We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PLEASANT STAY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Winchester-North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Winchester-North to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1204 Berryville Avenue, Winchester, VA 22601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Trumbull, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“PLEASANT STAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

My wife and I have been traveling I-81 regularly for about 11 years. We used to stay here but then started staying a University Blvd. We were pleasantly supprised by our reacquaintance with this Hampton Inn. We had a very nice stay. Only negative our favorite seafood restaurant went out of business.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor - convenient to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    123
    26
    16
    6
See reviews for
104
127
29
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastchester, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Whenever we're traveling through I81 we always stay in Winchester because of all the gourmet restaurants. This Hampton Inn has a good rate, nice clean rooms, yummy breakfast, easy on-off, and is close to the restaurant cluster in Old Town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

our room was great, the breakfast was great, price was great, but we didnt appreciate walking thru the smoke of an employee and her friends at the hotels entrance plus there was foul language from one of them (not the hotel employee).

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

After a long day of driving north in the pouring rain, we decided it was time to find a place to stay for the night. There are two Hampton Inns in Winchester....and one is by the mall. A big red No Way sign flashed over our heads on that one. We booked online and arrived an hour later. Everything was ready for us and we were thrilled.

The room was large, clean, and the bed quite comfy. It's an easy-on, easy-off for Rt. 81, and several chain restaurants are one highway exit away (2 miles). Breakfast foods were varied, plentiful, hot, and delicious. There is no way you would leave there hungry. Being a weekday, we received a newspaper at our door first thing in the morning.

I would absolutely stay there again on our next trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Md
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Overall, the hotel was clean and welcoming and the location was great between the major roads, gas stations, food, etc.. Upon arrival to check-in, which was around 8:45pm, I walked in as two employees walked out for a smoke break. Seven minutes later, one of them came in, apologizing for the wait, and from that point was very efficient and welcoming. I thought that the wait was very excessive, even for that time of evening. Apparently, the person that was supposed to be at the desk wasn't, but showed up at the same time as the other person. I got my roomkey, water and cookies (nice touch). The room (#111) was very nice, clean, comfortable bed and decent amenities. The heat in the room worked very well and the bed (king) was comfortable as were the pillows. Room lighting was easily accessible on the far walls as well as right next to the bed, and the bathroom lighting was nice and bright, unlike some hotels where it's more ambiance and shadows than just bright white light...might seem minor but I think it's an important element to note. There was a little black mold on the underside of the soap dish and around the shower; I seldom see this in hotels but do know that when it happens, it's very hard to remove. The breakfast food was fine, standard to what I typically see at these hotels and the quality was fine; the selection of food did seem a bit less than other Hilton and Hampton hotels but the variety was no issue. Otherwise, everything was nice and if in the area I would stay here over other locations.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Usually we don't stay at Hotels. This Hotel was clean, quiet, price was good, staff friendly and the bed's comfortable. We were surprised by the breakfast, there was quite a variety. We will definitely stop here again. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed two nights at this property for a recent wedding. I'm a regular Hampton Inn and Gold Hilton Honors customer. This place is clean and located right off the highway.

However, this stay was disappointing. Hamptons are reliable and a good value. I booked my room six months ago when I received my "save-the-date.". I booked a king bedded room specifically. When I checked in, the didn't have this room for us and made no apology. When I went back to the front desk to ask for a change I was told that there were no other rooms available. This was frustrating and ruined the otherwise friendly welcome.

I think the hotel also failed b/c they failed to recognize my status as a regular Hilton customer. Usually when I arrive at a Hampton property they offer a note with waters or snacks. Something that says, thanks for being a repeat guest. Here I was treated worse than expected and given something other than what I reserved.

My advice for anyone staying in Winchester would be to stay downtown at the Wyndam.

The breakfast was mediocre. Nothing "southern" or home made.

Room Tip: First floor because all parking is in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Winchester-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Winchester-North

Address: 1204 Berryville Avenue, Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#4 Family Hotel in Winchester
#6 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Winchester-North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Hampton Inn®N/Convention Center, we're eager to make your stay more pleasant. Our 100 amenity-filled rooms will relax you. Feel like a run or swim? Our exercise room and outdoor pool are ready for you. When you need to get a little work done you can use our complimentary high speed internet, or employ our business center, conference room or meeting room (which accommodates up to 250 people). Lastly, when you're looking for advice on what to do and where to eat near our hotel in Winchester, just ask our in-house experts (that would be, of course, anyone on our friendly Hampton team).If you make the Hampton Inn® & Conference Center your headquarters on your next trip to Virginia, you'll be in good company. After all, George Washington's first office was here in our historic town. President James Madison lived here at Belle Grove Plantation. The brilliant strategist and Civil War general, Stonewall Jackson, also made Winchester his home base. You may still see his headquarters and Washington's office today. Like much of the town, we've preserved both. They're just minutes from our hotel in Winchester. While you're here, make sure to explore our historic district, just 1.5 miles from our hotel. But wear your walking shoes. Our district spans an incredible 45 blocks. Once you're done downtown, don't miss our other attractions such as the Patsy Cline Driving Tour, the Apple Blossom Mall and the beauty of the Shenandoah Valley. It's all just minutes away. So come check into the Hampton Inn & Conference Center, your home base in historic Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Winchester-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn North Hotel Winchester
Hampton Inn Winchester
Winchester Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Winchester-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.