We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay - January 15 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Winchester

Save Saved
You added Wingate by Wyndham Winchester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Wingate Dr., Winchester, VA 22601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 27 hotels in Winchester
DUANESBURG NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“stay - January 15 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

There were construction and room upgrades being completed on in the corridor on our floor during the day. Our room did not have any funky smells but the corridor was rich with the aroma of fresh plaster and paint. As there were not many guests at the property on the night of our stay, it was strange that we were placed in this room. Perhaps all the floors were being worked on, so it wouldn't have made a difference, I didn't check if other floors had construction going on. The stay was uneventful and we will come back to this property.

The questionnaire like so many does not offer answer options such as 'does not apply' or 'did not use' that would make the survey more accurate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa F, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Winchester, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are doing some small construction in all of the rooms. We have been repainting all of the rooms to make sure everything is up to date. We are almost finished and we’re excited to get it completed. Hope to see you again, take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    156
    51
    17
    12
See reviews for
181
134
24
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Excellent value! Very clean! We were just touring the area by motorcycle. We wanted to find a place to stay within walking distance of food and drink. Glory Days and Chili's are right beside it! There are also lots of shopping ops too! A word of caution regarding Chili's though. Their drinks are very weak.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa F, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Winchester, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I’m so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are in a wonderful location, right in the middle of so many attractions. Can’t wait to see you again in the future! Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLUMBIA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel is a good value and is in a good location. Plenty of shopping and restaurants around. We arrived on a freezing cold night after driving for 12 hours and were able to walk across the street for a meal. The room was quiet as it is three blocks from the interstate highway. Room cleanliness was good, breakfast was standard fare for a hotel of this type, but good. The room could use some maintenance, there was peeling paint and some stained carpets. Overall though, we were satisfied and would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa F, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Winchester, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I’m sorry for the minor maintenance problems in your room during your stay, we are doing some minor renovations to our rooms which include painting. We can’t wait to see you in the future. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesborp
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Back of bathroom door needed extensive cleaning and painting. Tried to scrub it but it didn't come clean. Made me wonder about cleanliness of rest of room. Back door to parking lot was suppose to be opened by cardkey but it didn't work - didn't feel secure since on first floor

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa F, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Winchester, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hi there. I’m very sorry that your room was not up to the standards of you or our hotel. We have gone back in housekeeping records to see who cleaned your room before you checked in. The two side entrances to our hotel stay locked 24 hours. Next time, if your key is not working come to the front desk and we will give you a new key and also check on the key locks on the outside doors. Thank you for your time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Winchester

Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Winchester Hotel Winchester
Wingate By Wyndham Winchester Hotel
Wingate Hotel Winchester
Address: 150 Wingate Dr., Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Winchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#8 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Winchester 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on your trip to the Shenandoah Valley at our Wingate by Wyndham Winchester hotel. Conveniently located off Interstate 81, our pet-friendly Winchester, VA, hotel near Shenandoah University offers all-inclusive value and thoughtful amenities to help make your trip easy. Start your morning with a workout in our 24-hour fitness center, then head down to the lobby for free hot breakfast. Use free Wi-Fi Internet access to catch up on email, or relax with a swim in our heated indoor pool. We provide microwaves and refrigerators in our hotel rooms, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.