We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay, Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Martinsburg Pike, Winchester, VA 22603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 27 hotels in Winchester
Lexington, South Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Good Stay, Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Registering was a breeze with a friendly young man with plenty of information.

We had a king room on the first floor just around the corner from the desk. The room and bath were very clean and well appointed with a refrigerator and microwave as well as a chifferobe instead of a built in closet. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. The room was a little tight on space due to the chifferobe , desk, refrig/microwave, dresser and cushioned chair but was fine for a few nights. There were only 2 towels in the room, but the desk clerk gave more when asked.

We thought at first we would hear traffic accelerating from the traffic light on Martinsburg Pike in front of the motel but that turned out not to be the case. We slept well with no disturbances.

There is a Denny's attached that you can enter off the lobby of the motel. The decor was dated for Denny's but the food and service were good. It worked out great for a rainy night due to Hurricane Sandy.

The motel breakfast was good with the standard fare as well as fresh waffles, scrambled eggs and sausage. The breakfast area was a room by itself and probably seats about 20.

We recommend the motel and will stay here if in the area in the future.

Room Tip: If sensitive to noise, ask for a room away from I-81 and Martinsburg Pike in front (traffic light wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to describe your stay with us. It nice to hear about our property from a guests point of view. We are conveniently located to restaurants, highways, and shopping areas, which you don't realize the outside activity when in the hotel. This does make to a good night's sleep and a choice of eating options. Thanks for statying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    44
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
38
39
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middle Tennessee
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We chose the Comfort inn in Winchester for a stopover while traveling. The location is right off the interstate which is great when traveling. The room was nicely furnished and roomy and the bed was very comfortable. The service was excellent. Melissa, who was on the front desk was very friendly and went out of her way to help us. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it for anyone else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thanks for your wonderful comments about our hotel and staff, especially Melissa. We all work hard to make our guest feel welcomed and comfortable, buts it great when one of us are singled out and given recognition to a job well done! Thanks for taking the time to do so and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestnut Hill, MA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a fine, clean place with a well-trained and attentive staff. My room was on the second floor and featured a handsome hardwood ceiling which was high and gave a real feeling of space to the room. Furnishings seemed new and lighting was warm and comfortable.

Check-in was handled by "Mother Kelly" who apologized for being unable to give me what I preferred...a first-floor room. This turned out to be a non-issue, and I had a great night's sleep in a very comfortable bed with a pile of pillows.

WiFi service was strong and easily-accessed.

Breakfast was what has become standard fare at this kind of hotel. If that were not sufficient, I could have walked across the lobby and right into a Denny's restaurant which seemed to be in the same building.

Mother Kelly told me I should park my motorcycle under the entrance canopy to keep it out of some expected rain. It was very nice to have this kind of offer.

Room Tip: There is no elevator which I could find, so older travelers and those with disabilities should ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Wow, Thanks for letting us know we are doing our job! These are the kind of comments we live for. Even though the industry standards does not think the little things count, I'm here to say they do!
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dauphin, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night while attending an event in the area and doing some sightseeing. We chose the Comfort Inn for two reasons...the ratings on Trip Advisor and because they are pet-friendly (and only $10 extra!). The check-in was fast and the room and bathroom were very clean and well stocked. It looks like the bathroom was recently updated (and although it may sound crass, thanks for the elongated toilet and enough room that my knees didn't hit the wall). I was a little concerned about noise in the hallways and from Denny's, which is attached to the hotel, but I heard nothing. If the room was used prior to our stay for pets, there was no indication at all (some pet-friendly rooms always smell like wet dog). We were pleased with the breakfast selection and there was enough for both of us to leave without wanting more. If in the area, there would be no hesitation about staying at the Comfort Inn again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Even though there was a delay in responding to this comment, I want everyone to know that each and every comment is very important to my staff and I. They tell us what we are doing right, wrong and how we can improve. Thank you for your wonderful thoughts concerning our hotel. We do take pride in what we do, and you just proves that it shows.
Thanks Again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
green sea, sc
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here with our 2 Golden Retrievers- great place for dogs outside has probable 4 mowed acres.
Clean, quiet place except for the dumb-a#^#@! 's kid that was screaming in the hallway at 7:30AM.
Breakfast was ok to good the usual fare but done a little better

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thanks for picking us for you and your pets to stay. With all the options, I really do appreciate your patronage and also for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. I am also glad that our large back yard is also appreciated. Hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosherville, PA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Front desk girl very friendly at checkin. Our room was very inviting with a vaulted knotty pine ceiling! There were very nice touches and you can tell the furnishings are newer. Granite in the bathroom. Very nice touches. Refrig and microwave and a coffeemaker! The beds were comfortable and unlike most hotels anymore they actually had real bedding! I say this because I can't stand when the hotels have these pieces of fabric for a "look" that drape across the bed but serve absolutely no purpose in keeping you covered and then leave you with two covers that are basically sheets. This bed had a nice "real" bedspread, a real blanket, pillows. We really appreciated that! The breakfast was nice, ample seating, friendly employees. Marking this one so we can stop here again when traveling through. Only downer was that wifi was not cooperating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such nice comments about our staff and hotel. We try our best for guests to feel this way after they check out from our hotel. I am sorry about the wifi though and if that ever happens in the future, please call front desk and we will do our best to make sure its running properly. I done this job for quite some time, and I have to say when guests states such nice things, it makes it all worth while!
Thanks Again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

On the way to Charleston we stopped here and found the hotel very nice
We were welcomed without a reservation and had a very nice room

The pool and sitting area was clean and tidy,also the breakfast was easy and good

Room Tip: Very close to the highway so no lost time looking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank You for your nice remarks concerning our hotel. We are very accessible from highway, which makes us a convenient stop. I really appreciate guests like you taking the time to review out hotel.
Thanks Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 1601 Martinsburg Pike, Winchester, VA 22603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Winchester
Comfort Inn Winchester
Winchester Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.