We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton near Shenandoah University is great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   640 East Jubal Early Drive, Winchester, VA 22601-5176   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hampton near Shenandoah University is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Very comfortable, clean, and friendly property. The staff at this Hampton is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, and the location extremely convenient to Shenandoah University. Free breakfast is standard Hampton fare. Lobby has recently been remodeled and is very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEBuckeyeFan, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass your kind words onto our team, we always love to hear feedback on how we are performing.

Thank you for choosing us while in Winchester and thank you again for your response. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    83
    28
    12
    1
See reviews for
58
90
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed here for one night while driving from Jersey to North Carolina. I usually to the drive in one shift, but I got caught in an ice storm. The front desk was great and very accomodating. The breakfast in the morning served its purpose, although I wouldnt consider it anything to brag about. The room was fine, no complaints. Soft bed, great shower, normal tv channels. What I like about this place is that they know it is due for an update, and are working on it. They were re doing the fitness room and painting a downstairs hallway, so one can hope that the rooms will be remodeled soon. Overall, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: the smoking room is on the top floor. If you are a non smoker, ask for a lower floor than the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEBuckeyeFan, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We recently completed the remodel of our lobby and fitness center! We hope to see you in the future and share our new accommodations with you.

Thank you for choosing us while in Winchester and thank you again for your business. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton,FL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Conveniently located off I-81. I stop here frequently while traveling to or from my daughter's house. The front desk staff is very friendly and the hotel very clean. Great value. Doesn't deserve a verbose review- a succinct one will do!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEBuckeyeFan, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass your kind words on to our team, we always love to hear feedback on how we are performing.

Thank you for choosing us while in Winchester and thank you again for your response. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Hard mattresses makes your back hurt. Beds not recommended for handicapped not only are they hard but they are too low to the floor and hard to get out of. If you are used to a hospital bed this is not the bed for you a roll away is more convenient than this bed. I tossed and turned all night because the bed was so uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms on back side by facing KFC are quiet on upper levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEBuckeyeFan, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of our property. It is my regret that our mattress did not live up to your expectations. Your review will be used to consider needed improvements and I hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include Hampton properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This Hampton Inn hasn't been updated in a while and you can tell. The trade off is that it was priced quite affordably. The room was clean but the toilet and sink were very low. The room had an unusual smell that kept filling the air of the room - at least it wasn't an unpleasant smell! When we asked the front desk they didn't know where it was coming from. Down side was that the room next door was extremely loud. The folks covering the front desk were helpful and friendly. The only other thing from our particular stay is that I noticed a few different food options that most of the other Hampton Inns. They have these egg, cheese, and bacon bagels. Quite good! Overall a good stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunkport, Maine
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

On a recent trip from Maine to Texas my husband and I stayed at the Hampton Inn with our small dog, Max. We did not have a reservation, but they were able to give us the only room available which was a smoking room. We are non-smokers. The beds were comfortable with crispy clean linens. The room had been a bit abused by smokers... burns in the carpet, etc. The room did smell quite strong of cigarettes. My husband went to the local Walgreens and bought some Febreeze. After spraying the room it was a little better. I am sure that the non-smoking rooms are very nice. The hotel is very quiet and the breakfast is pretty good. The rate for the room was unbeatable, $79 per night!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paw Paw, West Virginia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I've come to expect cleanliness in Hampton Inns, but this Inn struck me as especially clean. Even the carpets in the halls seemed newly laid. The front desk was helpful and friendly. Our breakfast in the morning was sufficient, and tasty. It was a one night stay, but enjoyable nonetheless.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area

Address: 640 East Jubal Early Drive, Winchester, VA 22601-5176
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Winchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#5 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Hotel Winchester
Winchester Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.