We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for I81 travelers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Martinsburg Pike, Winchester, VA 22603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Auburn, New York
1 review
“Excellent choice for I81 travelers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stopped for the night on our way to Charlotte, NC from central NY. The location was perfect for us, it was just about halfway to Charlotte and very convenient, just off of interstate 81. The desk clerk was very helpful and polite. Our room was very clean and comfortable, even the hallways smelled clean and fresh. Also, the breakfast was excellent. For the reasonable price you couldn't beat this hotel! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. My staff and I take interest in each and every review we receive from guests. They tell us what we are doing right and where we need to improve. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    47
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
41
41
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Comfort Inn in Winchester is one of the nicest ones we have ever stayed in. The room was immaculate. No dirt, dust or grundgy feel. The motel has been refurbished and is the same as a brand new Comfort Inn. The beds are some of the most comfortable I have ever slept on. Sparkling white linens and towels. I wish all Comfort Inns were clean like this one.

The staff was awesone as well. Tiffany who was busy training a new employee made sure we had everything we needed. She managed to take care of all the guests and train at the same time without missing a beat. Kristen who was the new hire is just as polite as Tiffany and will be an asset to this hotel.

I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again if I am in the area!

Room Tip: Be careful stepping in the grass. People walk their dogs and fail to pick up after them. LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you very much for the kind words regarding your recent stay! I'm delighted you had an excellent, clean stay and found our staff to be very helpful and friendly. We're grateful for your 5-star ratings across the board and look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Winchester! Thanks again for your review.
Sincerely,
Kerry Fulton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malone, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is the first time I've stayed at this hotel--I normally stay at the Sleep Inn when I'm in Winchester, but they were out of rooms. I figured a Comfort Inn is usually "above" a Sleep Inn, but this one wasn't. There was a musty smell in some of the hallways--I literally had to stop breathing while walking in them because the smell bothered me too much. The rest of the place was pretty decent. The rooms were clean, which was what I cared about the most. It definitely seems like an older hotel, though.

Room Tip: It didn't seem to matter what side you chose--you're not right off the interstate--which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay here with us. We value all guest feedback and have addressed the issues with the appropriate staff members. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future so that we can show you how your comments have helped us improve.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I have stayed at the Comfort Inn in Winchester, VA at least once a month on business for the past decade. Over time, I have see the costly renovation of the hotel as the kind and helpful owner addresses the requirements of the Choice Hotel Chain. Most recently, the lobby and public spaces, including the hallways, have been completely renovated with new paint, flooring and lighting. Previous to that, the rooms were completely renovated. The owner is committed to the quality of his property and is visibly continuing to enhance the quality of guests' stays.
Many people choose to stay repeatedly at the hotel including families, business travelers from Canada or New England who travel back and forth between Florida and home. I have spoken to countless guests (in both English and French) who time and pace their trips to be able to stay in this Comfort Inn. The hotel is is in great condition. Its greatest asset is the customer service commitment led by its owner and reflected by its staff from the front desk to the housekeepers. The hotel provides a bountiful hot and cold breakfast that I have found to be significantly better and more varied than other hotels in this class. It also has a swimming pool which is popular among tired travelers, especially in the muggy summer months. I have been a monthly guest for a decade and am delighted with the hotel, its rooms, complimentary breakfast, its management, staff, and overall amenities. I recommend it highly and without reservation.

Room Tip: Since the hotel is at an exit off of I-81, people with issues with this noise should ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to reflect and share your review with us.
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations!
We take great pride in delivering a crisp and fresh overall experience to our guests, and we are pleased to know that we were able to provide you with such.
Thank you for the kind words about our staff and owner - We will be sure to pass them along, as acknowledgement and kudos are always incentive for continued success!
We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in town.
Thanks again for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Had the pleasure of staying at the Comfort Inn while traveling North to New England area. The room had beautiful wood paneling on the ceiling and an updated bathroom. It was clean and the beds were super comfortable (as well as the pillows). An added benefit was the Denny's restaurant, which you could easily access from the hotel lobby (connected, in the same bldg.). We had late night nachos in 15 minutes! Also, the WiFi didn't require fooling around with an access code. GREAT! We missed the breakfast as we slept so soundly (no complaints there, as I normally don't sleep well in hotels). We turned the "fan" on the AC unit to provide background noise, as the hotel is located just off the interstate. For the price (which was very reasonable), you can't beat it! We were very satisfied. Thanks Comfort Inn!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit an excellent review and for staying with us at the Comfort Inn in Winchester, VA. We are thrilled that you had such a nice experience at the hotel. We strive for these kind reviews, its makes us feel like we are on the right track to make our guest feel like they are home and look forward to your next visit when your travels bring you back to the area.
Thanks Again
Kerry Fulton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Berwick, Maine
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Clean room. Good breakfast. Quiet. Right off Interstate. In same parking lot as Denny's. Polite front desk employees. We would stay there again. Across the street from cheap gas at Sheetz convenience store.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's nice to hear your positive feedback about our easy and friendly check in experience. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations.
Sincerely,
Kerry Fulton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Our next night we stopped at Winchester, VA. Comfort Inn this time. This hotel is off I-81 on Martinburg Pike but is easy to get to. It looks like this was an old hotel but it is updated and clean. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The room was large and the bathroom had extra towels. There is a fitness room and pool. The pool was closed due to the season. If you are concerned about noise do not get the room next to the fitness room as you can hear the people on the treadmill.
The breakfast room was spacious and with the usual Comfort breakfast. The attendant was very friendly and kept the tables clean

Room Tip: Don't get the room next to the fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are an older property, which means we have to work harder to make our guests comfortable and want to return, so its great for you to notice our efforts. Thanks again and hope to see you in the near future!
Sincerely,
Kerry Fulton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 1601 Martinsburg Pike, Winchester, VA 22603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Choice Hotels, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Winchester
Comfort Inn Winchester
Winchester Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.