We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Martinsburg Pike, Winchester, VA 22603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Grovetown, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is one place that I would recommend to others. The people here are extremely friendly and polite. They made sure that we had everything we needed. I am disabled and they went out of thier
way to ensure that I would be comfortable.
The breakfast service was superb. The lady working in that area made sure that everyone had an enjoyable breakfast. It is the first place that I stayed that all food that was supposed to be hot was hot.
I will definitly stay there again the next time I am in the area.
GREAT JOB!!!

Room Tip: My room was on the ground floor and I didn't hear any noise. The rooms are spacious and very co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for the kind of review any manager would love to see! You made my day, my staff and I work very hard, so its great when a guest acknowledges our effort. I will definelty pass this around to the staff so they know it IS all worthwhile and guests do notice!
Thanks for staying with us and hope to see you sgain in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    56
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
50
49
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed at this Comfort Inn on 7/7/14. It is a typical Comfort Inn – drab yellow. Unlike some others, this one is clean and convenient to I81. Surprising is that it was very quiet (room 310) given its proximity to the freeway. Personnel at the front desk were friendly. A special note on the breakfast room attendant - she was very efficient and accommodating. Given other comments about service, we were quite pleased. The room was clean and comfortable although the bathroom was small. Restaurants are close by and central Winchester is but a few miles away. Overall, given the level of accommodations, it was a good overnight.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
We are glad that we made your stay COMFORT-able, that is our goal. Its great when guests take the time from their own busy lives to write a review of their stay. My staff and I really use these to improve, so your next stay will be even better!
Thanks Again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed in room 126 on a Sunday in June. We generally only ever stay in La Quinta, Comfort Inns or Best Western. No La Quinta close by and we chose this hotel over Best Western due to the fact they had a laundry and included breakfast in the price which was around $25 more than BW. It was time to do some laundry and that was the decider.
Location is handy but hard to call it anything special since it is located near other budget hotel and Dennys.
Check-in was very smooth and the gentleman on reception helpful and friendly. Plenty of parking and access to the room was painless. Good room layout with 2 carver type chairs next to a generous square table that easily accommodated 2 laptop users. There was a low stand which was perfect for placing a suitcase on and a second folding suitcase stand – well done Comfort. I am constantly baffled why virtually all other motels with rooms that accommodate 4 persons usually only provide stands for one suitcase.
Wi-Fi was excellent. I mark them down however in that after providing the table and chairs there was no power outlet within 8 feet of the table. I always carry an extension and multiple outlet for all the phones so it was not an issue for us but I imagine many could be found sitting on the bed using the bedside table to get power to their laptop.
Breakfast menu was good and the breakfast area is spacious with adequate seating. The staff in the breakfast area were doing an excellent job of ensuring everyone was satisfied.
We ate at Denny’s which has an adjoining door access between the hotel and the restaurant. I thought this was one of the better Denny’s we have eaten at and I liked the décor.
We used the laundry and that was fine.
Overall this is a good hotel that would be considered very goodt in a more verdant location.
We do not regret spending the extra money as the breakfast more than made up for that and we got the laundry squared away.
You will not regret choosing this one for a night's rest.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Its great to hear from a guests that stayed a couple of nights, and then took the time to write such a detailed review. My employees and I take these reviews very seriously. They tell us want we are doing right, what we are doing wrong, and how we can improve. We are always looking for ways to make us better and more guest friendly, so thanks again for your time.
Sincerely,
Kerry Fulton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrs, CT
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed one night at Comfort Inn and loved the extremely clean room with microwave and fridge. The clerk who checked us in was very rude and unfriendly. I wasn't't sure if he was racist or if he didn't like our coupon or both. He was very friendly to the people in front of us and behind us. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay at Comfort Inn. The breakfast attendant was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fantastic with scrambled eggs. The location is great right off I-81. We would stay here again despite the clerk with attitude. There is no elevator and there is a very long steep flight of stairs for second story room we requested in case anyone has a problem with stairs, then stay on first floor.

Room Tip: Second story rooms are quiet but long steep staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
My name is Ferry Fulton and I am the General Manager here at the Comfort Inn. First of all thank you for choosing us for your lodging needs, we know that you have many choices and are very appreciative of your business. That being said I am very happy that you were pleased with your stay, but I am also horrified to hear that you feel like a member of my staff treated you differently than he did other guests. I have spoken to him about the incident and would really appreciate the opportunity to hear your version of the events in question. We really pride ourselves in having the best customer service in the business and do not practice discrimination of any sort. So if there is something like that going on I would like to get all the information possible so we may ensure that this does not happen again. Please feel free to call or email me at your convenience. Hope to talk to you soon.

Best Regards,

Kerry Fulton
(540) 667-8894
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stopped for the night on our way to Charlotte, NC from central NY. The location was perfect for us, it was just about halfway to Charlotte and very convenient, just off of interstate 81. The desk clerk was very helpful and polite. Our room was very clean and comfortable, even the hallways smelled clean and fresh. Also, the breakfast was excellent. For the reasonable price you couldn't beat this hotel! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. My staff and I take interest in each and every review we receive from guests. They tell us what we are doing right and where we need to improve. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Comfort Inn in Winchester is one of the nicest ones we have ever stayed in. The room was immaculate. No dirt, dust or grundgy feel. The motel has been refurbished and is the same as a brand new Comfort Inn. The beds are some of the most comfortable I have ever slept on. Sparkling white linens and towels. I wish all Comfort Inns were clean like this one.

The staff was awesone as well. Tiffany who was busy training a new employee made sure we had everything we needed. She managed to take care of all the guests and train at the same time without missing a beat. Kristen who was the new hire is just as polite as Tiffany and will be an asset to this hotel.

I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again if I am in the area!

Room Tip: Be careful stepping in the grass. People walk their dogs and fail to pick up after them. LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you very much for the kind words regarding your recent stay! I'm delighted you had an excellent, clean stay and found our staff to be very helpful and friendly. We're grateful for your 5-star ratings across the board and look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Winchester! Thanks again for your review.
Sincerely,
Kerry Fulton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malone, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is the first time I've stayed at this hotel--I normally stay at the Sleep Inn when I'm in Winchester, but they were out of rooms. I figured a Comfort Inn is usually "above" a Sleep Inn, but this one wasn't. There was a musty smell in some of the hallways--I literally had to stop breathing while walking in them because the smell bothered me too much. The rest of the place was pretty decent. The rooms were clean, which was what I cared about the most. It definitely seems like an older hotel, though.

Room Tip: It didn't seem to matter what side you chose--you're not right off the interstate--which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay here with us. We value all guest feedback and have addressed the issues with the appropriate staff members. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future so that we can show you how your comments have helped us improve.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 1601 Martinsburg Pike, Winchester, VA 22603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Winchester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Winchester
Comfort Inn Winchester
Winchester Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.