We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Winchester-North

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Winchester-North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1204 Berryville Avenue, Winchester, VA 22601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 27 hotels in Winchester
Forked River
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very pleased”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Good clean room, nice and helpful people, good breakfast. Location was perfect as we traveled Route 81 going south. We checked in late but they had all arrival info prepared and ready. We will stay there again

Room Tip: We didn't ask for a special room when arriving late, but were quite pleased with what we got
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindi R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-North, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. We appreciate that you took time to post your kind words.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon.
Cindi Rampulla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    98
    21
    15
    6
See reviews for
87
102
25
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brattleboro, Vermont
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

An older property that has recently received a handsome lobby renovation. The rooms are as one would expect from a Hampton as is the balance of the facility with the exception of the "business center". The recent lobby renovation created a "fish bowl" mid-lobby, containing the business center. It contains two computers and the usual periferals, but the work surface was placed so that the users back was to the large interior glass partition. Someone could easily walk up to the window behind a user and read the computer screen and the user would have no idea. Additionally the room had no ventilation, it made for a warm space and computers don't like heat. Perhaps some blinds or obscuring film on the windows/door would solve the security issues.

Room Tip: Free wi-fi is available - use your tablet or laptop and only rely upon the business center if a prin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindi R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-North, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay
thanks so much choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again
Cindi Rampulla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAFAYETTE
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

They have recently went through "renovation". The lever operated faucet, hot water is on the right instead of left side of fawcet, pointed out previous stay. Main entrance needs finishing, pointed out to management, not smooth transition from outside surface to intermedite entrance area between sliding doors. Needs filler piece for smooth transition. We have stayed here numerous times in a king suite, can't remember any major room problems. Great service. Like new hospitality area, porcilian floor tile laid 90 degrees wrong (looks). Good breakfast and service. Charleyy might have caught them in a less than organized moment, saw last of reno in action.

Room Tip: Be aware of lever water facuet problem, might not be in every room. Also entrance problem, these low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindi R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-North, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are so glad that we are your favorite. Thanks so much for the nice comments. We have completed our renovation and getting great feedback on it.
We always appreciate feed back from our guests.
Looking forward to seeing you again
Cindi Rampulla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband recently stayed here during a snowstorm to be close to his workplace. In the morning, he decided to stay another night because of continued dire weather reports. By early afternoon, the forecast changed and he returned to inquire about reverting his choice. He was told he could not - this hotel sends ALL of their housekeeping staff home by early afternoon, so no one was available to convert his room from "stayover clean" to "new guest clean." Don't ask me how they handle late check-out requests. The patronizing customer service employee informed me that had he made a new reservation instead of extending his current one, he would have been able to cancel - where was that information when they were assisting my husband this morning? He has stayed here previously for weather conditions, and they knew he wasn't staying for recreational purposes. When I called the hotel, instead of attempting to rectify the situation, the employee offered nothing - not even an air of understanding (pretended or otherwise) or sympathy for the people involved. When reasonable accommodations for unforeseen circumstances cannot be made or even attempted, a business loses my respect and my money. The Hampton Inn employee(s) would do well to realize that their hotel is not the only hotel in Winchester.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindi R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-North, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry the cancellation policy did not meet you and your husbands needs. We try to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel and hope that next time you all are in the area you will consider staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

our stay was excellent and had a wonderfull rest staying at this Hamton Inn hotel .( winchester va ) the room and the service was excellent breakfast was also just great and light for travelling we had stayed at other Hampton inn before and the service seems to be as good at any of these hotels..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindi R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-North, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you so much for you kind comments. It is always nice to hear when a guest enjoys their visit with us
Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Not the greatest stay at this Hampton Inn. The initial impression at check-in was fine, staff very friendly and courteous. The lobby was nice with 2 elevators serving the upper floors. Unfortunately the room conditions were very sub-standard for a Hampton Inn as my wife and I had to change rooms not once, but twice!.

In the 1st room, a spring in the bed was bad and caused a loud boinging noise (like you might hear on the 3 Stooges) every time you sat , laid down, or moved on it. Unacceptable...moved to room next door. That room had a funky smell in it (maybe cleaning fluids) and the heating/cooling wouldn't operate to circulate air. I can't comment on the bed in that room because we immediately asked for another move and went to room #3 down the hall. This room was acceptable, but the walls had large stains or discolorations as if water-damaged. It didn't affect anything, except visually, but left an overall bad impression.

The hotel is dated and I would consider it, condition-wise, more along the lines of a budget hotel. This stay won't keep me from staying at Hampton Inns in the future, but it will probably keep me from this one again.

Room Tip: My tip would be to try another hotel in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindi R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-North, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry for the condition of your guest rooms. We will take your comments under consideration as we work with both our maintenance team to improve our guest experience. We hope you will come visit us in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed here in October with my mother and a girlfriend for a quick overnight trip to beautiful Winchester for my sister's baby shower. Even though something was going on with the heater and our room was a bit too toasty, I still give this place two enthusiastic thumbs up.

Overall, the hotel felt cozy and comfortable and has ambiance to match. It was very clean and well-kept. The location was quiet and gives the feeling of being tucked away--no traffic noise at all.

Our check-in was a breeze and we helped ourselves to hot tea from the lobby after we settled in. We had a two-queen room which was good-sized, as was the bathroom--let's just say there's plenty of room to walk through without bumping into one another. The beds had the right amount of firmness; the pillows were good quality and quite plump. It was nice to have a small table and chairs available--we made use of them as we sat enjoying our tea.
We didn't try the breakfast the next morning, but the breakfast area was packed so I'd say it must be alright! I will definitely stay on my next trip to Winchester.

By the way, I booked directly through Hilton's website and got a very good rate for the room. :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindi R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-North, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your sharing experience. Our team works very hard at exceeding our guests expectations, and we are thrilled to hear when we have accomplished that goal.
We do hope to see you again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Winchester-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Winchester-North

Address: 1204 Berryville Avenue, Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Winchester
#6 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#7 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Winchester-North 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Hampton Inn®N/Convention Center, we're eager to make your stay more pleasant. Our 100 amenity-filled rooms will relax you. Feel like a run or swim? Our exercise room and outdoor pool are ready for you. When you need to get a little work done you can use our complimentary high speed internet, or employ our business center, conference room or meeting room (which accommodates up to 250 people). Lastly, when you're looking for advice on what to do and where to eat near our hotel in Winchester, just ask our in-house experts (that would be, of course, anyone on our friendly Hampton team).If you make the Hampton Inn® & Conference Center your headquarters on your next trip to Virginia, you'll be in good company. After all, George Washington's first office was here in our historic town. President James Madison lived here at Belle Grove Plantation. The brilliant strategist and Civil War general, Stonewall Jackson, also made Winchester his home base. You may still see his headquarters and Washington's office today. Like much of the town, we've preserved both. They're just minutes from our hotel in Winchester. While you're here, make sure to explore our historic district, just 1.5 miles from our hotel. But wear your walking shoes. Our district spans an incredible 45 blocks. Once you're done downtown, don't miss our other attractions such as the Patsy Cline Driving Tour, the Apple Blossom Mall and the beauty of the Shenandoah Valley. It's all just minutes away. So come check into the Hampton Inn & Conference Center, your home base in historic Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Winchester-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn North Hotel Winchester
Hampton Inn Winchester
Winchester Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Winchester-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.