We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to I-81” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   991 Millwood Pike, I-81 at Millwood Pike, exit #313/313-A, Winchester, VA 22602   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off your next stay
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Oakisland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Convenient to I-81”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel is in the midst of a wide range of accomodations, gas stations and restaurants. The hotel and its next door neighbor, a Quality Inn, compete for the "budget minded" overnite traveler. A portion of the rooms have been updated and exceed the usual expectations for a Red Roof Inn. Other rooms are far more dated. However this same observation can be applied to many of the lower priced hotel chains. The hotel is located on Millwood Pike just before it crosses I-81. The bottom line is if you are fortunate enough not to have a youth or sports team near you, a boisterous party of travelling companions, or work crews arising at 5 am reving their truck engines, you will find acceptable accomodations at a very competitive price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    42
    39
    22
    23
See reviews for
42
48
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is a pleasant place for an overnight stay, especially pleased regarding a pet being free.
The continental breakfast includes, toast, bagels, regular waffles, cereal, coffee, tea and juice enough to get you going up the road. The only complaint this trip was the bed was not comfortable, could feel the springs or lumps. I am hoping this was not because we had a pet.
Heater worked great and TV was very good.

Room Tip: Be sure to check the beds for comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Assomption, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stopped by this hotel on our way home to Canada from our cruise in Fort Lauderdale. Well This Red Roof, disappointed us alittle. It really needs to be up dated! The carpet and walls need to be refresed and the bathtub could do with also being changed.

They are suppose to have 24 hour coffee in the lobby, my husband at 21:00 when we arrived, went to get a cup of coffee, and it was old and cold. The receptionist did not even offer to make a fresh pot!

Needed a pen, and to my surprise found that they only offered tiny little pencils, its not the price here, its just really cheap!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Was clean....smelled clean upon entering.
pet friendly and safe place to bring dog to go potty
Smoking policy was great. They made me sign a paper that if I smoked in room that was non smoking they could charge my credit card $ 100.00. More places should do that! I would stay again
Very affordable
great easy access from highway

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Very run down and old. The heater was faulty and would turn off randomly. I had to kill the 4 big bugs in the room myslef. Desperately needing an upgrade. I won't be back and the only reason I stayed was because I was tired and it was late. I would have walked away if travelling with my family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This place was conveniently located off interstate. They accept pets which is a plus. very rundown hotel. Smells in certain areas. They did have a breakfast which was convenient. Not very clean.. Don't know if I'd stay again..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, NY
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Don't waste your time or money on this dump! I'm at a loss to u derstand how anyone could say this place is good. The only positive is that it's cheap. The guy at the front desk had a very heavy accent and was extremely difficult to understand. The firsstroo I was given the key didn't work. The second had a huge spot on the door where the paint had peeled off. The door stuck so badly that I had to force it open and slam it hard to shut it. The room itself was clean but dibgy and smelled. If I hadn't driven 6 hours I would have stayed somewhere else. Don't waste your time or money. This place is a real dump!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA

Address: 991 Millwood Pike, I-81 at Millwood Pike, exit #313/313-A, Winchester, VA 22602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Winchester Hotel Winchester
Winchester Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.