We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Winchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Winchester to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Wingate Drive, Winchester, VA 22601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Woodstock, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent Place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Not a high end hotel, but it is decent enough for you to enjoy your stay. I stayed at the top floor, I enjoyed good view, all the staff members were very nice, including the house keeping staff. You will get good value for your money.

Room Tip: upper floors are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1204, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winchester, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Sam S,

I know you have many hotel options when staying in Winchester and want to thank you for your business and taking the time to share your stay. I’m glad to hear you stay was an enjoyable one and that our staff was friendly and welcoming. I hope to see you next time you’re in town and that we will be able to go above and beyond to provide you with a five star stay!

Rick Ferree
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester, VA
540-722-8881
Rick.Ferree@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    126
    33
    22
    10
See reviews for
149
103
25
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This was my first visit to this particular HGI. I requested a suite during my stay however the hotel failed to obliged my request or even respond. I found this quite troubling and concerning hoping that my stay would not end up with regret. I received a standard room per my reservation and was happy. The beds at HGI are extremely comfortable which makes it hard in the morning to leave. All in all I enjoyed my stayed as it was close to a restaurant/bar next door. I didn't have the chance to try out the gym or bfast buffet as I had hoped.

There are several restaurants and stores nearby to choose from.

I definitely recommend this property to anyone traveling in the Winchester area. You can't go wrong with Hilton Brand hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1204, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winchester, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Randy W,

Thank you for your review, we always love hearing back from our guests and your response is greatly appreciated. I apologize that we were not able to accommodate our upgrade request during your stay with us but am happy to hear that your room was comfortable and satisfying. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of our location and perhaps the next time you stay with us, you'll be able to squeeze in some time for the fitness center and breakfast. We'd love to have you back!

Rick Ferree
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester, VA
540-722-8881
Rick.Ferree@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokesville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Great hotel and room. But the price was a little steep. The a/c unit seemed to overheat and set off the smoke detector. There was no fire, but it was enough to scare me and make the room smell horrible.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1204, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winchester, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Lauren M,

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Winchester and for sharing your feedback with other TripAdvisor users. I apologize for the trouble you experienced with the HVAC unit in your room, I will be sure to pass on your experience to our maintenance department so the problem can be avoided in the future. Guest comfort is of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide a safe and welcoming environment. Thank you, again, for staying and I hope you will choose us again in the future so we can make your guest room experience the best it can be.

Rick Ferree
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester, VA
540-722-8881
Rick.Ferree@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Hilton Garden Inn was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was great and there are several restaurants in the area. The customer service is top notch. The pool and rec. area were clean and convenient.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1204, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winchester, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Alexander L,

Thank you for taking the time to share you stay! We always enjoy hearing back from our guests, it gives us a chance to see how we are performing. I am happy to hear you found your room, as well as our fitness center and indoor pool to your liking. I’m especially pleased to hear that the service you received during your stay was so superb! I appreciate your TripAdvisor review and hope to see you in the near future.

Rick Ferree
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester, VA
540-722-8881
Rick.Ferree@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Virginia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

First the complaints: I will never understand why the Hilton chain operates on the basis that the more the room costs (or the higher the 'grade' of the hotel) the fewer the amenities offered. I was seriously put out to learn that there was no complementary breakfast and no free Wi-Fi ! Really? Even at the reduced block rate we paid because of being with a wedding party, this was not an inexpensive place to stay and I would have booked at the Hampton Inn across the street had I known.

That out of the way, I will say that the rooms were pleasant and comfortable (even if the sleep number bed didn't seem to do anything when adjusted - this was observed by others too - some worked, some didn't). The pod-style coffee maker was a nice touch since my husband didn't have to wait while I finished my pot of regular before he could get his decaf.

The staff were lovely and helpful, another factor observed by most in our group. So, on the whole our stay was pleasant, but we probably wouldn't stay here again - for over $100 a night I expect at least a waffle and Wi-Fi!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1204, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winchester, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear MadArchaeo,

Thank you for taking your recent stay with us. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and am very sorry we did not exceed your expectations. I am glad you found your room to be comfortable and that our staff was kind and welcoming. Let me apologize for the problems you experienced with your mattress adjustments. Our stay works hard to make sure each guest stay is as comfortable as possible but without a good night’s sleep I understand that we can’t provide the experience we strive to. Though we do offer an upgraded internet package, we always offer complimentary WiFi throughout our hotel to all our guests. If you choose to stay with us in the future our Front Desk staff would be happy to help you log in. Again, thank you for your stay and comments.

Rick Ferree
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester, VA
540-722-8881
Rick.Ferree@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Hilton Garden Inn in Winchester pretty much checks all the "desirable" boxes for the traveling couple. Clean, quiet rooms with comfortable beds. Substantial fluffy pillows (and more delivered for the asking). A good location surrounded by competent dining options. And a location convenient to the interstate for continuing your trip on I-81. The staff was courteous and friendly too.

Room Tip: We chose a room far away from the elevator and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1204, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winchester, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear tanuki56,

Thank you for your kind review! I was thrilled to read the feedback you provided about your stay. We always aim to exceed our guest’s expectations and I am glad our staff took good care of you and your experience was so exceptional. I am happy to hear you found the location to your liking. Being in town yet not far from the interstate makes our hotel the perfect choice for anyone coming to the area on business or traveling for leisure. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future!

Rick Ferree
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester, VA
540-722-8881
Rick.Ferree@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Va.
Level Contributor
239 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I have stayed here probably a total of 10-15 weeks in the last couple of years. I've gotten to know many of the employees over this time. I've dealt with Vicky, front desk manager, the most and she is a very pleasant person to work with. Of course Hilton seems to do a good job in hiring good people overall. The rooms seem well insulated with noise almost never an issue. If you like to sleep in ask for a room on the front side. When I've been on the back I've been woken by a trash truck dumping a dumpster in a business located to the back of the hotel around 5 AM. I'm normally up by this time so it's mainly not a problem. If this hotel has a weakness it's the AC. After you leave the room for a bit it goes into some kind of energy mode meaning the room warms up. I've found if you are there on a real hot day you can call the desk and they can reset the AC from the desk meaning your room will start cooling down.
The breakfast here is a pay restaurant. It's not bad but the restaurant has some pretty lousy danishes and such and have the entire time I've stayed here. I generally just bring some Yogurt with me for my room. The location is good as you're near all kinds of restaurants and stores with several restaurants next to the hotel. The area is a busy area and getting out of the road the hotel is on can be tough at times. You are a short drive from the historic downtown and close to I 81 and I 66. There are many more benefits to this hotel than negatives and the employees are the top positive.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
1.4 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#3 of 27 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
2.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Winchester

Address: 120 Wingate Drive, Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Winchester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#11 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Winchester 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester Hotel Winchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.