We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Good Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Winchester-North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Winchester-North to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1204 Berryville Avenue, Winchester, VA 22601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Always Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Not bad. As always the front desk is really good, and the breakfast is small, but better than eating nothing. The rooms and beds are really clean. There is a gas station out front that has cheap beer to drink in the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    107
    24
    16
    6
See reviews for
98
111
27
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We booked this hotel as an overnight stop on our way to Florida. It was convenient to the I-81 and there were a few restaurants in the area--mostly fast food--for walking to. However, the hotel staff were able to direct us to the old town area with plenty of restaurants and free parking. Our room was large (one king) with an armchair and the fridge was a larger bar fridge. We pack a lunch for the drive and it was nice to have room for water and lunch supplies. They seem to be renovating and the new breakfast bar had just opened. The heating system was noisy, I would set the fan to be on always so you get used to it and it doesn't wake you up every time it comes on. Breakfast had two hot dishes -- an omelet and potatoes, the usual waffles, products to toast. It wasn't the best selection and we did have to search for coffee--not in the breakfast area but in the lobby. Lots of gas stations right there for your refill before you get back on the interstate. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Drove in to visit my nephews - the Hampton was wonderful - great beds and wonderful service!! Upon arrival we went to our room and dropped everything and came back later exhausted and everything we needed was right there. The best was all the pillows - I sleep with 3 pillows and there were plenty of them!!

Room Tip: I had a double room and it had lots of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Let me start with my wife and I were taking the night out for new years eve so we requested the jacuzzi suite that the hotel had and we were told by Steven that they were still available. We called up to use our honors points and were told that the hotel didn't have any rooms like that. We booked a regular room and Steven said that he would just upgrade us when we got here. We arrive at the hotel, after checking in he first gives us a regular room, we go back down stairs and after 20 more minutes finally he gets us into a "Jacuzzi" room which is just a crappy large tub in the bathroom, both of which rooms smelled like cat urine by the way and were just old and dingy. We went back again and Steven then tells us that we will have to cancel our reservation re-book with him (while losing the points we just used for the first two lovely rooms we got) by forking over 145 for the room and a 25% deposit for incidentials so we go back to our second room and get on the phone with Hilton to fix this CF. Finally after forever on the phone with Hilton and them about to tell Steven to set us up in the correct room he has "just given both of them away". At this point we were livid, after he knew to hold one of the rooms for us he gave both away within 10 minutes. What we found out later is that he ended up taking one of the rooms for him and his girlfriend. Never mind the fact that before we even arrived we brought some cookies for any hotel staff working since both of us having been either active duty military or in the service industry know that working on the holidays isn't fun, when we come back out of the room we see Steven was giving away all the cookies to some random family, not a big deal but we just didn't bring them for some random people. At this point we were done with the Hampton and just called the Hilton Garden Inn in Winchester and told them what had happened and they hooked us up with a room immediately and our night was saved. Long story short the customer service and overall condition of the Hampton was awful. I believe that these issues will be resolved because the owner of the hotel is the same as the Garden Inn and I don't think he will stand for that. So hopefully it was worth it for Steven to have the jacuzzi room for him and his girlfriend for the night and ruining a few hours of ours but something tells me this won't end well for him. Thanks so much for Bill and the Garden Inn for salvaging our night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindi R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-North, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and customer service scores with Hampton Inn. However we certainly dropped the ball in this case, and for that I am truly sorry. I have spoken with our front office team and can assure you the situation you encountered will not occur again.
I do hope you understand the situation you encountered was the exception and not the rule.

Cindi Rampulla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamston, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Always stay here whenever possible. Employees are super courteous, friendly, and willing to go the extra mile to make your stay comfortable. From the moment of check-in to departure after a breakfast. The facility is one of the cleanest we have stayed in and we really appreciate that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindi R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-North, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. We so appreciate you taking the time out of your busy day to write such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us. We know you have choices , and we are honored that you chose to stay with us.
With sincere thanks

Cindi Rampulla
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Have stayed here multiple times across several years (it's the half-way point between home and our family). Always great service. The front desk has always been efficient and polite. The rooms are always clean and everything works in the hotel. On this trip, coming and going (one week apart) Karen in the kitchen/restaurant went way above and beyond, even going so far as to pack a lunch for myself and my son for the road.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

It twas the Wednesday before Thanksgiving ... late. After driving almost 500 miles towards Grandmother's house (thankfully not thru the snow), we were so glad to stop. Steven, the night clerk, was cheery and helpful and efficient... all the perfect qualities for that moment. A really nice touch was 24 hour coffee, tea, and hot water available in the lobby. On Thanksgiving morning, we found the breakfast employee to be courteous, helpful and attentive. We are grateful for our Thanksgiving eve stay and will certainly choose this Hampton Inn again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Winchester-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Winchester-North

Address: 1204 Berryville Avenue, Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#5 Family Hotel in Winchester
#7 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Winchester-North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Hampton Inn®N/Convention Center, we're eager to make your stay more pleasant. Our 100 amenity-filled rooms will relax you. Feel like a run or swim? Our exercise room and outdoor pool are ready for you. When you need to get a little work done you can use our complimentary high speed internet, or employ our business center, conference room or meeting room (which accommodates up to 250 people). Lastly, when you're looking for advice on what to do and where to eat near our hotel in Winchester, just ask our in-house experts (that would be, of course, anyone on our friendly Hampton team).If you make the Hampton Inn® & Conference Center your headquarters on your next trip to Virginia, you'll be in good company. After all, George Washington's first office was here in our historic town. President James Madison lived here at Belle Grove Plantation. The brilliant strategist and Civil War general, Stonewall Jackson, also made Winchester his home base. You may still see his headquarters and Washington's office today. Like much of the town, we've preserved both. They're just minutes from our hotel in Winchester. While you're here, make sure to explore our historic district, just 1.5 miles from our hotel. But wear your walking shoes. Our district spans an incredible 45 blocks. Once you're done downtown, don't miss our other attractions such as the Patsy Cline Driving Tour, the Apple Blossom Mall and the beauty of the Shenandoah Valley. It's all just minutes away. So come check into the Hampton Inn & Conference Center, your home base in historic Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Winchester-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn North Hotel Winchester
Hampton Inn Winchester
Winchester Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Winchester-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.