We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor water quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Winchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Winchester to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Wingate Dr., Winchester, VA 22601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
VIRGINIA BEACH
2 reviews
“poor water quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

From the moment I walked in I wanted to leave, buy was convinced by family to stay cause it was late and we couldn't find anything that had available rooms. We had no hot water and I wanted to shower right away after being up for 18 hrs. I was told let the water run for 15 to 20 mins to get it hot, that is ridiculous. If a place is high on conservation why in the hell would u have to run water and waste wo much to get the water hot. After I was told that I wanted to leave and was angered, because I felt I was being mocked. And no other method was made to remedy the situation, so I basically took Luke warm showers. Inexcusable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priya P, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Winchester, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay. I also apologize the way the front desk handled your concern with not having hot water. We do try to conserve as much as possible. Unfortunately, when the building was constructed the water heaters were placed on the first floor on one end of the building, therefore the hot water takes a while to pump through pipes at off peak times. Once again thank you for your comments and taking the time to post them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    198
    62
    21
    14
See reviews for
223
182
31
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ORLEANS
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stay at this hotel almost every time we head south. Very conveniently located with decent restaurants nearby. Staff is always friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priya P, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Winchester, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for being a loyal customer, we strive to earn your business. Your comments are truly appreciated. On your next visit please ask to speak with me, I would love to say "thank you" in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LADY LAKE
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

great value good furnishing easy on/off access to highway

this review should not be required did not stay long enough for a super duper review and I find this a waste of my time. This review is the only negative I have to report.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priya P, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Winchester, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I apologize about you having to post a review. With the help of Wyndham, we use surveys to evaluate how our hotel is performing. These evaluations allow us to better serve our customers' needs and provide the best service possible. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel with really comfy beds. Our room smelled of cigarette smoke really bad and this is suppose to be a non smoking facility. We were really not happy with that! There were some cigarette burns on some of the furniture. If the room didn't smell, this would gave been a great review.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priya P, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Winchester, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We have become a 100% non smoking facility as of September and are still in the process of doing renovations to our last two rooms that were previously smoking rooms. I apologize about the odor, the rooms have been put out of order for further renovations. Thank you again for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEVITTOWN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is the first time my husband and I stayed at a Wingate hotel but it will not be our last! The hotel was beautiful and clean. The hotel staff were friendly and the pool and workout room were very nice!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priya P, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Winchester, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
I am so glad that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for highlighting our amenities and the wonderful job that our Housekeeping staff does to keep the property looking beautiful. We look forward to having you two stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PITTSBURGH
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great service. Just had a little trouble finding it.staff member Bob was very helpful on the phone and when we arrived.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priya P, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Winchester, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post a review, we appreciate the feedback. We realize that we are located off a private road-Wingate Drive, that does not show up on certain GPS systems. For future travelers, if you are heading our way and are using Google Maps or Mapquest you will be fine using the hotel address, but if you are using other devices please use 1805 South Pleasant Valley Rd (Waffle House's Address which is located right in front of the hotel).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPRING HILL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Wingate by Wyndham Winchester is the best motel/hotel we have ever stayed in. This was our fourth stay, and we have never been disappointed. Service and value are outstanding. Highly recommended.
Great breakfast....PLEASE DO NOT ever stop serving the biscuits and gravy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priya P, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Winchester, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your fabulous review. We try really hard to earn your business and appreciate your loyalty to us. I assure you that sausage gravy and biscuits are a staple on our hot breakfast menu along with scrambled eggs, bacon, and sausage patties. Next time you are traveling through please ask to speak with me, I would love to say thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Winchester

Address: 150 Wingate Dr., Winchester, VA 22601
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Winchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#9 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Winchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on your trip to the Shenandoah Valley at our Wingate by Wyndham Winchester hotel. Conveniently located off Interstate 81, our pet-friendly Winchester, VA, hotel near Shenandoah University offers all-inclusive value and thoughtful amenities to help make your trip easy. Start your morning with a workout in our 24-hour fitness center, then head down to the lobby for free hot breakfast. Use free Wi-Fi Internet access to catch up on email, or relax with a swim in our heated indoor pool. We provide microwaves and refrigerators in our hotel rooms, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Winchester Hotel Winchester
Wingate Hotel Winchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.