We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PLEASANT SURPRISE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Winchester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Winchester to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Wingate Dr., Winchester, VA 22601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    212
    63
    21
    15
See reviews for
234
191
32
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Staff was friendly and helpful and late check-in was no issue. Hot breakfast was great: eggs, sausage, biscuts & gravy, fresh waffles. Rooms were lovely as well as spacious & well appointed. Bathroom was spacious with guest soaps, shampoos, etc.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

My family stayed here as a base for doing activities in Shanendoah park and the surrounding area. There are many stores and restaurants within walking distance or short driving distance of the hotel. The breakfast has scambled eggs, sausage, Belgian waffles, yogurt and other items commonly included in free breakfast buffets. Staff was always friendly and courtious. I used the work out facility and it has two treadmills, only one worked well the other one had belt slippage, and a universal weight machine. The pool was what I would consider average size and it was an indoor pool. The hotel was very clean and we'll kept. In the afternoon the staff put out fresh chocolate chip cookies. A nice touch, especially if you like them like like them.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hughesville, MD
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

6 couples stayed here after a day of river tubing and winery. Check in staff professional and polite. Rooms were clean, however, some of us said the bed was too hard and others said the bed was too soft (matter of opinion really). All areas of hotel were clean, our group enjoyed gathering in the breakfast on side of lobby at night to play games. Pool is small but larger than other hotels. Workout room appeared nice but did not use. Continential breakfast did not offer much, so most of our group went to nearby Cracker Barrel for breakfast. Would definitely return again, reasonable rates.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila, PA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We arrived without a reservation, with one of those coupons that can be found at the welcome center as you cross into the state. They honored the coupon without hesitation (I have found some hotels claiming they "don't have any of those rooms available" but have plenty at twice the price) and got us checked in very quickly. The room was clean and fresh and we were never disturbed by any other guests. The breakfast was OK, nothing to look forward to but it served its purpose in putting food in our stomachs to get us back on the road. The next time we are in town, I will try this place first (as long as they're in that coupon book!).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Room was clean, whole hotel for that matter...owner "Mick" ( I believe that was his name) even assisted with taking some photos..staff was always friendly and courteous......thanks again
Carl D.
Silver Springs, Fl

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The staff is very helpful and the beds comfortable. There are many choices for breakfast and good. We stayed while driving north and again south. The first stop, the handle on the toilet was broken, so it had to be manually moved up and down or it ran and ran. The second stop we were told that the room was non-smoking, but it was not. It was late and we were tired and we were told that it was the last available room or we would have left. Beware the 4th floor as you will smell smoke the minute you get off the elevator despite signs in the lobby stating that "this is a clean hotel." Desk staff should not state that a room is smoke-free when it clearly isn't. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a NON-smoking room if you are a non-smoker - and check it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Winchester

Address: 150 Wingate Dr., Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Winchester
#6 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#8 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Winchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on your trip to the Shenandoah Valley at our Wingate by Wyndham Winchester hotel. Conveniently located off Interstate 81, our pet-friendly Winchester, VA, hotel near Shenandoah University offers all-inclusive value and thoughtful amenities to help make your trip easy. Start your morning with a workout in our 24-hour fitness center, then head down to the lobby for free hot breakfast. Use free Wi-Fi Internet access to catch up on email, or relax with a swim in our heated indoor pool. We provide microwaves and refrigerators in our hotel rooms, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Winchester Hotel Winchester
Wingate Hotel Winchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.