We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really cool hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of aloft Winchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added aloft Winchester to your Saves list
aloft Winchester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1055 Milwood Pike, Rt. 50 East, Winchester, VA 22602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Really cool hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was the first time we stayed in a Aloft hotel but not the last, that's for sure! We loved this posh hotel in this quiet part of the East coast.
The only negative experience was the "breakfast buffet" - overpriced and boring.

Room Tip: We happened to be there when there were a lot of little kids in this hotel and we could not here the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    108
    42
    20
    7
See reviews for
81
121
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Trendy doesn't begin to describe how unique this place is. With a bar in the lobby (I mean, IN the lobby) and very bare, but strangely attractive decoration, this is the most unique chain hotel I have ever stayed at.
The staff is attentive and knowledgeable, the facility is clean and well cared for. Even though you are a 6 iron from the highway, it is quiet and comfortable. The rooms are unique, with a charging station for all electronic equipment, large flatscreen TV and very confortable bedding. The layout places the BR and the bath/dressing area side by side. Makes the bathroom a little dark and harder to access than your normal hotel room, but still completely comfortable, well priced and well placed.
When we come back to Winchester, we'll be staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms with two queens do not have room for a cot, so if you will need one, take the King.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I was amazed at how much could be packed into a small space. There's not a lot to the building but the inside lobby/lounge was spacious. There was a wide open check in area, connected to a bar and pool table and large screen TVs. If we had stayed more than a night, we probably would have joined in the fun. Good-sized fitness room and small pool just off the main lobby area. The room was very comfortable, plenty of room to move around even with a king-size bed. Clothing storage was limited to cubbies and a small hanging rack in the bathroom area, but that wasn't as much of a concern for us since we were packing light. Beautifully designed bathroom area with a sliding door separating the toilet and shower (no tub) from the rest of the room.

Altogether, it was a pleasant stay that ended way too soon. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Shower has heavily frosted window visible from the sleeping area. Traveling families beware!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

we stayed at the hotel on Friday night. Did not know what to expect and it was a pleasant surprise.Very contemporary hotel with a little indoor pool, fitness center and indoor and outdoor lounge. Indoor lounge has a bar serving quick bites. Nice size and spot clean room, very comfortable king-size bed, well equipped bathroom with a walk in shower(no tub), good breakfast included in the price of the room through AAA. We stayed there because of their liberal pet policy and would do it again.Friendly personnel at the desk and the price/value was unbeatable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was a welcome change to us from the usual hotel.
Its sort of modern minimalistic.(Think Ikea) No artwork on the walls of the rooms.
Vivid accents with sleek clean lines in the no wasted space layout of the room.
The staff was all very friendly and helpful.
I feel this is a hotel that a single or couple would enjoy more so than a family with children,
Yes the one wall of the shower is frosted glass look plexiglass that you can see into from the bedroom, but with the wife and I only, it was no problem at all.
So this may not be the place for mom n dad and teens.
The pool is very small but nice and it has a nice Gym area, bar and foods available.
We will return again as we really enjoyed our stay and the price is really hard to beat for something as nice as this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We quickly found out that we are not as young as we thought we were...

We were going to stay at this hotel since we could use our Starwood points and have a free night for a quick stay on our road trip. The hotel was booked according to SPG's website, but after calling the hotel we found out they still had five rooms available. So, we called SPG back and they helped us out so we could use our points and enjoy a free night.

We arrived at the hotel around 8pm on a Saturday evening. The front desk clerk was perched at the bar, but came over to help us. I thought it was strange that they don't wear uniforms - she looked like any other guest. She was very helpful in getting us checked in quickly.

We got in to our room, which is set up like the other Aloft hotels with furniture similar to Ikea. But, we expected it, so it was not a big deal. The TV is hanging on the wall, but no one has bothered to hide the wires - they looked like a rats nest hanging from the TV. Then we turned on the A/C. It sounded like a demon was about to come out of it! We could, however, hear the "kids" banging on the walls and apparently doing some sort of gymnastics next door and down the hallway over the demons in the A/C. We called the front desk and they sent "engineering" up to our room. The man that arrived was also in plain clothes, which made us a little uneasy letting him in to our room. He didn't even bring tools. Then, believe it or not, his way of "fixing" the A/C was to bang on it! We made a comment to him about the sounds next door and he told us that they had about 60 college kids LIVING at the hotel! After his banging attempts failed, they moved us to another room down the hall.

The new room was much bigger than the first room, and the TV wires were tucked behind the TV. The new room had the lovely sounds of thumping that was coming from the DJ in the bar. We could also hear the next door's music coming through loud and clear in to our room.

We promptly picked up our belongings and headed back down to the front desk. This hotel was not even worth staying at for free! And, we have learned our lesson that Aloft hotels are not for us (this was our second attempt at staying in one). We went down the street and checked in to the Holiday Inn and even though we had to pay $129, we had a nice, peaceful, quiet stay.

Room Tip: If you want to choose a good room at an Aloft, stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We arrived Friday afternoon excited to stay at the fairly new Aloft after staying down the road at Holiday Inn the past couple years for the wine festival. Part of the reason for the change was because we were bringing our dog along and Aloft touts itself as a "dog friendly" hotel.

When we arrived, we were not greeted by anyone but the bartender and stood at an empty front desk until a rather unpleasant woman made her way begrudgingly to the desk as if we had interrupted her nap. No hello, no smile, no "welcome." She checked us in with no personality at all and we went on our way. Even though we obviously had our dog with us, and it was listed in our reservation notes, no one ever offered the treats, dog bed, or toys that are advertised on their website as "welcoming your pet as part of your family." That was disappointing.

The grounds are nice, the lobby trendy but loud on weekends, and the rooms have a nice setup. Everything was pretty clean. The pillows are too big (they should have more options) and the bed left a lot to be desired. I agree with other posters that the window in the bathroom is a bit awkward if you are not staying with a significant other. Overall, disappointing from the first impression.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to aloft Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Winchester

Address: 1055 Milwood Pike, Rt. 50 East, Winchester, VA 22602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Winchester
#8 Business Hotel in Winchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#11 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Winchester 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your aloft Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Winchester Hotel Winchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage aloft Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.