We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Noisy Property” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   991 Millwood Pike, I-81 at Millwood Pike, exit #313/313-A, Winchester, VA 22602   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off your next stay
Ranked #19 of 27 hotels in Winchester
USA
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Very Noisy Property”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed here 3 times in the past year, and all three times we were awaken at night by noisy customers or noisy staircases. Each time I tried staying at different locations on the property without any success.

We continued to stay here because it is pet friendly and it is in a convenient spot for us to stop. But now...Enough is enough, I will do some research and stay somewhere else in Winchester.

Breakfast is not worth stopping for. I did get a free USAToday however.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy T, Manager at Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thanks very much for the feedback about your stay. We are very sorry to hear about the noise problem during each of your stay. We value your opinion and appreciate you giving us the opportunity 3 times last year. Usually, whenever we have any noise issues, we try to take care of it right away to make sure our guests get the best sleep possible but may be we failed in this case. Please give us one last chance and we will do our best to serve you. I'm glad to hear that our location is convenient for you and pet friendly is a plus as well. Until we see you next time have a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    38
    38
    20
    21
See reviews for
36
45
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jeannette
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The check in was easy and the price was fair. The room was clean and seemed newly painted. Beds were small and hard and the pillows weren't fluffy like most hotels are. But the worst part was running out of hot water in the morning halfway through the shower. The breakfast only had mini muffins, waffles and really small coffee cups.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Not a bad place when you need a quick place to stay. Room was clean and comfortable and the price was really very inexpensive. Even without a coupon book we only paid $57.00. There was even a continental breakfast in the morning. One of the better roadside motels I've stayed in.

Room Tip: Make sure you check the heating unit. I think my mother had a problem with hers. This is no luxury h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed Christmas night after driving 9 hours, beds were full size so, not to roomy. Heater made noise but for 50 bucks we were warm. Breakfast was minimal with cereal, frozen waffles and the tiny muffins.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westtown NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed in room 130 found mold on corners of bathtub walls, also took 145 minutes to get hot water. Bed not very comfortable. No coffee pot in room, TV old and fuzzy. No oders close to I81. Probably not sty here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night on our way driving south. Plenty of places to stay off I-81 but we had picked up the coupon book on our entry into Virginia and decided on the Red Roof Inn to try something new. We were pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness and value for the price ($46!!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astor, FL
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This newly renovated room was very nice, better than most Red Roof Inns I've stayed at. The room was clean, quiet and had many nice features including a refrigerator, microwave, wide screen TV, quite fast internet, coffee maker and small work station.
The morning breakfast offering was also better than most other Red Roofs. There was hot and cold cereal, coffee & tea, o.j. bagels and mini muffins.
Its obvious that the owners have spent a good amount of money updating this property. We will stay there again any time we are in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms were priced the same, standard, deluxe and superior. Take the superior!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA

Address: 991 Millwood Pike, I-81 at Millwood Pike, exit #313/313-A, Winchester, VA 22602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Red Roof Inn, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Winchester Hotel Winchester
Winchester Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.