We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Winchester-North

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Winchester-North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1204 Berryville Avenue, Winchester, VA 22601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 27 hotels in Winchester
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed here in October with my mother and a girlfriend for a quick overnight trip to beautiful Winchester for my sister's baby shower. Even though something was going on with the heater and our room was a bit too toasty, I still give this place two enthusiastic thumbs up.

Overall, the hotel felt cozy and comfortable and has ambiance to match. It was very clean and well-kept. The location was quiet and gives the feeling of being tucked away--no traffic noise at all.

Our check-in was a breeze and we helped ourselves to hot tea from the lobby after we settled in. We had a two-queen room which was good-sized, as was the bathroom--let's just say there's plenty of room to walk through without bumping into one another. The beds had the right amount of firmness; the pillows were good quality and quite plump. It was nice to have a small table and chairs available--we made use of them as we sat enjoying our tea.
We didn't try the breakfast the next morning, but the breakfast area was packed so I'd say it must be alright! I will definitely stay on my next trip to Winchester.

By the way, I booked directly through Hilton's website and got a very good rate for the room. :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindi R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-North, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your sharing experience. Our team works very hard at exceeding our guests expectations, and we are thrilled to hear when we have accomplished that goal.
We do hope to see you again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    97
    21
    15
    6
See reviews for
83
101
25
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cooperstown, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice recently. It is very convenient off I-81, however it is not noisy from traffic. Steve at the front desk was very polite and helpful. Nellie was in charge of breakfast and made sure we had everything we needed. My only complaint was that there was no decaf tea and I have come to rely on Hampton having this. We will continue to use this hotel. It is very clean, which is my first concern.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindi R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-North, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. Our team works hard to exceed our guests expectations, and we are always thrilled when we have done that
We thank you for taking the time to write these notes, we know you have choices and thank you for choosing us.

The Team at the Hampton Inn North Winchester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, NY
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Convenient location, clean comfortable room, friendly and personable staff, great price even without triple AA which we had, excellent self serve breakfast. The heating system was a bit noisy but we were so exhausted, it was overlooked.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindi R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-North, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words.
Our team is dedicated to great service and an exceptional product... Thanks so much for letting us and the TripAdvisor world know that we are doing it well.
We appreciate when our guests take the time to let folks know how we are doing

Hope to see you again, soon.

Cindi Rampulla
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very good hotel and freindly staff.
Winchester nice old town, lots of restaurants near by.
Easy acces from I-81.
Heating/ vent system below the window are a little noisy.
If you have to leave early, they offer snack bag and coffee are available 24hr

Room Tip: Stay on the 4 floor in case there is and event the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindi R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-North, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We always appreciate it, when our guests tell us about their stay.
Our team works hard at exceeding our guest's expectations, and it sounds like we did.
Thanks for letting us know.

Hope you will come back and see us.

Cindi Rampulla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Not bad. As always the front desk is really good, and the breakfast is small, but better than eating nothing. The rooms and beds are really clean. There is a gas station out front that has cheap beer to drink in the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We booked this hotel as an overnight stop on our way to Florida. It was convenient to the I-81 and there were a few restaurants in the area--mostly fast food--for walking to. However, the hotel staff were able to direct us to the old town area with plenty of restaurants and free parking. Our room was large (one king) with an armchair and the fridge was a larger bar fridge. We pack a lunch for the drive and it was nice to have room for water and lunch supplies. They seem to be renovating and the new breakfast bar had just opened. The heating system was noisy, I would set the fan to be on always so you get used to it and it doesn't wake you up every time it comes on. Breakfast had two hot dishes -- an omelet and potatoes, the usual waffles, products to toast. It wasn't the best selection and we did have to search for coffee--not in the breakfast area but in the lobby. Lots of gas stations right there for your refill before you get back on the interstate. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Drove in to visit my nephews - the Hampton was wonderful - great beds and wonderful service!! Upon arrival we went to our room and dropped everything and came back later exhausted and everything we needed was right there. The best was all the pillows - I sleep with 3 pillows and there were plenty of them!!

Room Tip: I had a double room and it had lots of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Winchester-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Winchester-North

Address: 1204 Berryville Avenue, Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Winchester
#6 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#7 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Winchester-North 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Hampton Inn®N/Convention Center, we're eager to make your stay more pleasant. Our 100 amenity-filled rooms will relax you. Feel like a run or swim? Our exercise room and outdoor pool are ready for you. When you need to get a little work done you can use our complimentary high speed internet, or employ our business center, conference room or meeting room (which accommodates up to 250 people). Lastly, when you're looking for advice on what to do and where to eat near our hotel in Winchester, just ask our in-house experts (that would be, of course, anyone on our friendly Hampton team).If you make the Hampton Inn® & Conference Center your headquarters on your next trip to Virginia, you'll be in good company. After all, George Washington's first office was here in our historic town. President James Madison lived here at Belle Grove Plantation. The brilliant strategist and Civil War general, Stonewall Jackson, also made Winchester his home base. You may still see his headquarters and Washington's office today. Like much of the town, we've preserved both. They're just minutes from our hotel in Winchester. While you're here, make sure to explore our historic district, just 1.5 miles from our hotel. But wear your walking shoes. Our district spans an incredible 45 blocks. Once you're done downtown, don't miss our other attractions such as the Patsy Cline Driving Tour, the Apple Blossom Mall and the beauty of the Shenandoah Valley. It's all just minutes away. So come check into the Hampton Inn & Conference Center, your home base in historic Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Winchester-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn North Hotel Winchester
Hampton Inn Winchester
Winchester Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Winchester-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.