We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, trendy, noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of aloft Winchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added aloft Winchester to your Saves list
aloft Winchester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1055 Milwood Pike, Rt. 50 East, Winchester, VA 22602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice, trendy, noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Locates so close to the main highway, you can hear every truck getting to the intersection outside. The wall must be made of cardboard as I can hear the giggles of a couple having fun. It is probably 2 floors above me and 3 rooms overs but you still can hear. Hard to get some rest. Beside that, the decor is identical to other Aloft - very nice.
The bedroom is very spacious with 2 queen beds.
Mini bar is empty so it is just a fridge and no room service :-(
Bed is firm but comfortable. Gym is simple and but running on the tread mill looking out the window isn't so great. The vue is directly onto the trash cans. Wish they had etched glass.
Non smoking so it feels nice and clean overall.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    115
    46
    23
    7
See reviews for
89
123
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were tired, heading out of D.C. and wanted a clean, comfortable place to sleep. We came across the town of Winchester, VA - pulled over and looked over our options. One of the well rated hotels with very reasonable rates was Aloft - so we took a chance and called for a reservation. When we arrived, we were pleased at this hip, modern hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful --- and we LOVED our room! Very unique, clean, comfortable - and I wished we could stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at aloft Winchester, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear luvstojeep,
Thank you for choosing Aloft Hotels. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and loved the hotel and team we've employed here. Thanks so much for your positive feedback. We hope to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Eh, very weird hotel. We're Starwood members and I'll admit I hate the W hotel chain and Aloft is a "vision of W Hotels". However, we were travelling with our dog and the location is a perfect overnight.

First, we checked in and with our dog went to our room. Opps, they gave us a room already occupied. Creepy and annoying! That was a first.

Ok, got a new room. These rooms are super ugly, office lighting, but whatever. Very thin walls, your dog will not sleep well keeping guard. You won't sleep well, crappy beds, cement pillows. What is the weird idea of a window to the shower? So stupid, so W hotels.

I understand they have college kids living there. That explains the boys carrying cases of beer in the elevator. Again, weird.

The termastat didn't work, the a/c was noisy and spuratic. The room wasn't very clean...really, dental floss stuck to the wall near the floor..gross. Housekeeping needs a bit more attention.

The next morning discovered no coffee packets by the coffee maker. "We're all out" they said. Well great, that just was the icing on the cake.

May not be worth accruing starwood points even if travelling with our dog. Just weird. I will say though, the staff was pleasant. I bet it's an embarrasing place to work for!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at aloft Winchester, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear teaaek,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay in Winchester. We're sorry to hear that this stay did not meet your expectations and do encourage you to try our other 8 lifestyle brands. Aloft Hotels is very different in design featuring urban, loft-inspired open spaces and caters to the tech savvy, self sufficient travelers. This brand may not be the best fit for your travel style, however, that is why Starwood has 8 other unique lifestyle brands for you to choose from! Thanks again for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

So I got the Groupon for two nights, was in Winchester to visit family. I was traveling with my sister and our two kids, ages four and two. Checked in the first night around 10pm. There was a live singer in the lobby, as loud as any bar I have ever been to. Trying to communicate with the guy checking me in was interesting, basically yelling in each others faces, like at a bar. Fortunately, by the time I was checked in and got the kids in, the set was over. It was the most unprofessional customer service I have ever experienced, though I don't fault the hotel employee he seemed irritated too. Room was okay, super modern like other reviewers said, not a super comfortable bed, but clean and above average hotel coffee.

Next night we drive up, it's about 9pm and there looks to be a full on night club in the lobby. Fortunately we could take the kids through a side entrance, while getting them out of the car there were some boys chasing other boys through the parking lot, not playing tag. The hallways were very loud, it sounded like the party downstairs had carried up to some of the rooms. It was disturbing for us because we had the kids. When we got back to the room housekeeping had come, kind of. There were fresh towels but the beds weren't made. There was one new complimentary bottle of water, and the other was half empty with the complimentary tag placed on it. We didn't know if it was one we didn't finish or if housekeeping had it on the cart or what! Are those policy's or was our housekeeper trying to hurry to get ready for the party?

Okay so when we go to check out the most professional and nicest girl helped us, actually all the staff was good, she just didn't have to scream over any live music. So if your kids are twenty-one or over this may be the place for you, if you have little ones I'd pick another hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to be as far from the lobby as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at aloft Winchester, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear sarelli15,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent trip to Winchester with the family. We're sorry to hear your recent visit did not meet your expectations. Aloft Hotels does promote a social vibe allowing our travelers to meet, mix, and mingle with each other. That being said, it should never seem like a "night club" and we will definitely take a look at our volume levels and adjust. Our guest rooms feature platform beds which do take some getting used to if you normally sleep on a boxspring bed. We apologize for the housekeeping service you received. We will take your comments back to our team and re-educate them with the guest room standards and expectations. Thanks again for sharing and we hope this experience does not deter you to try us out again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
205 hotel reviews
Reviews in 218 cities Reviews in 218 cities
1,226 helpful votes 1,226 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is a typical Aloft and pretty new looking. Hotel is in great shape with nice pool and gym. Big breakfast area for the morning and overall appearance is quite good. Secure parking lot, well lit, and rooms are in pretty good shape. I would stay here again. Economical price for a hotel that is better than economical.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at aloft Winchester, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Larry8421,
Thank you for your positive feedback. We're happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the value. We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is not your basic chain hotel by any stretch of the imagination. The decor is more postmodern, or, as one reviewer said, cold and industrial. Yes. And interesting. The design of the room is efficient and attractive. Nice public facilities including indoor pool, bar, and snack area with reasonably priced snacks.

The bed was comfortable. I could have used more towels and coffee. In summary, this hotel offers good value for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at aloft Winchester, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear WVUNeal,
Thank you for your positive feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and our loft-inspired decor. We hope you stay with us again the next time you're in the Winchester area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was to be my wife's birthday weekend with friends and we got a Groupon for 2 nights stay for a wine tasting weekend. The hotel is modern looking, maybe a little too modern for us. The rooms are sparsely furnished, just an office chair to sit on and a king bed. The bed was comfortable for sleeping or maybe it was the wine that put us down for the night. Very modern, plenty of outlets for plugging in any number of items from cell phones to laptops. Large flat screen TV on the wall, but the picture was washout because not every channel is in HD.

The hotel also has the Wxyz lounge. Saturday night was salsa night, and it was loud even five floors up at 1AM in the morning. No Continental breakfast, but if you want a coffee or a pop tart, they sell them in the lobby in the morning. We found ourselves across the street at the Dunkin' Donuts.

One things we immediately noticed was the lobby area was not kept. Their is a pool table in a common area near the check-in desk and it was littered from the night before with candy wrappers and newspapers on the floor and furniture. The lobby television(s) were not on or inoperable or they had them turned off. The 4 or 5 televisions in the lounge were all on, but on the same channel... we found that confusing.

Exercise room, pool and hallways to the rooms were clean, however the elevators could use a wipe down.

For the value of the Groupon package we received, it was acceptable, but at full rate I would have been doing a lot of complaining during our weekend stay.

Room Tip: Check Groupon for package discounts, otherwise I would find another hotel in the area that offers a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at aloft Winchester, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Limo_George,
Thank you for your online review. Aloft Hotels is one of Starwood Hotel's nine lifestyle brands and well a good fit for tech savvy, self-sufficient travelers and may not fit everyone's travel style. Aloft Hotels promotes open spaces and vibrant energy ideal for travelers to meet, mix, and mingle with other guests. We only offer free coffee daily, however, we do have made-to-order breakfast options (like waffles and breakfast sandwiches) available for purchase at Re:fuel, our 24-hour pantry. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to aloft Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Winchester

Address: 1055 Milwood Pike, Rt. 50 East, Winchester, VA 22602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#10 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Winchester 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Winchester Hotelis nestled in Winchester, VA, a community tucked away in picturesque Shenandoah Valley and full of history. Whether you have half a day to enjoy or are planning a week long vacation, our Winchester hotel's accessible location and hip style will answer all your needs. Enjoy our hotel amenities, whether you meet, mix and mingle at w xyzSM bar or play in re:mixSM lounge. Or for a change of scenery, head out and about and peruse the Historic District for the perfect gift and step foot on some of our nation's Civil War battle sites. You will be glad you made the trip! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your aloft Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Winchester Hotel Winchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage aloft Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.