We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Winchester

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites Winchester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Winchester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Getty Lane, Winchester, VA 22603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #16 of 27 hotels in Winchester
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great place to stay enroute to our home in Mass from Florida. One complaint this time....carpeting in front of first floor elevator entrance was stained and dirty looking....very unusual for a Marriott property. It did look like it had been there awhile....otherwise everything else nice and clean. When you see something like this it always makes you take a 2nd look around.

Room Tip: We had a high floor, very nice and quiet...short walk to parking lot and convenient elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    60
    21
    9
    9
See reviews for
66
45
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed here overnight. The king room with a sofa bed was clean but very cozy. The air conditioner was along side the sofa bed which made for a chilly night for my daughter. The bed was very comfortable. The king room would better accommodate a couple, but in a pinch ask for an extra blanket. I didn't care for the mirror facing the toilet! The staff were very attentive and friendly. The pool was clean. The complimentary breakfast included microwave sausage/egg and bacon/egg sandwiches. A non-meat option would have been nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

TownPlace Suites is clean, comfortable & convenient for visiting Winchester and the surrounding area. Although we didn't bring our German Shepherd this trip, it is a pet-friendly hotel and we saw many happy and well-behaved pets visiting. Our room was spotless, the bed comfortable (if a bit on the soft side) and the bathroom was well-supplied with soap, shampoo, and even make-up remover towelettes.

Staff at reception and elsewhere were friendly and helpful.

We spent two nights and enjoyed the complimentary coffee and breakfast each day. Again, breakfast was as you'd expect from this Marriott property: cereals, yogurt, breakfast sandwiches, and the like. Great for a quick bite and off to the days activities.

If you're looking for a nice, affordable and pet-friendly hotel for a short stay this TownePlace Suites fits the bill.

Room Tip: A variety of restaurants and shops are right next to this hotel in a large shopping center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We recently stayed for 4 nights and couldn't have asked for better service! The staff was always smiling and willing to help. This is the 3rd year we have stayed at this hotel and have never had anything to complain about.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Located just off 81, the hotel seemed convenient for everything we needed to do in the area: wedding and visiting with family and kids. It appears to be a well done renovation of an older property--everything was clean and comfortable. Nice work out facilities, fully equipped mini kitchen. Our room was a two bedroom suite with a mini-kitchen and a living room. Free internet, flat screen TVs and a generous breakfast bar. Friendly, helpful staff. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here for one night on leisure. I requested a crib/pack n play for our 18 month old when we reserved the room a month out. Upon check-in, the young gal said the "crib should be in the room"......however it wasn't. No big deal, we called down and she said she'd send one up. She calls back to say they only have TWO CRIBS in the whole 120+ room hotel and they were being used. I said I'm a Marriott Gold and this isn't my first rodeo -- call around to another hotel and borrow one or go buy one. To this gals credit she called her GM, who essentially told me our options were to deal or go to another hotel.

I travel a lot with kids and this is the only time i have run into this incompetence -- and with a GM no less.

Beyond this, the room had black hairs all over the tub (we're blond) and the fold out couch had hairs too. The sleeper couch blanket was awfull -- had hairs, smelly, dirty, and not acceptable. I called downstairs and they had no others to send up.

The hotel front desk staff were pretty rude overall -- no "hi" or "thanks for staying" or even a good bye???

The place is relatively new and they have nice appliances with a comfortable bed and a decent breakfast.

My take is the owners are a small business that doesn't know customer service, have no money to buy extra cribs or blankets, or how to hire people that understand service.

Room Tip: Hire a new General Manager and audit your housekeeping to ensure basic cleanliness standards are app...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naperville, il
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Spent 1 night on way to Virginia Beach.
Hotel was decent, morning breakfast was good.
Pool is outdoor and we all enjoyed.
Has no hottub/jaccuzzi.
rooms were clean and marriott quality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TownePlace Suites Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Winchester

Address: 170 Getty Lane, Winchester, VA 22603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Winchester 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your TownePlace Suites Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Winchester Hotel Winchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.