We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what i thought” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   991 Millwood Pike, I-81 at Millwood Pike, exit #313/313-A, Winchester, VA 22602   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Pet Friendly !!
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Newcastle, Canada
1 review
“not what i thought”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

our room was clean but we could'nt find the spa inspired bathroom. Bathroom was small old looking and shower had lots of mildew. shower water control was worn and hard to adjust. my biggest compliant was the king size mattress as it was worn to the point were you could feel every spring. we tried another room with king matt and it felt the same.no word from management as yet.

Room Tip: cant think of anything nice to say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    48
    41
    24
    23
See reviews for
46
52
29
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff at check in, room was very clean, bed was comfortable, rate was reasonable. All that makes for a satisfied customer.

I do like the Red Roof room layouts especially in the deluxe rooms with a wrap around desk.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks for your feedback regarding your stay. We appreciate your business and hope to see you soon.

Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Over the last few years we have discovered Red Roof Inns. Because of the excellent experience, we are now making it a habit, when on our way to Florida or back home to Canada, to stop for our overnight stays in locations with Red Roof Inns. We travel with a small pet and feel welcome. We find the accommodations to be clean and well maintained. Recently we stayed at the Red Roof Inn in Winchester, Virginia and we were greeted by Rachel who went out of her way to make us feel welcome and who answered all of our inquiries with a smile. Rachel also called the Red Roof Inn in Savannah to make reservations for our next night stay. We find this hotel very quiet which is helpful to the tired traveling public.
The breakfast area and the food dispenser/containers were clean with a diversified variety of food and beverage choices.
The only drawback about this chain is that the traveling public does not have a fixed room price when booking in at different locations, probably due to Red Roof Inns being owned by franchisees.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Your satisfaction and good comments are truly appreciated. The guest's comfort and satisfaction are our top priority and knowing that you had a good overall stay with us is already an achievement for us. I will also share your comments with Rachel and other staff members. Thanks for your business and hope to see you soon.

Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed a Red Roof Inns years ago when we had dogs because they were - are - so dog friendly. We lost track of them with our busy lives, but reconnected to one last year in Ohio and realized they had added the Superior King option - a bigger room, with two chairs and a big space for the laptop. Or lunch!

The blessing for us as retirees is that Red Roof has kept its prices lower than anyone else. We have been staying for $50. This particular Red Roof has been there a long time. The outside looks a little old, but inside the rooms are wonderfully decorated. The mattresses are firm. There are two reading lights over the bed. WIFI doesn't require a password - which is HUGE for me, since the Holiday Inn password thing shows up still on my laptop, making it hard to get on some sites. Anyway - when we stay we are in situations where we have to stay somewhere, and we always look for Red Roof Inns these days.

Room Tip: Get the Superior King. Lots of elbow room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Your wonderful comments has made our day. We're happy to hear our hotel met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We hope to welcome you back again soon!


Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I had booked a room, two beds, about a week before I came up, and upon reading reviews of the place, was very put off. But, upon arrival, I was pleasantly surprised, the night staff was just fine, the breakfast was what I had expected, the room was tidy, the bathroom was great, the water was hot, and the beds were very comfy. Overall, paying less than $50 for a one night stay, I was very happy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
We are really delighted to read you comments about your recent experience with our Winchester Red Roof. We are happy to hear that our housekeeping did a fine job keeping the room tidy and you enjoyed your stay without breaking your wallet. I will pass on your comments with our housekeeping team as well. Thanks for sharing your experience with others. We hope you keep us in mind during your next visit to Winchester VA. As always, we appreciate your business and hope to see you soon.


Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Baltimore, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I'm rating this hotel as an economy hotel on an economy hotel scale. The gentleman at the desk checked us in quickly. The room was on the older side (some of the Red Roof's are upgraded to be more modern -- this location is not). It was very good for what it was. Right off 81 so it's convenient. Would stay at this location again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel and for recognizing how economical our pricing is compared to other hotels. We appreciate the time you spent to write us a review. As with all other Red Roof Inns we have recently updated some of our deluxe rooms with new beds and televisions. Upon your return stay we welcome you to stay in one of our newly updated rooms and see the difference that we are striving to make for all our guests.

Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North, South Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stopped here because of brand and location travel with a large dog and red roof accomodates. Was concerned when arrived about number of college age people running around thought it was going to be a noisy party spot, but I think they all went to bed before I did. It's an older inn but rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy T, Manager at Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
We are glad to hear that our brand and location is very convenient for you. We try our level best to keep our rooms clean and well maintained. Thanks again for recognizing our efforts. We hope you keep us in mind every time you travel through our area. Thanks again.

Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA

Address: 991 Millwood Pike, I-81 at Millwood Pike, exit #313/313-A, Winchester, VA 22602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Winchester Hotel Winchester
Winchester Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.