We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winchester wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Winchester

Thai Winchester
24 S. Loudoun Street, Winchester, VA 22601
540-678-0055
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #5 of 212 restaurants in Winchester
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery
Description: Full service restaurant with patio seating and full bar, featuring authentic Thai cuisine and drinks. Repeat winner: "People’s Favorite Restaurant” awards. Our diverse and flavorful menu has something for everyone, from mild to hot, vegetarian or not.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Winchester wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I've only had Thai food twice in my life. The first time was a complete disaster and I swore off Thai food forever, but then it was my husband's birthday and his choice to try Thai yet again while visiting in historic Winchester. It was absolutely delightful and delicious! We had the sample for an appetizer - it was outstanding! The seaweed salad was spot on! Must try!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    54
    39
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Really good Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

In the middle of Saturday’s Hopblossom Festival in Winchester, our group of six decided on Winchester Thai for lunch, based largely on the TripAdvisor reviews and ranking. It did not disappoint.

We opted for an outside table, and the umbrellas only did so much to shield us from the sun. So I was VERY happy that the wait staff was very diligent about keeping water glasses filled … dehydration is a bad thing. Big kudos to the attentive wait staff!

Amazingly, none of us chose a typically spicy Thai dish, such as the curries. Noodles abounded at our table, along with a few appetizers for the lighter eaters. I was very pleased with my Pad See Ew; I love those thick, broad rice noodles, and the seasoning was spot on. A couple plates of Pad Thai also turned up on the table. Fried foods were light and crisp, no signs of grease. The chicken satay was tender, cooked through but not overcooked.

I should mention that, when you visit Winchester Thai, be sure to come on an empty stomach. Portions are really generous here. And this isn’t quantity to make up for a lack of quality … it was an abundance of goodness.

Now that Winchester Thai passed the “noodle test,” I’m ready to head back and sample more of their menu. If only Winchester wasn’t a two hour drive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quite Simply the Best Thai Food Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I both love Thai food and when I stumbled onto this restaurant we were very pleasantly surprised. It's amazing. We've both been to Thailand several times and can attest, without hesitation, Thai WIncester is the best Thai food we've had in metro DC area. The papaya salad was very fresh and appropriately spicy. Chciken satays were perfectly grilled and the dipping sauces were amazing. Our entrees came out piping hot and very well presented. We're already planning our return.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Thai Win!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

The food is outstanding and service is pretty good and quite fast. The food comes out quite fast, too which is convenient. Not much of an atmosphere, though. The tables are gorgeous with sparkles in them, but just the arrangement of tables and decor is pretty bland considering the cost of the restaurant overall. Still, it's reliably tasty Thai food with good service!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

So I'm the picky adult eater of our family, but I'm trying. My previous experience with Asian cuisine had been plenty of so-so Chinese restaurants and a couple aborted attempts at sushi. Thai food was intimidating, is what I'm saying. Hot, really hot, that was my only expectation. So wrong! Wonderful, interesting, beautiful dishes both times my wife and I have been. I honestly had no clue coconut-based sauces could be so ridiculously good. Curries are spicy, but get yourself a Tiger beer or two to go with it and you'll be all set. Truly wonderful service, great location on newly redone Old Town Winchester, just awesome.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Winchester also viewed

 

Been to Thai Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.