We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi and Craft Beer List” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chinatown

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chinatown
1085 Millwood Pike, Winchester, VA 22602
540-662-0700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 233 Restaurants in Winchester
Price range: $10 - $15
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Perkasie, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Sushi and Craft Beer List”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had driven past this place a dozen times, but never gave it much of a thought. But on Saturday night we had a sushi craving and TripAdvisor came to the rescue. Chinatown was just 2 blocks from our hotel, and there was no wait at 6:30pm on a Saturday night. They had an excellent craft brew selection ($4.50) and the sushi was fantastic. This is now our regular spot in Winchester.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“ABOUT THE BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I'm always looking for really good Cantonese food and these days it is difficult to find. Chinatown does Cantonese right. The many dishes I've tried are delicious, not greasy and so close to what I remember eating as a child when all you could get was Cantonese. Authentic chicken chow mein and when you can do the "simpler" dishes right, then you know the slightly "fancier" food will also be terrific. Never miss the chance to eat here when my travels take me to Winchester. I love this place!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Never Again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We went there for lunch, reading all the positive reviews...It was filthy. I mean dried food smears all over the walls, filthy, dirty menus, no lunch menu, a completely disgusting and dirty buffet. I was appalled, and I won't ever be going back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I was looking for a place to take my son and friends for his birthday. This restaurant was a great choice for the selection and the food. Everything was flavorful. The prices were reasonable, Be prepared for a bit of a wait on a Saturday evening though. They were quite busy. The wait staff was pleasant and efficient.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beautiful PA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Excellent food and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A surprisingly nice Chinese restaurant in a small town. It is elegantly decorated with formal dinning area, a full size bar and a small sushi bar.

The best part is its food. I had Ma La Beef. It is delicious with high quality ingredients. Maybe it is a couple of $'s more than an average Chinese restaurant. But quality and services are so good.

Definitely a gem!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinatown also viewed

 

Been to Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chinatown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.