We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fairfield Inn version of a Residence Inn or similar extended stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Winchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites Winchester to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Winchester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Getty Lane, Winchester, VA 22603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Tampa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Fairfield Inn version of a Residence Inn or similar extended stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I guess I just don't get excited about a clean room, comfortable bed, TV with all the channels, etc. Umm...these are sort of basic expectations, right? Even at a lower price point, I still expect my comforter to be washed (no unwashed coffee stains from previous guests), unspoiled food out of the food freezer, hi-speed wi-fi that is and most of all service. Personnel who when asked know the answer or tell you they don't and then take the initiative to find out.

I knew I was taking a risk. I wanted a Residence Inn, but there are none in this area. Tempted by the idea of a kitchen (didn't read the fine print...full kitchen ONLY in 2-bedroom), I took a chance. Luckily, I realized it was a chance and still booked a dual reservation for night 2 and beyond at a nearby Courtyard. We'll be moving there tomorrow.

Maybe I just hit them on a bad day --but, if you are used to full service hotels or the "full service business" hotel like a Courtyard you are probably not going to be thrilled. This was like a Farfield Inn version of a Residence Inn.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    66
    23
    9
    10
See reviews for
70
49
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

So glad I downloaded the app and found the reviews of this location! I was headed to NEPA a few days earlier and stayed at a competitor's location on the way up that I did not like at all. I knew I'd want to do another overnight on the way back home so looked to see what else was in the area. When I saw the reviews for TownePlace I knew that would be the best bet. I was not disappointed!

Great staff, sizeable room with fully equipped kitchen, tons of storage if you're staying for an extended stay, and a decent breakfast for free!! The bed was a bit soft, but I will still choose this location again if in the area.

Someone else said better signage is needed. I totally agree as there really is none at all, but until that changes, turn in where the strip mall for the Walmart is and follow Getty Lane to the property.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, SC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

This has all that you can ask for in an overnite stopping point. Clean, comfortable beds. Full-size fridge, big micro, kitchen sink. Nice LCD TV with HBO and plenty of channels. Desk to do your work and wireless high speed Internet. No restaurants at which to get a beer at the end of the day within walking distance but good breakfast in morning including make your own waffles. Staff was very nice and fitness room had new equipment.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

If I hadn't used my gps, this place is tough to find. Better signage is needed. However, these suites are only about 6 months old and in excellent shape. They are fully equipped, like a studio apt.. If you need a full kitchen, this is a more economical choice than say Residence Inn. The rooms are smaller than a Residence Inn, but still comfortable. I found the air conditioner a bit noisier than comparable hotels, there was only an ice machine on the first floor, and the coffee was a bit weak. Other than these small issues, it was a very nice stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was standard Marriott fare, with make your own waffles, biscuits, yogurt, bagels, etc. There is an outdoor (unseated) pool and an exercise room. If you are looking for a studio apt. type stay, this is a good choice.

Room Tip: They have several handicap accessible rooms, including people with hearing issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Near I-81, but lacking a sign on SR7, it was a bit hard to find, but worth it. It is located at the edge of a large shopping mall, which can be useful.

The staff were very good, and the suites are like studio apts, fully equipped. If you want to visit DC, but see the historic countryside, this is a good spot.

We found the room a bit overheated at night, but we have no real complaints.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Spent one night at this nearly new hotel. Stayed in a regular suite that was still good size and very, very CLEAN! Very quiet, too. Front desk was welcoming. Will continue to use this place as I travel between NY and SC. Oh, and the price is RIGHT!

Room Tip: I always request a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selma,NC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We have been so blessed to find such wonderful lodging that is also pet friendly. We enjoy the racing at Charles Town, but it took awhile to find a place that didn't charge an arm and a leg for an accompanying pet. The facility is always spotless, the service is great, and the location makes it easy to explore sites such as Gettysburg, Leesburg, etc.
We have stayed at TownePlace Suites 4 times in the last year and never had a bad experience. As an extra bonus the coffee in the lobby is always ready and hot !
There is a grocery story within walking distance for additional convenience.

Room Tip: If your pet is like our beagle and does not like elevators, you might want a room on the first or se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Winchester

Address: 170 Getty Lane, Winchester, VA 22603
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Winchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Winchester Hotel Winchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.