We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than sleeping in a tent” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Winchester

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn Winchester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Americas Best Value Inn Winchester
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2649 Valley Ave, Winchester, VA 22601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 27 hotels in Winchester
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Better than sleeping in a tent”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This motel cost $9 more than the local campground would charge for me to pitch my tent. And, it was raining. Was it worth it? Yes, but only marginally so. This is an old motel, abandoned by the freeway bypass. Probably now owned by immigrants. On the positive side: everything worked and was clean; the front desk very helpful. On the negative: everything is worn out - the bedding, the towels, the TV, the carpeting, the paint. The continental breakfast almost nonexistent. But, it was about half the price of the well-known chain motels. So, it was better than camping out in the rain ... but I wouldn't stay there with my wife.

Room Tip: There are several motels immediately adjacent to this one. All once popular, but now abandoned by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    1
    8
    11
See reviews for
5
5
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Pros: The location was convenient & price reasonable. Staff was friendly & helpful. Facility looks fairly nice from outside esp. with the brick front. Room was large, spacious & included a dorm fridge & microwave. Nice laundry room if needed. Cable tv & in room phone provided. Mattresses were comfortable. Good water pressure in shower.
Cons: Stayed there because of location, price & the pool. I guess 2 out of 3's not bad. The pool was closed with a winter cover over it (in mid July). Free breakfast consisted of cold cereal, loaf bread that could be toasted & coffee (juice machine was broken). 2 out of 4 of the bed pillows were badly stained under pillowcases & should be replaced. No fitted sheet on beds, just a flat sheet that moves around & pulls loose every time you move. Rooms are old & run-down, in need of repair (one area of bedroom carpet badly torn). Bathroom floor was dirty, tub was filthy with brown soap scum & bathroom ceiling was half falling down. 2 drink vending machines available but only working & no snack machines at all. I was told (tiny bags)of ice available in the office (which closes at night tho check-in/out transactions can be done through a small window). Entire room is cooled by an inefficient window unit that doesn't seem to cool room very well. Microwave is turned on & off by plugging & unplugging it from outlet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanisha1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Winchester, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear NCNativeMom,

Thank you for sharing your detailed experience with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and friendly staff. We are aware of the other issues you had mentioned and are planning to take corrective measures in the near future. We hope that you choose to stay with us again or at another one of our Americas Best Value Inns located across the Country.



Regards,
Vic-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Winchester, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Pro- Pet friendly ($5 fee), Cheep. Cons- Dirty sheets, smellyroom, hard beds, Big Holes in carpet, Big holes in ceiling, no fan in bathroom, no security lock on door, after dark out side check inn, no Ice machine, No breakfest. a seperate deposit that you have to go back an get refunded on cheak out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanisha1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Winchester, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Gary A,

On behalf of the staff and management, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect experience with us. Rest assured, we are addressing your concerns so that our future guests have a more memorable experience.


Regards,
Vic-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Winchester, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The room was very dirty. There were hairs and spots on all the linens. Some of the towels were dirty and looked like they had been refolded to hide the dirt. The carpeted floor was sticky and very outdated. There was also a stain beside the bed that looked somewhat like vomit. It was also hard to get the toilet to flush. We also discovered an ant/roach trap on top of the closet shelf. I definitely wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Always view the room before choosing to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanisha1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Winchester, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear mybirdsdotnet,

Thank you for posting a traveler review with us. I appreciate your sincerity in bringing the housekeeping issues to our attention. We have made some recent improvements to our housekeeping practices. Once again, please accept my deepest apologies for the inconvenience.



Regards,
Vic-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Winchester, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Norriton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Had I seen the room before staying I would not have stayed here. Booked it because it was pet friendly. Room was not very clean and when we reported a clump of hair in the bathroom we were offered a towel to clean it up. Manager reluctantly did finally did come to room and cleaned it. If given a choice for another hotel, take it!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanisha1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Winchester, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Dave R,

I appreciate the fact that you took the time to share a review. I am sorry to hear about the housekeeping issues you encountered. We are taking the time to address your concerns and have implemented some new training measures. We hope that you give us another opportunity in the future.


Regards,
Vic-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Winchester, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I didnt even want to sleep on the quilt on the bed. The non english speaking staff would not refund my money so we were stuck. The alarm clock was making a zapping noise upon arrival if thats any indication about the stay. The room smelled like mildew. Don't make the same mistake we did keep driving to the next exit a cheaper price did not justify the gross feeling

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanisha1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Winchester, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear VWbluebug74,

Thank you for sharing a traveler review with us. I am sorry to hear about the issues you encountered with housekeeping during your stay. We are in the process of upgrading our bedding package. We have implemented some new systems to better train our housekeeping staff. We hope that these changes will improve the overall experience.


Regards,
Vic-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Winchester, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Honestly my job requires me to travel alot so of seen alot of hotels and staff this hotel is pretty bad poor lighting bathroom makes me feel like im in Iraq. Shower drains so slowly the tub fills with water. Door locks very sketchy should have probley been completely renovated. 15 years ago! I do not recommend pay the extra money and stay in the country in or something like that.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanisha1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Winchester, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear motoman81888,

On behalf of the staff of Americas Best Value Inn, I would like to personally apologize for any issues you encountered during your stay. We are in the process of updating our bedding package. We are also planning on additional updates in the near future. I am sorry that we could not meet your expectations.


Regards,
Vic-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Winchester, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Winchester

Address: 2649 Valley Ave, Winchester, VA 22601
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 27 hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Winchester 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Americas Best Value Inn of Winchester, VA is the secret of Shenandoah Valley. We offer four tastefully decorated landscaped acres, a 1,500 sq. ft. entertainment and apple-terrace dining deck and meeting room for corporate clients.. The property is conveniently located to all historic sites including George Washington's boyhood home. The home of Patsy Cline is 12 miles, Luray Caverns are 20 miles, and Summit Point Auto Racetrack is 12 miles away. We offer complimentary continental breakfast each morning and have a fabulous restaurant on premise. The downtown area is one mile from the hotel and we are centrally located only two miles from the interstate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.