We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Winchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Winchester to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Wingate Drive, Winchester, VA 22601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 25%
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This is a very clean and well-appointed hotel. The pool and fitness center looked very well kept although I did not use them during this trip. The beds have a firmness dial, but it didn't seem to affect the bed at all. The bed was a little too firm to my liking, but was still comfortable enough to sleep. Hotel offers a breakfast, but it's not a complimentary continental. It is a paid sit down breakfast. The value wasn't there for us to partake.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    100
    24
    12
    7
See reviews for
116
79
22
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Janesville, WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stay here for business almost every week and have found all of their staff do take the extra effort to know you. Their food and bar are great with high quality menu items and top shelf liquor as well as a variety of bottled wines by the glass and beers on tap. Their front desk staff always greet you with a smile. Their recent front lobby remodel really enhances the ambiance. Room service is available and is definitely a plus, especially after a long day. The bed and pillows are almost more comfortable than home. We love it here.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We were pleased with our choice minus a few things that will stop me from staying here again unless I have to. There was blood on the hand towel hanging in the bathroom and when I went to take it off and toss it I noticed there was also hair on it. Gross. We were not pleased with the beds/bedding either. My coworker and I were laughing and joking that we may be better off sleeping on the floor! We did find that if we layed in one spot long enough the bed gave in enough to be comfortable. If you like firm beds you may not mind. The comforter is the only piece you can cover up with on the bed, and I'm just not a fan of using hotel comforters so I usually toss it off and use whatever is underneath. Couldn't do that here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1204, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winchester, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear JennyB,

Thank you for your feedback, I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Guest responses are very important to us as they help us learn from our mistakes and continually improve. I apologize that your experience with us was not what it should have been but I want you to know that the issues you had during your stay will be addressed with our team. Our hotel does feature the Hilton Garden Sleep System mattress in all rooms and each can be adjusted softer or firmer for individualized guest comfort. I apologize that our Front Desk staff did not bring this feature to you attention upon check-in and though we do not keep blankets beyond the duvet in each room our staff would be happy to provide you with one upon request during any future stay.

Thank you for your business and I hope you will give us a chance in the future to provide the top notch service and experience I know we are capable of.

Rick Ferree
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester, VA
540-722-8881
Rick.Ferree@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Its hard to leave family to work out of state. Whether it's a week, or two, or three. it's hard. I tend to need very little, comfortable bed and pillows, clean, the everyday necessities, and a fridge in the room for some beer or soda. I got all those things here plus. The hot tub was just that, hot (perfect temp for relaxing after long strenuous days) The pool is clean, the towels are soft and the stay is friendly and professional. A second shift desk associate Robin was very attentive to our group and made sure my reward points were added. A housekeeper had no problem with fixing a TV when asked for assistance. They all work with a smile and have a kind word.
A different feature that am not used to within the Hilton class of hotels are the ticketing system. Rather than the buffet or continental breakfast, you are given tickets that pay for your breakfast and/ or dinner.
They have a lounge/ bar for a quick drink before bed also. This location lacks nothing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1204, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winchester, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear taprice,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at The Hilton Garden Inn and for taking the time to share your experience. We recognize that it is hard for traveling professionals to spend time away from their home and family, so we are always aiming to provide a welcoming, comfortable environment that will make being away a little bit easier. It’s wonderful to hear that our hotel and staff was able to do that for you!

Thank you again for your stay and I hope you’ll choose to stay with us when you are in the area again!

Rick Ferree
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester, VA
540-722-8881
Rick.Ferree@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

First time stay & had a fairly good experience. Rooms, service, pool & internet access were all very good. Breakfast could stand some improving (hint: skip the omelets), but overall not bad (kids eat free so that balanced a LOT out)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1204, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winchester, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Edward B,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay. I am sorry that your breakfast experience was not to your satisfaction. We will certainly keep your comments in mind and work to make the necessary improvements. I am glad to hear that you did enjoy the rooms and were able to take advantage of a few of our amentities such as the complimentary guest internet, and our indoor pool.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope that you will allow us to the opportunity to exceed your expectations on your next visit.

Rick Ferree
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester, VA
540-722-8881
Rick.Ferree@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The Winchester Hilton Garden Inn is a pleasureable place to stay. The rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet. The restaurant staff and the front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. I stay there several times a year, usually for just one night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1204, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winchester, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Thomas M,

Thank you for you for taking the time so share you experience and although there are many hotels nearby, I would like to personally thank you for continuing to stay with us. I am glad that you found our rooms to be quiet and comfortable and I always love hearing that our staff members were welcoming and helpful.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you in the future!

Rick Ferree
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester, VA
540-722-8881
Rick.Ferree@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We have stayed at many Hilton Garden Inns. This was the worst by far. The room was very hot and would not cool down. The pool was filthy dirty and the air was so hot you could not breath in the pool area. The mattresses were so uncomfortable that we could not sleep, they had huge divots in them. The restaurant food could not hold a candle to McDonalds. Thank goodness McDonalds was in walking distance so we could eat something edible. When addressing the general manager it was like talking to a used car salesman. We will never stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1204, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winchester, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Bill H,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with the condition of our property. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. Again, we apologize for the issues and we hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.

Rick Ferree
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester, VA
540-722-8881
Rick.Ferree@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Winchester

Address: 120 Wingate Drive, Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Winchester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#7 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Winchester 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester Hotel Winchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.