We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Comfortable Night's Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Winchester-North

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Winchester-North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1204 Berryville Avenue, Winchester, VA 22601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 27 hotels in Winchester
West Burke
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A Comfortable Night's Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were planning to book in Front Royal, but the were full. We chose this hotel based on the ratings (AAA and tripadvisor) and the availability of a king room with a jacuzzi. We were very happy with our choice. It was easy to find and conveniently located with services nearby. The front desk clerk, Stephen, was very efficient and helpful. During my trips through the lobby I observed that he was kept very busy as he was alone. We had a restful night and the room was clean. We would choose this facility again when staying in Winchester. We only had coffee, fruit and muffins (on the go) from the breakfast, but there were several hot offerings and the area was clean and well attended by someone I believe was named Karen. There was a wedding there the night we stayed, but we didn't hear any disturbance from it whatsoever.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    102
    23
    15
    6
See reviews for
95
105
26
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Easley, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Very nice hotel. Steven was very helpful at the front desk. Rest of the staff was very nice. Room was clean. We would definitly stay here again. We often come this way traveling from South Carolina to New York. Since this is the half way point we will plan to stay here again. We always stay at Hampton Inn. With the breakfast and clean rooms it is a great value and convenient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Nice rooms, good size. Clean - there were signs everywhere that they clean duvet covers after each guest. Plenty of supplies - towels, cups, coffee, shampoo, etc. Room had coffee maker, small fridge, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, microwave, HBO, free wi-fi in rooms, a grab bar in the tub, and a curved shower rod. Included a desk, couch (maybe a sleeper?) and coffee table. We arrived at 4:00, went out for an early dinner, and by the time we returned at 7:00 the staff had called the room to make sure everything was satisfactory. Free breakfast included waffles, scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy, toast, oatmeal, pastries, fruit and yogurt. Excellent value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindi R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-North, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words regarding your stay at our Hampton Inn North. We truly appreciate the time you took to let others know about our hotel. We hope the next time your travels bring you to the Winchester area again, you will choose to stay with us.
Thanks again
Cindi Rampulla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We checked in late in the evening after a long day of flying. I chose this hotel as we wanted to get out of DC and shave an hour off our drive the next day. Check in was a little chaotic as the clerk was multi-tasking between 2 phone calls and checking us in. We were assigned a room on the third floor. The room was large with a king size bed, chair with ottoman and a desk. The bathroom was fairly clean, however upon further inspection there was mold in the shower in multiple places. It appears this hotel is in need of a makeover soon. We did have breakfast the next morning and it contained the typcial buffet choices. There was an attendant to make sure food was replenished when need be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindi R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-North, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in the area and we apologize for the housekeeping problems you experienced. Unclean rooms and bathrooms are not typical at our hotel and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will make every effort to ensure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards and that our guests are 100% satisfied with their stay. We hope you will give us another chance if you visit this area in the future.
Cindi Rampulla
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at this location on a Monday in room 119. The room was very clean vanity large with plenty of room lovely king size bed. The jacuzzi filled very quickly with ample hot water. Karen who runs the breakfast area was friendly and very attentive to our needs and wouldn't let us clean up after ourselves. A very pleasant stay.

The second stay was 1 week later in room 201 with 2 double beds. The room was clean and again had a big vanity. The heating unit in this room was very noisy and needs to be replaced. Also hot water was very slow in coming. We were at opposite ends of hallway than the 1st time so this could be the problem and may not be fixable.

Theresa checked us in and out and she was professional and polite and efficient. Karen was again manning the kitchen area and was great, all employees we encountered we'd very good. We would stay again as we found a local restaurant that we liked, Cafe Violino.

When the staff learned we were on our honeymoon on the 2nd stay, a Saturday night, Karen and Theresa put a bag of goodies together for our journey home with a little card, very sweet! The 1st stay we hadn't mentioned that.

Room Tip: The 119 end of hallway seemed to have better hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This Hampton needs to be renovated, and soon! Also, when I arrived the free cookies and water in my room were old and both tasted terrible. This is located in an awesome location, close to everything, easy to get into and out of, and has plentiful excellent parking. Breakfast was one of the worst I've had at a Hampton. I really hope this Hampton undergoes a renovation, and they have someone take over the food management or overlook it, because for someone like me, who stays at a lot of Hampton Inns, I can see this one tries to cut too many corners. But this Hampton Inn can become very good, very quickly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindi R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-North, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
I am so sorry our Hampton did not meet your expectations. We are beginning a major renovation in November. I apologize if there was something wrong at breakfast. Hampton has very consistant standards at all of our hotels, and follow the standards at all times. We pride ourselves on operating a very clean, service oriented hotel, and if we failed at that during your stay with us, I do sincerely apologize. I do hope you will give us a try again, our renovations should be complete by the end of the year
Cindi Rampulla
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pyeongtaek, South Korea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

For a suite that costs more than $100 per night, it sure as heck looks like one of their rooms that cost less than $80 a night. The room is suppose to be made for more than 2 people yet it has only OME chair to sit in.

The furniture is old and all the rooms needs a serious face lift. The carpet especially was disgusting, it was spongey feeling like it had been power washed with year old dirty water. Walking around getting ready in the morning made the bottoms of my feet sticky and gray.

The service is bare and basic. The house keeping at another Hampton Inn always left us fresh towels at the door even when we had the DND sign up. Here, not only do they not do that, but the cleaning isn't so well either. Our whirlpool tub was murky and the jets was especially gross with hair and gunk in it.

There's no digital thermostat.

The light is horrible. There are more than 5 lamps in my room and they're so dark that I mine as well had candles lit. I don't understand why they couldn't have just had real lighting, with light switches.

The kitchenette was small. The fridge in the cheaper rooms was actually bigger than the ones in the suite. There was no counter space and even though there was a kitchenette, I still had to make coffee in the bathroom!

The closet door was the actual mirror that swung out. Yeah like that's not creepy at all. The magnet that held the door in was broken so the door kept creeping open and making squeaking sounds in the middle of the night so my husband stuck his luggage against it.

Would NEVER stay here again.

I'm an HHonors Diamond member and this is not a good hotel to be in. Should have stayed at the Hilton.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindi R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-North, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
I apologize we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. We take the Hampton 100% Guarantee very seriously and had you brought any of your concerns to any one of our teams' attention, we would have immediatley refunded your money. I have certainly checked into all the issues you addressed here.
We pride ourselves on operating a very clean and well stocked hotel and try to exceed every one of our guests' expectations. I do apologize that your stay did not meet your expections.

Cindi Rampulla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Winchester-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Winchester-North

Address: 1204 Berryville Avenue, Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Winchester
#6 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#7 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Winchester-North 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Hampton Inn®N/Convention Center, we're eager to make your stay more pleasant. Our 100 amenity-filled rooms will relax you. Feel like a run or swim? Our exercise room and outdoor pool are ready for you. When you need to get a little work done you can use our complimentary high speed internet, or employ our business center, conference room or meeting room (which accommodates up to 250 people). Lastly, when you're looking for advice on what to do and where to eat near our hotel in Winchester, just ask our in-house experts (that would be, of course, anyone on our friendly Hampton team).If you make the Hampton Inn® & Conference Center your headquarters on your next trip to Virginia, you'll be in good company. After all, George Washington's first office was here in our historic town. President James Madison lived here at Belle Grove Plantation. The brilliant strategist and Civil War general, Stonewall Jackson, also made Winchester his home base. You may still see his headquarters and Washington's office today. Like much of the town, we've preserved both. They're just minutes from our hotel in Winchester. While you're here, make sure to explore our historic district, just 1.5 miles from our hotel. But wear your walking shoes. Our district spans an incredible 45 blocks. Once you're done downtown, don't miss our other attractions such as the Patsy Cline Driving Tour, the Apple Blossom Mall and the beauty of the Shenandoah Valley. It's all just minutes away. So come check into the Hampton Inn & Conference Center, your home base in historic Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Winchester-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn North Hotel Winchester
Hampton Inn Winchester
Winchester Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Winchester-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.