We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   991 Millwood Pike, I-81 at Millwood Pike, exit #313/313-A, Winchester, VA 22602   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Pet Friendly !!
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Room was average - we had 2 rooms - found a dirty rag in both rooms. Used a coupon from a travel book to save on the cost. Pleanty of restaurants in the area. Overall a nice value for the price with the coupon. Would suggest visiting the Virginia Farm Market if you have time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    48
    41
    24
    23
See reviews for
46
52
29
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

My husband and I and our 2 dogs have stayed at this Red Roof 3 times. We have found that the rooms may be the fanciest but they are very inviting and the people extra concerned for your comfort. I am amazed that the owner/manager calls our room within 1 hour of checkin to ask if our room is comfy and acceptable and wanting to know if we need anything. To me that makes me feel pretty special. We will stay here EVERY time we are within 50 miles of here..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhruvshah, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest survey. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Winchester Red Roof.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,
Judy Thompson
General Manager
Winchester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca Mex
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

A client of mine did the reservation for me, so I went into advisor and read about the hotel, when I arrived I was prepared for a bad night but it wasn't. I was at the second floor and saw a lot of pets in the rooms of the first floor. PROS location, price, breakfast included, clean linens and very good space in the rooms, CONS: the smell of the room is strange, like a mixture of smoke and humidity ... the internet access is through a cable you have to ask for it at the reception, the bed seams to be an old one (room 260).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Stayed last week..thank goodness it was only a 1 night stay! We stay at RR Inns a lot and always basic, but clean. Our room was filthy...lots of dead bugs and bug poop on bathroom floor. Bathroom door so warped it wouldn't close. NO WIFI! They hand you a short cable to plug in...if you use an IPad, you know there is no plug in...they are made for wifi. Back to the desk and girl (no name tag or I would report name) just shrugs and says I can sit in the lobby if I want to use wifi. I told her I wouldn't stay at any hotel without wifi....I can choose to stay anywhere. She shrugged and said "talk to the manager tomorrow"....ok, now that really helps! (they do advertise wifi on their website). Bottom line...dirty, bugs, no one cares. Do not stay here! I will be writing to corporate RR Inns but don't expect anything back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011 via mobile

This hotel was discusting. The showers were not cleaned, they still had hair and nobby pins in it. There were visible bed bugs in our bed. I told the manager and he got rude and told me i get your point what do you want. So they know they have them and dont care. The room tempuratue remaind hot all night. DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhruvshah, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. There has been no reports of bed bugs at the Red Roof Inn Winchester VA. The hotel has monthly trainings with the housekeeping staff to further educate them on spotting bed bugs. The pest control company treats all the rooms on regular basis to avoid such problems. The room which you stayed in has already been treated by the pest control comapny to avoid any future occurance.

Judy Thompson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

I have stayed at a number at Rod Roof Inns when I am traveling and just need a place to crash for the night, so I was happy to find this one as it was right at the midway point on my trip down to South Carolina.
Upon arrival I was very disappointed, this was the worst Red Roof Inn that I have ever seen, there was mold in the bathroom, the whole room just felt really worn and tired, I arrived at midnight and was planing on getting up at 6 am to continue my trip so I stayed anyhow, but I would NOT stay here again, there are a bunch of places to stay right on the main road so if you are in the area there are plenty of other choices.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lady Lake, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

We stoped there because we got a travel coupon from a magazine. The room had been recently redecorated and seemed nice. Had a good location for easy on-off for I-81
The coupon got us in for under $50 for the night. Had bugs in room but may have been recent fly ins (except for the big dead one under the A/C console. The carpet looked clean except for around the base boards. Doesn't anyone use a crevice tool any more? Then there was the issue of a constantly running toilet. It was so loud we had to turn the water off at the supply pipe after each use. Finally there was the issue of the dirty sheet. It had what looked like food stains on the bottom sheet. Recent food stains at that. Just went down and got a clean one at the front desk. They had a small cont. b'fast
to get you going in the AM. Wasn't just what I wanted EXCEPT for the price. We were on a family mission and just needed a place to crash for the night; our issue at the time was expense.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA

Address: 991 Millwood Pike, I-81 at Millwood Pike, exit #313/313-A, Winchester, VA 22602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Winchester Hotel Winchester
Winchester Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Winchester, VA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.