We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight along RT 81” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   991 Millwood Pike, I-81 at Millwood Pike, exit #313/313-A, Winchester, VA 22602   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off your next stay
Ranked #19 of 27 hotels in Winchester
Susquehanna, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Overnight along RT 81”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great stop while traveling along RT 81. The hotel is clean and the staff is friendly. It was very quite for the location. The price was very fair for the King Superior.There is afood and beverage near by. One thing Redroof lacks is breakfast but most if small hotels are not worth eating anyway. Their free coffee is very weak. Also not worth drinking.

Room Tip: King Superior has a Frig and Microwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    40
    38
    21
    23
See reviews for
39
46
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edgewater, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was disappointed to find no hair dryer or minifridge in our room. The room was just barely adequate. Although it did have a clean bathroom and good shower.I guess it was ok for the price, but we won't be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We, my wife and small dog have stayed here twice before and everything was ok. looks like new mgt. Place has gone down hill. dirty halls. dirty outside walks. room was basic clean. stains on floor. Do you ever check the air conditioner filter. you need to. ours was growing plants. We called the desk to see if we could get someone to clean it. We were told they would give us a brush and we could clean it ourself's . Well that didn't go over well. Wife took filter to desk and requested it cleaned. Will not stay at a red roof inn again!!

Room Tip: call ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at this Red Roof Inn several times and have always been satisfied. The Inn is close to restaurants and stores. It is convenient for visiting in Winchester. We were very pleased with the cleanliness and comfort of our room. The continental breakfast was very satisfactory. Compared to places we stay while traveling this is one of the best.

Room Tip: Choose first floor if you have a pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had booked the room 10 days before arrival for 3 adults & 1 dog, (12lbs) printed confirmation
page. When we arrived at motel I was charge $12 more. Disgusting trip, no coffee, breakfast only
served at 6am. We arrived at 6:340 pm & left at 3am the next morning.

I will not use red roof inn again & I am telling all my friends & family. VERY DISSAPOINTED.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thanks for letting us know what took place during the check in process. After looking at all the details we found that your reservation was made for 2 adults only. I'm sorry for any miscommunication may have happened while making a reservation. The GSR asked you to pay for extra person because it wasn't listed on your reservation. Also, coffee is available in the breakfast room 24hrs. I understand you had to leave at 3am but no hotel serves breakfast that early in the morning. We serve breakfast starting at6am and it goes till 9am. I'm very sorry if we disappointed you. I hope you try us again in the future and we can make it up to you in a good way. Thanks.

Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'd been traveling for two weeks and staying in some not so great places. Big surprise: Red Roof Inn charges no extra fees for my two dogs! I'd been paying $20 per dog at other, MUCH less worthy motels. Clean, modern room. Comfortable bed. Breakfast was not great but met my expectations. Friendly staff. Stay at this motel. Thank you, Red Roof Inn Winchester!

Room Tip: Pet friendly rooms are grouped together so no one will complain if your dog barks occasionally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We just stayed 7/24/14 in room 151, I noticed my ankles were beginning to itch, by 2:00am my dogs were itching, my husband was itching and I was a mess, we got up showered and left, I now am so bitten up that I may go to the doctors. My dogs are itching uncontrollable need a vet visit and they are on flee treatment. I have called to complain because there is something wrong. We also noticed an order, but we have stayed in pet friendly rooms before and there is sometimes an order.
We have stayed there before in room 153 and no problems.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
I'm very sorry for what took place during your stay. As per our conversation, we had room inspected and couldn't find bugs infestation in the room. As you said, you may have gotten bit by something while you were walking your dog around the property. I'm very sorry again and hope you try us again and hopefully you get to enjoy your stay. Thanks and see you soon.

Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA

Address: 991 Millwood Pike, I-81 at Millwood Pike, exit #313/313-A, Winchester, VA 22602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Winchester Hotel Winchester
Winchester Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.