TV was an HD TV but was not able to receive HD content.
I gave it an average rating only because others may not mind these problems I listed, but for me, it's "no go."

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel is OK for 1 or 2 nights but not much longer. These Towne Place Inns are the el cheapo version of the Residence Inn- OK but that's about it.

The "kitchen" is just a microwave, 2 burner stove with no oven, refrig & small sink. There was NO table to sit at to eat. Instead a hassock served as a table. The TV was HDTV but on the small side. the bed was comfortable. The floors were cheapo fake hardwood floors.

The front desk had a sheet with all nearby restaurants, phone #'s & addresses but no directions. They did give us an excellent recommendation for an Italian restaurant that was excellent.

The pool was very small & we didn't use it.

In short for the less than $100 we paid for less than 24 hours it was OK but I much prefer the Residence Inn. I would definitley go back for a quick stay if in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My family and I just stayed there. Super clean, convenient, really nice staff, practical outdoor pool. We will definitely stay there again. Breakfast is included and was better than usual. Really perfect stopping place for anyone.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

So clean! Awesome service! My husband and I just stayed for one night while passing through VA- was just what we needed after a long day of driving! They are cat friendly! They also give you a %10 discount for AAA members. The room was sooo nice and worth way more than we paid for!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Winchester

Address: 170 Getty Lane, Winchester, VA 22603
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Winchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your TownePlace Suites Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Winchester Hotel Winchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.