We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Room but not so hot buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Winchester

Save Saved
You added Wingate by Wyndham Winchester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Wingate Dr., Winchester, VA 22601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 27 hotels in Winchester
Write a Review

468 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    173
    57
    19
    12
See reviews for
197
152
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toms River
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The service was excellent, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was okay. The elevators cleanliness was not monitored. The pool did not look inviting. The bed was comfortable. Right amount of towels and toiletries. Broken flush handle. Acceptable shower. Very good ventilator system. Super convenient to shopping and restaurants. Convenient to highway and Shenandoah University. The blow dryer was difficult to turn on. TV was very nice though the channels were off by one. In conclusion you get what you pay for. Looking forward to two weeks when I'll be at a 5 star.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa F, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Winchester, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write us a review! I’m sorry for the little things that were off during your stay. Housekeeping does clean the elevators during the day while they are here but with all the snow and salt on the ground it’s hard to keep up with during the high traffic times. The pool is up and running. We are upgrading our air filtration in that room in the near future to help with all the condensation inside of the pool room. We have called our cable company and have informed them that the channels that they have programmed into the system have been pushed back one channel again, they are coming to fix it as soon as they can. Once again I’m sorry for the minor details not being up to standards, hope to see you again in the future. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

If you take one of the coupons available at the State Welcome Center, this hotel become an outstanding value. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and clean. The free hot breakfast is among the best you can find in this type of hotel. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from at a short distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa F, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Winchester, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hi there, first off I want to thank you for taking the time to write us a review. The coupon books are a wonderful deal and we are in the center of town surrounded by many delicious restaurants. Hope to see you again, take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUANESBURG NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

There were construction and room upgrades being completed on in the corridor on our floor during the day. Our room did not have any funky smells but the corridor was rich with the aroma of fresh plaster and paint. As there were not many guests at the property on the night of our stay, it was strange that we were placed in this room. Perhaps all the floors were being worked on, so it wouldn't have made a difference, I didn't check if other floors had construction going on. The stay was uneventful and we will come back to this property.

The questionnaire like so many does not offer answer options such as 'does not apply' or 'did not use' that would make the survey more accurate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa F, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Winchester, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are doing some small construction in all of the rooms. We have been repainting all of the rooms to make sure everything is up to date. We are almost finished and we’re excited to get it completed. Hope to see you again, take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Winchester

Address: 150 Wingate Dr., Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Winchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Winchester 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on your trip to the Shenandoah Valley at our Wingate by Wyndham Winchester hotel. Conveniently located off Interstate 81, our pet-friendly Winchester, VA, hotel near Shenandoah University offers all-inclusive value and thoughtful amenities to help make your trip easy. Start your morning with a workout in our 24-hour fitness center, then head down to the lobby for free hot breakfast. Use free Wi-Fi Internet access to catch up on email, or relax with a swim in our heated indoor pool. We provide microwaves and refrigerators in our hotel rooms, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Wyndham, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Winchester Hotel Winchester
Wingate Hotel Winchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.