We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and clean, But!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   991 Millwood Pike, I-81 at Millwood Pike, exit #313/313-A, Winchester, VA 22602   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Pet Friendly !!
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Valencia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cheap and clean, But!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012 via mobile

I'm not a big fan of motels, but sometimes one just needs a place to sleep. This motel is good for that. My complaint is not the motels fault. It is my fault for staying at a motel. The person next to my room was very loud! Not only in his room but on the sidewalk outside. His went on till about midnight. I was going to change my room but it was too late. He problem with motels is that you have to deal with people on the sidewalk outside your room . I did'nt stop for breakfast but went to the near by Golden Coral.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    48
    41
    23
    23
See reviews for
44
52
29
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on our way back down from our trip. It had some modern updates the bathroom area. The beds were not comfortable and the covers were a little too thin for my liking. The room was average and had another set of doors to adorn to the other room if you needed that. Tv channels were only 15-20 channels. The room also had a desk area and outlets at desk level. Nothing fancy here, pretty average. No interior hallways at this hotel as well. Room noise was not even noticable. AC unit was not annoying as most tend to make loud noises when switching. I was able to fit my pack and play in the room and had it towards the end of the bed.
Breakfast was very minimal, coffee, juice, milk, bagels, mini muffins, waffles, cereal (2 kinds) and oatmeal. They only had a 4 slice toaster for use. I didn't like the fact the person before me was hogging it for at least 10 mins for 4 slices of whatever it was she got. Seating area is very small. You had to take a chair from another table if you had more than 2 travelling with you. Most seated 2 so we had our kids sit and we stood and our little one was in a high chair that was provided there. Person running the front desk had to also maintain the breakfast area. I give props to her because she was on her A-game all the way until breakfast was said to be over which was 6-9am.
Check in was easy and employees were nice and pleasant. Overall, not bad for the price and room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

A little nervous about staying here - but rate was half that of nearby Aloft so we decided to give it a try. Room was clean and adequate. Double beds not great but ok for a quick night on our way through town on way back to New England.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Thanks very much for letting us know regarding your stay via Trip Advisor. We appreciate you chosing Red Roof Inn for your lodging needs and look forward to serve you in future travel.

Judy thompson.
Red Roof Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I have recently made reservations for our company which has traveled to Virginia before for our construction jobs. I made the reservations for our rooms from the ratings on TA. I never realized they did not come and do the rooms except every three days. When the employees (both men and women) arrived back to their room after a full day on the job, the rooms were not done, and there were no clean towels. I can see not vacumning, and dusting each day, but really, no clean towels, no straightening the covers, or cleaning the bathroom?? The rates were cheap enough, but IF they told me they don't do the rooms I would have gone elsewhere and paid a little more. They didn't complain too much, but since I pay the bills I feel the rooms should have been discounted even more sinceI wasn't told about their housekeeping.

Room Tip: Inform customers of your housekeeping or lack of before taking their reservations. Our employees ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

I give a lot of credit to the people who run Red Roof Inns. I've had better service in these inexpensive motels than in high end hotels. Red Roof offers a nice welcome and a clean room for less money. Winchester is no different. Free WiFi trumps less than luxurious towels AND they are pet friendly. If you don't like to spend a bundle just to bed down for a night or more, then Red Roof is a great choice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

At check in I was met with a quiet sort. I felt like I was disturbing him. Upon entering the room, I noticed it was dingy. The furnishings are typical Red Roof. Immediately I noticed, not one, but two stink bugs on the pillow which caused me to, of course, completely strip the bed. The sheets had ashes on them along with loose tobacco. I'm guessing the cleaning staff smoke while refreshing the room. I didn't see any legged creatures. The blanket was riddled with burn holes. Glad I brought my own blanket. The pillows are old and flat. Glad I brought my own. The bed was like sleeping on springs with a sheet. It was the most uncomfortable thing I've ever experienced. So, of course, I didn't sleep well at all. I've had a more comfortable sleep on the ground in a sleeping bag. The bathtub had cigarette burns all over it. The rug, badly stained. Glad I brought my dog's bed. I wouldn't want him laying on that rug. This place/room is in desperate need of a good wholesome cleaning, paint to freshen it up and new beds. I'm not going for the breakfast. This is not a place I would want to eat in. I've stayed at Red Roofs in allot of states, and this particular one, is the most disappointing. This particular Red Roof is at the half way point of my drive, so I used one of my free nights certificates. I think I'm going to reroute my trip to completely avoid this particular Red Roof. Does anyone have any suggestions as where to stay in the area that accepts dogs? This Red Roof is off my "where to stay" list. I've read the managers comments to the previous reviews. She should be completely ashamed of herself assuming people are accepting her words as good wishes, when in fact, she's blowing smoke up peoples you know where. Obviously, shes a poor manager. I hope Red Roof corporate takes a better look at this place and their management.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

After a long drive, we checked in to this great spot using a highway coupon book. The desk clerk was quick and courteous. The room was clean and a nice size. The bed was comfortable and the price was certainly right. The breakfast was more than adequate. To sum up this was the perfect overnight spot.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy T, Manager at Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thanks so much for appreciation. Our team is glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would to have you back and hope to serve you even better in future travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA

Address: 991 Millwood Pike, I-81 at Millwood Pike, exit #313/313-A, Winchester, VA 22602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Winchester Hotel Winchester
Winchester Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.